We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #41 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Happy ”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel on one of the booking sites. I had never heard of it before.
How sad, considering how great it is.
After looking for hotels in Melbourne while the tennis was on I found the prices rather high.
This caught my eye but I expected dingy and old. The room I had booked was unrenovated. I asked if the was another available and with a smile I got one for a small fee.
The staff were all so friendly and helpful. Not one unfriendly person.
I will be back and as a result I will look for this group in all my travels.
You made my trip fabulous.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Carol W,
Thank you for your lovely review!
It’s so great to read that we were a new discovery for you, it certainly can be exciting to try new places and we are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words in relation to the team, we certainly do enjoy all our daily interactions with our guests and indeed it is one of the favourite parts of our jobs.
Should you ever wish to stay with us again and perhaps try one of our newly refurbished room types, please feel free to contact our reservations team who will certainly take the time to ensure you next stay will be just as pleasant as the first.
We love familiar faces!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    943
    307
    84
    40
See reviews for
254
718
442
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne AUS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband as we had a dinner to attend at Crown Casino and didnt want to catch a taxi back home afterwards- this place was just perfect for our needs- we stayed in the petite double room - after reading some other customers concerns about how small the room was - I admit we were worried but we were pleasantly surprised with the room - it had a flat screen tv, shower, toilet and basin, mini fridge and cupboard with small desk and 2 windows that are able to be opened, it was very acceptable and very clean. The size was perfect for our needs - we were heading out for the night anyway so we dont need the kitchen sink so to speak - The bed was absolutely a dream to sleep in - must be the microcloud bedding & mattress topper - it was so good that 2 days later - we looked up the details of the bedding and purchased our own mattress topper !! Boutique little place in a renovated 'old Melbourne' building that had lovely historical photos of Olde Melbourne throughout the place.Staff were lovely and very accomodating - the price is fantastic - location as well - we will definately stay here again when we need to stay in the city of Melb ( we live 60kms out of Melb)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank astramish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear astramish,
Thank you for your review on your recent stay.
We are thrilled to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and that the Pensione was perfect for your needs.
It’s fantastic that you enjoyed the bed toppers – all the team here have purchased them as well, they certainly are comfortable!
Should you ever wish to stay with us or indeed any of our 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call and they will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

No direct sunlight or natural light, window opens up into an internal atrium, room was very dark, i mean very dark, no activity ie reading or walking possible without a light on... the lamps of which were a mix of bright white (horrible) and warm yellow which made the room quite uncomfortable. Bathroom is SMALL, like tiny, to get into the show through the 40-50cm door i had to enter sideways and barely scraped in, felt like a coffin when i was having a shower. Door to bathroom is opaque glass which shows pretty much everything when the light is on so if you are sharing with friends you will become very close very quickly as everything is on show. Beds were quite worn and in desperate need of replacement. TV channels were just ridiculous, most cable channels didn't work and those that did had the wrong aspect so half the screen was cut off making watching tv very difficult. Overall this is a very poor excuse for a hotel and well over priced, I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose any hotel in Melbourne other than this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear wilrc1,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Firstly please allow us to apologise that you had found your stay with us to be less than satisfactory. The Pensione Hotel aims to provide clean and comfortable accommodation for guests from all walks of life and it is disappointing to read that you did not find it so.
As such the hotel has many different room types available in varying areas of the hotel. I am confident that had the friendly reception team been altered to your distress they would have certainly taken the time to show you some other options in an effort to ensure that you are as comfortable as possible.
In regards to the bathrooms we can certainly appreciate that they are quite compact, however the team and I are constantly looking for new ways to improve our facilities. Please feel free to contact me in regards to any ideas you may have as I would love to have the opportunity to discuss this further with you.
My sincerest apologies for the difficulties you faced with the television channels. We are currently in the process of installing digital signal as well as our cable channels and have experienced some unexpected complications. I can certainly appreciate that this was not ideal and it has since been rectified.
Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I would love the opportunity to offer you one of our larger, front facing room styles and ensure you’re stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We got this hotel for 4 nights for a great price, considering it was over New Year. It is a nice modern place with helpful staff. Location is excellent on Spencer Street as it's walking distance to Southern Cross Station, Crown Complex, a lot of main city streets and we even walked to Federation Square etc many times from the hotel. We got a 'petite' room as it was the cheapest and our main concern was to save money. I have to say, be warned - it is really small, hence why it's a 'petite'! But we didn't have a problem with the room size although the bathroom was genuinely tiny - weren't expecting it to be quite so small. If we were staying for a bit longer we might've opted for a larger room, but we were out sightseeing most of the time so no dramas. Would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelsterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear KelsterSA,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed our location within the city and thank you for choosing to spend new year’s we us – we hope you had a great time! In regards to our room sizes the Petite rooms are some of our more compact styles of room however we do have many different room types available in varying sizes. Perhaps for your next stay we could recommend you one of our larger Superior Double rooms with a large kind bed and that extra bit of leg room!
Please let us know if you are ever travelling to Melbourne again and we will certainly do our best to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The positives are the bed, which is really comfy. The location is also good, block from southern cross station for easy airport access and right across the river from crown. You can find some really good deals here, I've stayed here multiple times. Wifi works well, food is alright, service solid.

Stayed for 6 nights the first two was in a dark small room as I checked in at 4am from a late flight. That room didnt get high marks but I moved to a renovated room which is how I remember the place. The rooms are small and cozy. The carpets are a bit worn and the walls dinged and what not, it's not first class luxury. But it's clean and pretty solid if you can get a deal here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cursive9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Cursive9,
Thank you for your review!
We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed our location and thank you for choosing to stay with us again – we love our return guests! I am surprised to hear however about the state of your room and would like to apologise for any discomfort you may have experienced. I have asked our housekeeping teams to ensure they are checking rooms more diligently in the future in the hopes of avoiding any simular circumstances.
Please let us know when you wish to return to Melbourne as we’d love to have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.
We hope to see you soon!
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hotel has good location, it takes around 10 minutes walking distance from Southern Cross Station. And it takes around 30 minutes walking to major sites in Melbourne, such as Town Hall, Myer and China Town. The staff is friendly and nice. I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights during Christmas time and one of the staff was very helpful in providing travel information. The room is clean and tidy BUT the bathroom is unbelievably tiny. The washing basin and shower cube are super small. My dad kept complaining about the small shower cube during our stay as it is very easy for him to hit the shower cube door every time he took a shower.

Generally speaking, the hotel is pretty decent for a small budget:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonkhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sharonkhl,
Thank you for your recent review!
Its great to read how much you enjoyed our location and thank you for your kind words in relation to the front desk teams. We would like to apologise however for any difficulties you may have faced in relation to our bathrooms. The maintenance teams and I are constantly looking for new ways to improve our facilities and would love to hear any suggestions that you may have. Should you wish to stay with us again may we suggest either our Courtyard Suite or our Apartment – these have a much larger style of bathroom and will certainly give you that extra bit of space.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Very handy location, clean and newly styled hotel. Roof top deck is good for a wine at the end of the day and cafe on ground floor makes a pretty good coffee. On the negative side when the rooms appear small that's because they are tiny! Also info for those driving to the area, the hotel provides an offer to park a short distance around the corner on Flinders Lane for $28 per day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear DarrynF,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our location and are delighted you enjoyed the coffee at Olivier’s! In regards to the room size we do have many different options available, perhaps for your next stay we could recommend you one of our Superior Double rooms which feature king bedding and that extra bit of space.
Please let us know if you are ever returning to Melbourne as we would love the opportunity to look after you again.
Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing