We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helping hands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #44 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife statyed at the Pensione recently on a holiday from NZ, we were exhausted by the time we got to the hotel to find wifey had booked for March instead of Feb...The staff put our mind at ease and found us a room quickly and gave us everything we needed to know. Our room was small but we knew that when we booked it, it was clean and tidy and the rooftop area was quite nice. The trams and trains going past surprisingly didn't bother us, even added to the cbd atmosphere.
When heading out as lost Kiwis, we were given lots of advice from the staff, even personal favourites of were to dine, visit etc.. We ended up staying another night because we enjoyed it so much, and breakfast was fantastic!
As a longtime hospo worker I appreciated the hell out of all the service we got and highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a central room with not much fuss.
Keep up the good work guys!!

Room Tip: Petite rooms are exactly that but if you're a couple they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExFoH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear ExFoH79,
Thank you for your recent review.
We are delighted to hear of your experience at the Pensione and are relieved the team were able to help you amend your booking so you could stay with us! The Pensione team and are all very big foodies so I’m thrilled to see that you received some wonderful recommendations on dining and even some popular places to visit. With so many wonderful places it’s easy to forget we’re so spoilt for choice!
Should you ever wish to stay with us again, or indeed any of our other 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call who will certainly ensure that your next visit will be as equally pleasant as the first.
We hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,055 - 2,061 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

- great location
- staff genuine, friendly, personable, informative- a shout out to Lexie, she was on reception and manger- top lady!
- great twin room, not claustrophobic, clean, tidy, great big windows- only minus tiny bathroom, and inconsistent water temperature in shower
- great roof top area
- ordered room service- was amazing big fresh breakfasts, brilliant coffee- staff great
- streamlined check in check out
- affordable- great value for money
- will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIc a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear NIc a,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our location, facilities and yummy breakfasts from Olivier’s Café! Thank you also for the kind words in regards to our team and Lexi – we certainly fortunate to have such a lovely team here.
Please let us know when you are travelling to Melbourne again or indeed if you wish to visit any of our 8Hotels properties throughout Australia or abroad. Our friendly reservations team will certainly ensure that you are well looked after in any of our properties and would be delighted to make any inquiries on your behalf.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Staying here for 3 days was the best my first time in MEL its a property close to Souther Cross Station where the bus from the airport pulls so that is super handy. Great Staff at the property. Quite, clean will definitely stay here again. room had a bit of dust. quality of ameneties was good. charges for drinking water a bit rude so buy water before you get there IGA/Coles all very close by to the property @ 11pm on first day I had no choise. Even 7 eleven had a cheaper option for drinking water bottles.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trawellguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Trawellguru,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our location and thank your for your comments in regards to our team. Our sincerest apologies for the dust you found in your room – having read your feedback, the team have prioritized this cleaning to ensure this does not occur again.
I am terribly sorry that you found the charges for the water offensive. We offer this boutique water as an extra that is absolutely optional – sort of like a minibar item.
I am so thrilled to hear you would stay with us again, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team at any time and they will certainly ensure that you are well looked after.
We hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We chose to stay here because of the close proximity to Southern Cross Station and Vline transportation. We also booked it at a premium budget price that would be hard to beat anywhere!

We arrived about 11pm without a problem and received friendly service and assistance in locating somewhere to eat late at night (the Crown Casino food court is fantastic, yep, I said FOOD COURT!)

The room was very simple and the ensuite very small, no frills, but served it's purpose. The other hotel guests were very noisy. Multiple groups returned throughout the night/early hours of the morning and this appeared to be unmonitored (I was woken 3 times between 12 and 4:30am). At least the giggling, screeching girls next door piped down after we pounded on the wall at 2am!

We didn't anticipate the Reception desk being unattended and had to wait 15 min to check out which consequently made us late for a breakfast meeting.

The place would have been good had the noise level been monitored/guests been advised to keep it down. We stayed elsewhere the following week when we returned to the area.

Room Tip: Get a room FAR away from the Reception Desk and elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear MissDavina,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Firstly please allow me to apologise for any disturbance you experienced during your stay with us. The night staff do the very best they can to monitor guest noise, performing several property walks overnight and I am confident that had they been alerted to your distress they would have certainly taken action to ensure our no party policy was reinforced and any revellers quietened.

Our apologies also for the delay you experienced on checkout. In response we are currently trialing an ‘Express Checkout’ option for all our guests in the hopes that during busier times this will reduce waiting times.

We would love to be given another opportunity to look after you and ensure your next stay is comfortable and peaceful. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you be seeking accommodation in Melbourne.

Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My first trip to Melbourne for ages and I needed something on Spencer Street. Very comfortable bed, super clean room, small bathroom but more room for living. Right next to Spencer Street Station but really didn't notice any train noise. Central to city DFO's. All in sll great for price.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank travellingma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

travellingma71,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our facilities and got to go to the new DFO at South Wharf – we love shopping! Should you ever wish to come to Melbourne for a shop or a visit again, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly look after you for your next stay.
We hope to see you again!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived late to a small, but tidy and well renovated room at the Pensione. We were here for a conference and location was perfect, less than 3 minutes walk from Spencer St Station. We really liked the attention to detail - the quality shampoo bottles, comfortable cushions and sheets and the camomile tea available in our room. The hair dryer was good, and the bathroom, even though tiny, had the right setup for both of us to get ready. Service with a smile always appreciated, with leaving our bags no trouble. Overall, very good, and would return again.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room facing away from Spencer Street for a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeMan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear HeMan83,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the small touches we have in our rooms to make them that bit more comfortable. We really pride ourselves on offering friendly and personalized service – thank you so much for your kind words.

It’s fantastic to hear that you would choose to stay with us again. Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly – we love to hear from our previous guests and look after them!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
PS – Your username is fantastic, HeMan rocks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Perfect location for exploring the city and so central to catch the tram to St Kilda. The room was clean and the beds comfy. Staff friendly and very helpful. Would not hesitate to stop here again and such a good price :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrybobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear harrybobin,
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so thrilled to read of your positive experience at the Pensione Melbourne and thank you for the kind words in relation to our team. Please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team for your next stay and we will certainly ensure that you are once again well looked after.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
3,578 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,605 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $79 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing