We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
$199
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$208
$93
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$195
$175
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$147
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$179
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$252
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$182
$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,492)
Filter reviews
2,492 results
Traveler rating
534
899
613
285
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
899
613
285
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolgreat locationpremier kinglonsdale streetclose to china townsmall balconybuffet breakfastroom servicecar parkingbusiness tripcentral locationpleasant staywould stay againcbdmcg
Filter
Updating list...
2,099 - 2,104 of 2,492 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked online, requested early check-in. All taken care of. Close proximity to everything including beautiful China Town. Very comfortable room with all amenities taken care for. If you flying in for the football I couldn't recommend this hotel enough

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank TroyDeag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Troy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found our location to be convenient. The hotel is well located next to Chinatown, and within easy walking distance to the other major attractions of Melbourne, including the MCG.

It is great to read that you found the quality of the accommodation to your satisfaction. The hotel has been working very hard on refurbishments and upgrades recently, so it is great to see that you found our efforts to be worthwhile!

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in August, came to watch the footy from Perth, didn't make the footy eagles vs essendon game! Got into melbourne at 5.20 am with early check in requested, along with emails exchanged between myself & the hotel that our reservation was in place,Crock of crap!! Suffice to say didn't get into rm till hrs later.
Renovations rife!!! Was offered another room but was amazed they would put guests in the room we stayed in! Breakfast was a complete joke $42 for 2 ppl...
Room was horrid, dusty, dirty & desk under & around fridge was rotting,had issues with housekeeping cleaning, I get allergies very rarely but even in winter due to lack of vacuming and general cleaning wich you would expect from the hotel...eg.. Vacuuming, bathroom, mopping & bed changing wich is apparentley only done if you request it! No such thing as a mop in this place!
Balcony that they advertise is NOTHiNG of the sort of balconies us Aussies expect, was more of a space for the Aircon unit! Anyway so much more to say but...
Do yourselves a favour and just avoid at all costs!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbieperry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Dear Mrs Perry,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am of course disappointed to read of your less than satisfactory experience at the hotel, especially in regards to the levels of cleanliness you describe. I am also surprised by these comments as I note from our system that during your stay the housekeeping department provided additional services to your room throughout your time with us. Typically the hotel will provide a "stay clean" every 2nd day in which the room is tidied, vacuumed, the bed made and the towels changed. However due to your demands to the front desk, Housekeeping performed a "check-out" clean each day, meaning the sheets were also changed and the entire room was done over completely. I also note that despite your regular visits to the front desk to voice your disappointment and suggest compensation, you never mentioned that you were suffering from allergy issues.

I read in your reservation that a request for early arrival was noted. Naturally a hotel cannot guarantee early arrival before the check-out time of 11am, as if the hotel is fully booked the previous night there is no guarantee that any rooms will be available for cleaning and checking-in. This was the case on the day of your arrival, but I also note in the system that a room was rushed and made available for you very early, and check-in was processed at 9:04am (5 hours early). The hotel will always do its very best to respond to guest requests, but unfortunately requests such as this can never, and would never be guaranteed by our staff.

In your review you mention that you were disappointed with the size of the balcony in your room. The hotel is one of the very few hotels in Melbourne which offers both opening windows and a balcony for our guests. We acknowledge that the size of the balconies isn't large, and where we can on the websites that sell our rooms, we describe them as "Juliet Balconies" to indicate that they are not that big. The website you booked on (Quickbeds) does describe the rooms in this manner.

Finally, I do apologise for the noise of the refurbishment during your stay. The hotel is nearly finished its quite extensive refurbishment program which we have done to improve the facilities and room environment for our guests, and take the Grand Chancellor Melbourne experience to a new level. Unfortunately during this process, there is occasionally some noise disruption as construction work is completed. However, the hotel has very strict policies in regards to when the noise can be made (only Mon-Fri between 10am and 5pm) so as to minimise disruption to our guests. If this noise was disturbing you during your stay, please accept my apologies. My understanding is that the front desk offered to move you to a room further from the works being completed, however that request was denied.

Thank you again for your feedback. Once again I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay at the hotel, and we hope that you had a pleasant return journey to Perth.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Rooms neat & tidy. Bathrooms ok. Good shower with lots of water. Nice towels. Rooms nice & spacious. Everything you need. The bathrooms are dated but everything is there that you need & it's CLEAN. The Hotels location is spot on. Close to China Town, the Threatres, Federation Square, Shopping & everything that is Melbourne. No view - only of a concrete wall - but you don't come here for the view - you come for the food, shopping & culture. Good value for its location. Bar downstairs that seemed popular. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you on a budget. CLEAN, TIDY, LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION !!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank mgh1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Mgh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be suitable to your needs when you stayed in Melbourne and found the location to be excellent. We believe the location of our hotel to be one of the best and most convenient in the city, being as you say, close to Chinatown, the Theatre District as well as a short walk to the great shopping Melbourne has to offer.

Great to see that you found the rooms clean and spacious. The bathrooms in most rooms were last renovated in 2008, but all Executive Rooms got brand new toilets in 2013. Our Premier King Rooms have got brand new bathrooms this year as well, with beautiful rain shower heads and walk in showers.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Grand Chancellor Melbs on Lonsdale is in a convenient part of town, close to QVMarkets (ie walking distance).
The room was quite adequate. It's a tired looking Hotel, but the decor wasn't important to us, it was somewhere clean and tidy to lay our heads in the evening, as we were out all day seeing the sights.
Room service and breakfast downstairs every morning was very good. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonflyDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Homediscovery,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that the hotel suited your needs and met your expectations. From your description of the room, I assume you were staying in one of our Chancellor Rooms, which as you say suits the needs of travelers who need a comfortable place to rest their heads at night, without the glamour associated with our more upscale Executive and Premier King Rooms.

It is also wonderful to read that you enjoyed the food and beverage options available in the hotel, as well as the service provided to you by our team. The team at Grand Chancellor Melbourne always pride themselves on the level of service they provide to our guests, and they will be very happy to know that you found the service they provided to be of a good standard.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews