We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“a luxury modern hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #40 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a luxury modern hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne is a luxury modern hotel and we enjoyed staying there. We liked its design and we enjoyed its tidiness and modern facilities. We found it through Easy Click web site and immediately booked it. It certainly was a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budha01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    800
    273
    80
    36
See reviews for
203
614
375
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Room a bit compact but up to date & clean. Good location for Melbourne Conference Centre, main bus/rail station (and airport bus) & city centre trams etc. Staff very helpful. Restaurant is for breakfast only, bar/lounge area for evening use.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DavidW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Traveling with my boyfriend, we needed a room close to Southern Cross railway station as we had to train to catch very early in the morning and this fitted the bill perfect. Just a few minutes stroll away from the station, this hotel is strategically located near many of the attractions like the Melbourne Aquarium and Crown Entertainment Plaza.The pubs around the hotel may be a plus for some people, but as we were not really into drinking and partying, it did make the walk back to the hotel late at night a bit dodgy.

The room was surprisingly large, however we suspected this may be due to the fact we had a corner unit and was larger. We stayed in the furnished double room. The deco of the room was nothing to shout about, quite standard in our opinion. The bathrooms on the other hand were a horrifying experience. The toilet was so small and cramped that my boyfriend had trouble sitting on it. The shower too was extremely cramped and did not have curtains and this led to the bathroom being wet after our showers. The bed on the other hand may have been the largest we ever slept all, well larger than a king size and felt as if it was actually 2 large single beds joined together.

Pros : great location
Cons : the pubs around the area may not suit everyone, extremely small bathroom, misleading website photos

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank januarylzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

the room was clean but if I wanted to watch the TV, I had to stay on the bed. I hope to need a chair and small desk in front of the tv.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Takumi-Nakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

good location, hotel itself modern and clean, but the room we had was very small!! the bathroom in particular was tiny!!! ok for just one night but i wouldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aust1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The staff were lovely, and so helpful. The room was nice and big, fronting on to Spencer St , just near the Exhibition Centre, with plenty of restaurants around, and even a corner store to buy milk etc a couple of doorsaway.
Double hung windows, no noise and a nice big plasma screen. Whatmore could you want?
Great value, great stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

My partner and I stayed here with a little hesitation after some of the reviews...but give the price we were never expecting 5 star! This place is great! We had one of the smaller rooms, but lets be honest..were really only needed somewhere to shower and sleep and for the price we paid, thats exactly what we got....we have stayed in some pretty scary places all over the world and even motels in Australia, some of which cost double this place! The staff were fantastc, and always seemed to have time to chat and help find those little hidden places that we usually miss when we come to melbourne!

I suppose it depends what you are after...if you want a huge hotel room with all the best...then your going to have to pay for it! Perhaps some of these past guests need to have a think about what they need most when they travel and how much they are prepared to pay for what they want!

Kepp up the great Value guys! We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Traveller0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,848 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Melbourne, Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,368 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#32 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Southbank Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing