We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #102 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 19, 2013

After a disappointing stay at this hotel earlier in the year, which I wrote about on Trip Advisor, I was somewhat apprehensive about having booked again. I shouldn't have been. I was upgraded to one of the new Premier rooms, which are absolutely superb, with a terrific view of the city. The enormous bed was luxuriously comfortable, and the bathroom was excellent (a great shower!).
The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, and the entire stay was a delight, so much so that I have booked again for mid-January!
I must also state that the fact the manager of this hotel responds to Trip Advisor comments -positive and negative- is really impressive.
All in all, a superb experience, and I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melodramaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Melodramaboy,

Thank you for allowing us to welcome you back to Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, and we are very glad that you continue to choose our hotel considering the many options that are available in the Melbourne CBD.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and found our newly refurbished rooms much to your liking. We are overwhelmed with the response we are getting from our Premier King Rooms and are very glad you found it to your satisfaction.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again to Grand Chancellor Melbourne in January, and will do our best to ensure you have a fantastic stay.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

On holiday, so don't spend a lot of time in room, so just ask for clean and tidy. Good location just off Chinatown and very helpful staff. Look out for Bomba just along the road, and Caledonia is handy for that early morning caffeine hit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope that your holiday in Melbourne was a memorable experience. Our staff at the hotel pride themselves on their warm and friendly service, and will be very glad to read that you found their service to be helpful.

Also great to read is that you found our location to be convenient, and that you found some of the hidden secrets around the local area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, when you next venture to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel and again it meet all my needs. It is a very short walk to the main shopping area of Bourke Street Mall, Melbourne Central and Collins Street, close to the theatres and very close to China Town. Great cafes, bars and restaurants are all so easy to access.
The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly as were the room and cleaning staff. The room was comfortable, with 2 comfy chairs to sit in. The room was very clean and had a great bath and shower. Plus it has a good sized roof top outdoor pool.
This is one of the best value for money hotels in the CBD in Melbourne.

Room Tip: If you want quiet try for a room back from the Lonsdale Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraterDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear GraterDunedin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your second stay at the hotel, and that you have picked Grand Chancellor Melbourne to be your hotel of choice when you visit Melbourne. The location of the hotel, we believe, is one of the best in Melbourne and it is great to see that you found our location to be convenient to what you required in the city.

All our rooms offer spacious and comfortable accommodation, and it is great to read that you found it to meet your expectations. It is also very pleasing to read that you made use of our rooftop swimming pool, which was completely refurbished in 2012.

Thank you again for your review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I booked this hotel for a Derby Day weekend away with some girlfriends. There were mixed reviews so I was a little concerned. Two of us had booked the newly refurbish King room on the seventh floor, and another had a twin room on the fifth floor. Reception was attractive, girls pleasant, but as we walked down to the corridor to our rooms I was a little worried as it looked very tired. I needn't have been, the room was a very pleasant surprise. Spotless, comfortable and quite a large room with view over Lonsdale Street. The bathroom was modern with lovely rain head shower. I should mention my friends bathroom (exactly the same style room). Her drain was blocked. She did let the hotel know but it was not fixed, and as as a result she had to have super short shower or water went everywhere. The twin room was furnished nicely, smaller and the bathroom wasn't nearly as nice. Breakfast wasn't amazing but not awful.
Location of the Grand Chancellor is fabulous, walking distance to most CBD attractions. We went to Longrain for dinner one night just around the corner and It was fabulous.
I would happily stay here again, Giddy up!

Room Tip: Book Premier King room with view over Lonsdale, good value. Don't bother with breakfast, go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthyroo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us during your Derby Day weekend stay. The room in which you stayed, a Premier King Room, is one of our newly renovated rooms which has been completely refitted and refurbished. We are really pleased with the presentation and feel of these rooms, and are glad that you've found your time to be pleasant.

I am sorry though to hear about your friend's issue with the shower draining. I have followed up the lack of attention with Maintenance as this should have been attended to immediately. Typically such problems are very easily resolved and it is very disappointing from my perspective that her stay was hampered by the need for short showers. Our Premier King Room rain showers are ideal for a lovely long shower, so this situation is far from ideal!

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you're in town for the races.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband & I have stayed in the Grand chancellor a number of times, most recently on Melbourne Cup weekend. The location couldn't be better - adjacent to Chinatown, the Greek precinct, public transport and theatres. The rooms are well-appointed, and a reasonable size. The outlook is to Lonsdale Street, and there is a church across the road, with an attractive steeple. Rooms are generally quiet, on this stay exceptionally so, as it was to the side of the lifts and away from the corridor traffic. Breakfast was $17 and quite good value. Staff were friendly and willing to assist. I'd recommend the Grand Chancellor Melbourne for a sjort or long stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EvelynF1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Evelyn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It is fabulous to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us, and that you have chosen on a number of occasions for Hotel Grand Chancellor to be your preferred accommodation option. In the last few years the hotel has been on a journey of much renovation and refurbishment, and I trust that you find our newly fitted rooms more comfortable than ever.

The breakfast options available in our Footlights Restaurant are of excellent value, with both continental and full breakfast at the best value pricing in Melbourne. I am glad you found it to your satisfaction.

All the staff at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne pride themselves on excellent guest service, and I know they will be delighted to hear that you found your interactions with them to be friendly and co-operative.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location is not as good as some people have been saying, at the theatre end of town. Chinatown is really close, but you need to walk several blocks to the main shopping area, and about 2 blocks to the nearest tram.
The hotel is old but the room was recently renovated to be quite modern - typical hotel styling.
The shower was the worst I have ever had - it was either luke warm or scalding, could not adjust it to be usable.
WifFi cost is expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hi Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am surprised to read that you didn't find our location to be convenient. Feedback we get from our guests show that overwhelmingly they find the hotel's location to be ideal for their needs, and I am sorry that you found it to be less so.

Your suggestion that the hotel has recently been refurbished is correct, in fact the hotel has just completed a comprehensive refurbishment program in which ever room in the hotel has been updated or renovated to a certain degree. I am glad to read that you found the decor to be modern, and therefore I assume to your liking.

I am sorry to read however that your experience with the shower was not to your satisfaction. Due to the age of the building, the hotel does have water pressure issues on higher floors, but we are working to resolve these issues with plumbing upgrades at the moment.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope you had a safe trip back to NZ.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked online to stay for Melbourne's Spring Racing Carnival. Well located with an easy walk to shops, restaurants (especially Chinatown) and transport options. Room was a Superior King with views over the church across the road and city. Staff were friendly and bed very comfortable. The bathroom could do with upgrading, but for a mid city property with the price tag to match this was a pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brissiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Brissiegurl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel and I hope you had good luck at the Spring Racing Carnival!

The bathrooms in the Superior King Rooms are due for upgrade in the new year, and will bring them up the same standard as the fully refurbished Premier King Rooms. I am sure when you return to Melbourne to enjoy the races next year you will find these rooms even more comfortable.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,456 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#84 of 161 in Melbourne
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,348 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#129 of 161 in Melbourne
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing