We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$134
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$201
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$126
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$92
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$83
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$170
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$240
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$230
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,474)
Filter reviews
2,474 results
Traveler rating
530
891
612
282
159
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
891
612
282
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolgreat locationpremier kinglonsdale streetclose to china townsmall balconybuffet breakfastroom servicecar parkingbusiness tripcentral locationpleasant staywould stay againcbdmcg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,148 - 2,153 of 2,474 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We held a large meeting of 30 in one of the meeting rooms in the Grand Chancellor. The staff were helpful - but nothing could be done about the artic blast from the central air system, the flies stuck to the morning tea muffins or the noise in the hallways from level 17 keeping our attendees awake during the evening. I do realise much would need to be done to secure any real solution to those problems - but it was very disappointing nonetheless.

Room Tip: The 12 and 13 floor seemed a winner.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Betsy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent conference experience at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I was surprised to read your feedback regarding the air conditioning issues you had during your conference, as that conference room offers two different air conditioning options for the occupants. We have a central cooling and fresh air system which blows through the ceiling vents, as well as an additional split system to provide a more subtle air flow solution, or offer additional cooling power to the room on a particularly hot day. My understanding as to the issues you reported, was that the noise from the air rushing through the roof vents was too loud. Options should have been made available to you to switch off the central air and use the split system in the room, so my apologies if this was not done, or made clear it was an available option.

In regards to the noise from level 17, there was some maintenance work being done on some rooms on that floor during the day but we have tight restrictions on building noise with any contractors that work in our hotel, meaning that all loud noise must cease by 5 pm to minimize disruption to guests. My apologies for any inconvenience if some of your colleagues were trying to get some rest within those times, however the hotel does try to minimize disruption as much as possible.

Thank you again for your feedback, and for the tips regarding the rooms on level 12 and 13.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fairly good for the price and location. The building and facilities are dated, the room itself had modern finishes, the bathroom a bit of an 80's throwback with tragic water pressure. But if you're after a clean, above average hotel at an affordable price in the heart of Melbourne's thriving Chinatown district, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

On the plus side the room had a small balcony. The room was fairly dark with the lights brightening and dimming at intervals. Bathroom was adequate and had a bath and the bed was a comfortable double. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Location was good however we would have preferred to be closer to the mall.
Average accommodation and would look elsewhere with a balcony next time.

Room Tip: Executive room with a small balcony at the rear of the building is best. The front can get noisy and the balcony adds a little more space
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Chancellor recently for business and and it was a reasonable experience. The rooms were being renovated on the floor I was on and the cold water - not hot! - was hard to come by on at least two floors that we know of. Bar is relaxed and the food was good in their restaurant. The car park is tight but convenient. Breakfast was good.
Overall, I would stay again due to its location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crakyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Crakyl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us, and I apologize if any of the improvement works we are currently undergoing inconvenienced your stay in any way.

Noting your comments in regards to the cold water pressure, this is an issue that has been identified in a few rooms and our plumbers and hydraulic engineers are currently working to resolve the issue permanently.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed our food and beverage facilities, and I will pass on your positive comments regarding the food to our chef. In regards to the car park, I agree that the design is more suited to the Morris Minors of the day when it was constructed, than a modern LandCruiser, but the on-duty attendant is always more than happy to assist and park the car on your behalf.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just came back from a night at the Grand Chancellor Melbourne. It is one of the best locations you can have in the Melbourne CBD. Car parking underground made it easy for me to checkin.
Spacious room, very modern bathroom and a perfect room service, made it a great choice for a business trip. The pool was open till 11pm and the view is just exquisite from the 17th floor.
Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgcmelbourne, Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Maurorisch,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and you enjoyed the size and facilities of the newly refurbished Superior Front Room in which you stayed. The hotel will soon have many more of this room type completed and available for booking, so we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Michael Smeeton
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews