We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely non-functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and found the petite double room, especially the bathroom, to be far too small. The staff were kind enough to move us to a standard double for our final night, but the bathroom was still impossible to use without causing flooding. I see that many of the other reviewers have experienced the same problem. It was very difficult to take a shower, use the toilet and the humidity in the room was increased due to bad ventilation and small size. The staff were good, the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. However, our stay would have been much more comfortable if we didn't have to groom ourselves in a shoebox. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this hotel because of this one very important fact. In addition, there was very loud music originating from the club downstairs (into the early hours of the morning), making it difficult to get to sleep. This was probably out of the control of the hotel staff, but once again, it added to to our annoyance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpeedyGonzales80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,428 - 2,434 of 2,648 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

Small boutique hotel but has excellent personalised service.

Food quality & service is upto the mark.

Being situated in the CBD gives it an excellent option for both shopholic & business travellers.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Drove to Melbourne from Adelaide on Friday evening (28/052010) - came over the West Gate Bridge and rang for directions to Hotel as I had gone way past turnoff to City - Staff member was very helpful and very patient (rang her back several times to check progress)............when checking out (Monday 31/05/2010) - the same staff member rang and settled my Toll as I ended up in the Berney?? Tunnel when I got lost on the Friday evening - I found this service to be over and above what I have experienced when staying in other places...............I was very grateful for her assistance on both occasions and this certainly helped make our stay a very enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etihad069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

stayed here because off the location to the crown, rooms are a bit on the tinny side ,being lm 6'2 and had to sit side sadle on the toilet, but over all very happy with my stay

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirstychippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed at the Pensione for 2 nights while holidaying in Melbourne. Cons: Everything is small. The room, the bed, and the bathroom...tiny. The sink is so small and awkward, making it almost unusable. Pros: Close to tram stop that takes you around the city, checking in and out was smooth and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JitterCritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

Dear Jitter Critter,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.
We offer various room types to cater for guests from all walks of life. Some, as you mentioned, are compact in size and I must apologise if you found this unmanageable. I am confident that had the staff been made aware of this they would have suggested a more appropriate room to you. We offer standard double rooms that are comparatively larger than some of our other options as well triple rooms and our suites.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our reception procedures are effective. Our aim is to ensure that we can make your time away from home relaxed and easy going.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Rooms were nice enough, but way to small for 2 people.
We were in a renovated room.
The bathroom is tiny, and I mean tiny.
Double beds are tiny, no idea why they didn't shell out for queen size.
I would only stay here if you are on your own, 2 people was overly cosy.
As the rooms are so small, denisty is high so it is quite noisy.
Included breakfast is justa $7 continential bfast, keep that in mind.
Friendly staff, no worries there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyAussie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHMGM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

Dear JimmyAussie99,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne. We are always looking to improve our facilities to ensure all our guests are comfortable.

In reference to the bathrooms, we are aware that some of our guests find the size somewhat unmanageable. We are currently looking at ways to make this more convenient.

Pensione Hotel Melbourne offers many different room types varying in size to cater to our guests requirements. Had the staff been made aware of your discomfort, I am positive they would have moved you to a more suitable room. We have rooms that have special bedding that can be zipped and unzipped to make king or twin beds.

Thank you for your kind words in relation to our staff manner; it is something we feel is extremely important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Pensione has interesting modern decor. Each alcove has had some thought applied to turn the average into the interesting. The rooms while not large are very quiet and impeccably presented. The location is ideal for access to the MCG or city shopping via a 5 minute tram trip. Checking in and out was efficient and welcoming.
The happy hour was handy and the bar service was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our brief stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottonon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,472 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,910 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $77 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing