We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #41 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I needed a place to stay the night in Melbourne before meeting my kids and taking them home to Canberra on the train. The Pensione was less than five minutes walk from Southern Cross Station and served this purpose well.
The room was clean and comfortable and provided all the amenities I required. The booking was all in order, and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear trevar,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are thrilled to hear that the Pensione was your ideal stay in Melbourne and that you enjoyed all our facilities. Please let us know when you are travelling to Melbourne again as the team and I would be delighted to look after you for your next stay.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,516)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have stayed at the Pensione Hotel Melbourne twice. It is a nice hotel with comfortable beds. The staff including the manager are all pleasant and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. The hotel is in an easily accessible location and I would recommend this hotel as a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Debra2014,
Thank you for your lovely feedback!
It’s great to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us again and thank you for the kind words in regards to our team. We love to look after our return guests! Please let us know when you wish to stay with us again or even if you would like to try one of our other 8 Hotels properties as we will certainly ensure that you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

As soon as we walked through the door of this hotel we knew we were in the hands of very professional and friendly staff. The room we had was well appointed and very tastefully done - a wee bag of goodies for us on arrival. Housekeeping we couldn't fault.

Lovely cafe at the front of the hotel - lovely food and the staff were very friendly.

Reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We were there for Christmas day and took our Christmas breakfast up on to their rooftop which is a tucked away little gem with views of the surrounding city.

Very conveniently appointed hotel and within walking distance to the restaurants and shopping. Just down the road from the station - very easy to get the shuttle to the airport from there.

Well done team - it is hard to find somewhere to stay where I can say that everything was just awesome. Look forward to returning next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear RJago,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are thrilled to hear of your experience and thank you for the kind feedback in relation to our team. The Pensione Hotel prides itself on providing a unique guest experience for everyone that stays with us and it is wonderful to see that this was certainly the case.
Should you ever wish to return to Melbourne or indeed any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We hope to welcome you again real soon!
Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised and lucky to be upgraded from a petite double to an apartment suite. What luxury - I had a blissful nights sleep. The room was airy and spacious, and the bed so very comfortable. I just loved it here, and didn't want to leave. Conveniently close to the train/bus station. I'll definitely be back, and you never know, I might be pleasantly surprised again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Louise B,
Thank you for your lovely feedback!
We are thrilled to read of your experience and we are glad we had the opportunity to upgrade you to the Apartment! It certainly is one of our favorite room types and it’s wonderful to hear you got such a great night’s sleep. Please give our friendly reservations team a call for your next stay and they will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location - The Pensione is a 5min walk from Spencer Street Station and not far is the free tram that cirlces the city. Another 10min is a walk to the Crown.

The Rooms are a little small but are amazingly clean and well serviced.
I've stayed on numerous occassions and enjoy that this isn't a ginormous hotel were you can hear people walking the halls at night.

Service in the restaurant down stairs can be a little slow but they do it with a smile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost_on_foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear lost_on_foot,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoy our location and thank you for making us your hotel of choice! Our apologies however for any delays you may have experienced at Olivier’s, we can certainly understand how difficult it can be during busy times however I will certainly speak to the Olivier’s team with regards to this.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne!
Warmest Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I always stay here when I go to Melbourne as it is so close to Southern Cross Station, where the airport bus lets off.
I have always found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and plenty of space.
Only once I have been on the ground floor, in the room where the window goes into the luggage storage area - which isn't great as the light goes on and off alot! I now upon book ask to not be on the ground floor and there is no problem.
Great little place and I am about to book for there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Paula A,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our location and are glad to hear that we are you Melbourne hotel of choice!
Thank you also for giving us another chance and trying one of our other room types, we have now made a note of this on your profile and will ensure that you are well looked after in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back real soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay on a business trip. The staff was very friendly and always eager to help. Their buffet breakfast is really great value for money. However, the bathroom was really small and uncomfortable to use but served its purpose anyway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget. And the location is great- near transport network. I would definitely use this hotel next time we visit Melbourne.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank chiedza100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear chiedza100,
Thank you for your recent review.
Its fantastic to read how helpful you found our team to be and how much you enjoyed your breakfast at Olivier’s! The self-service breakfast is certainly one of our more popular choices and with so many options available we believe it’s fantastic value!
Should you ever be returning to Melbourne or indeed wish to stay at any of our 8Hotels within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love to make enquiries on your behalf.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
3,656 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 160 in Melbourne
3,203 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $76 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing