We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #96 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A superficial refurb of some of the rooms doesn't dishuise that this hoel is quite old. Slow lifts, small bathrooms, poor entertainment amongst other things suggest more money needs to be spent. Avoid adjoining rooms if at all possible as the soundproofing around the adjoining doors is woefully inadequate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BALSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear BALSydney,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

The hotel is currently refurbishing 100% of its room stock so I would feel it unfair to consider this "superficial". In the Executive Rooms like the one in which you stayed all the soft and hard furnishings, the curtains, the bed, the electrical items have all been replaced. The only area untouched in this round of refurbishment was the bathrooms, which were completely redone in 2009.

I agree that the hotel is not a brand new building, with the construction dating back to the early 1970's, and the structure therefore is unable to be modified significantly in this regard (such as the size of the bathrooms). However where changes can be made they have been/will be in the near future.

The lifts were completely replaced in 2007, the entertainment was improved through installation of new LCD televisions and a further upgrade to our movie system is scheduled for this year.

I note your comments regarding sound proofing in the adjoining rooms and will investigate this following your feedback. The hotel is constructed from double brick, so the interconnecting rooms are the only rooms in the hotel which have a break in the wall which could cause noise inconvenience. There are certainly things which can be done to lessen the noise travel between rooms and I will endeavor to ensure that his is improved. Thank you for letting us know.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    778
    559
    256
    144
See reviews for
264
861
181
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel one week on a superior room. The room was new, clean and nice.The view was quite nice and it was calm even on the fifth floor.

I loved the roof top swimming pool. It was not really crowded and usually clean. One day the pool was not clean and we advised the reception and the next day the pool was cleaned.

The staff was friendly.

The only downside was the cleaning staff who did not clean our room but just made up the bed and the food in the room was not good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloupn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Gloupn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel over your week long visit with us, and appreciated the newly refurbished Superior Room in which you stayed. These rooms have only been finished in the past month or so, and we believe that they are an excellent product in the Melbourne 4 star market.

It's also good to see that you enjoyed the rooftop pool facility that the hotel offers. The pool is cleaned daily by our maintenance department and monitored throughout the day if it needs to be skimmed or cleaned (being in the open air sometimes it gets leaves, etc. falling in it). I am glad to read that after you reported to our staff that some cleaning was required, this was done.

In regards to housekeeping, I am sorry to read that you felt they did not adequately service your room over your stay. I have forwarded your feedback to the Executive Housekeeper for her response. The hotel has just added additional supervisory checks on room servicing, so that the standard and consistency of the mid-stay services in improved. My expectation is that this additional supervision will ensure that such issues like your experience will not be continuing.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next choose to visit Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

People are way too quick to thrash a place and i thought I would give this place a go. We had a friendly valet parking assistant after our long trip advise us and then
Check in was smooth just as early morning to check out. Very friendly smiley faces and helpful at all times. I really wanted to like this Hotel after all the negative reviews and I did except......The bathroom had mould where the bath meets the shower and our lounge chairs had seen better days more akin to hostel type accommodation..Its constantly being upgraded and I really think its suitable for most people at a very pleasing price

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was okay. Glad we got the King Suite anything else would of been disappointing. The bed was comfy and views of Melbourne were quite nice. The bathroom was very dated and the spa was small and felt rather claustrophobic with two. The lifts were slow and clunky. The pool on the roof was okay but a little over rated. Staff were pleasant and helpful of note was the valet parking. Paid for the breakfast as part of the package and was not disappointed. Location, Location, Location. The hotel is very close to China town and Swanson Street so there was plenty to do after dark. Not sure if I would call it a 4 Star hotel as advertised but had a relatively pleasant stay and was not feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief12601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We held a large meeting of 30 in one of the meeting rooms in the Grand Chancellor. The staff were helpful - but nothing could be done about the artic blast from the central air system, the flies stuck to the morning tea muffins or the noise in the hallways from level 17 keeping our attendees awake during the evening. I do realise much would need to be done to secure any real solution to those problems - but it was very disappointing nonetheless.

Room Tip: The 12 and 13 floor seemed a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Betsy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent conference experience at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I was surprised to read your feedback regarding the air conditioning issues you had during your conference, as that conference room offers two different air conditioning options for the occupants. We have a central cooling and fresh air system which blows through the ceiling vents, as well as an additional split system to provide a more subtle air flow solution, or offer additional cooling power to the room on a particularly hot day. My understanding as to the issues you reported, was that the noise from the air rushing through the roof vents was too loud. Options should have been made available to you to switch off the central air and use the split system in the room, so my apologies if this was not done, or made clear it was an available option.

In regards to the noise from level 17, there was some maintenance work being done on some rooms on that floor during the day but we have tight restrictions on building noise with any contractors that work in our hotel, meaning that all loud noise must cease by 5 pm to minimize disruption to guests. My apologies for any inconvenience if some of your colleagues were trying to get some rest within those times, however the hotel does try to minimize disruption as much as possible.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for the tips regarding the rooms on level 12 and 13.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fairly good for the price and location. The building and facilities are dated, the room itself had modern finishes, the bathroom a bit of an 80's throwback with tragic water pressure. But if you're after a clean, above average hotel at an affordable price in the heart of Melbourne's thriving Chinatown district, this is the spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On the plus side the room had a small balcony. The room was fairly dark with the lights brightening and dimming at intervals. Bathroom was adequate and had a bath and the bed was a comfortable double. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Location was good however we would have preferred to be closer to the mall.
Average accommodation and would look elsewhere with a balcony next time.

Room Tip: Executive room with a small balcony at the rear of the building is best. The front can get noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#74 of 159 in Melbourne
2,158 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
2,071 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 159 in Melbourne
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#76 of 159 in Melbourne
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Property: Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#86 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing