We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pensione Hotel Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #42 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pensione Hotel Melbourne”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in Melbourne in July to see Pink! Pensione Hotel is literally a 5 min walk from the train station. The staff were really helpful, and explained to us where to go and how to use the tram system. There are no opening windows in the rooms. (one gentleman was complaining about it when we arrived, which was ridiculous because it rained everyday we were there!) The windows are huge and gives you an outlook on the beautiful building across the road. We stayed in the Petite Double room, which was in our price range at the time, it was a bit small, but fine because we were out of the room all day and exploring. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Check room sizes before you book. Make sure you are aware of the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Caitlyn P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!

We are thrilled to hear of your experience and thank you for your kind words in relation to the team. It is great to hear that the team were able to assist you with directions to the Pink concert – we hope you had a wonderful time, we hear she’s great!

Should you ever wish to stay with us again or indeed any of our 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly team who would love the opportunity to make enquiries on your behalf.

We hope to welcome you back real soon!

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    965
    315
    87
    41
See reviews for
264
737
468
492
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed 3 nights end of October. Paid the cheapest price got the smallest room, ok with that, get what you pay, was internal room near lifts, on Saturday night ONLY, could hear guests talking/laughing till 2.30am going to their room. I'm a light sleeper. I am fussy about cleanness and I was overall 95% happy with that. Loved the personal note from duty manager, chocolates and the change of towels each day even though we didn't leave them on floor. Paid for 1 days breakfast, fantastic and good value. Reception staff very polite and helpful. Will stay when going to Melbourne again. Husband and wife

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUTH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear RUTH W,
Thank you for your recent review!
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our personal touches and how helpful and friendly you found our team to be. We love to take the time to look after all our guests and ensure that everyone who stays at the Pensione has a unique and warming experience. We are sorry to hear however that you were disturbed during your sleep – we are confident that had our night audit team been alerted to your distress they would have certainly investigated the matter.
Should you ever wish to stay again or indeed any of our 8 Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would delight in having the opportunity to look after you!
We hope to welcome you back real soon!

Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I've stayed here before - and happily chose to do so again. Was delighted with the "welcome back" note, and as it is "familiar territory" for me now, I found my way around Melbourne easily. (lots of walking and window shopping). I stayed for four nights - and have absolutely no complaints about the service and facilities, but in the end was sick of dodging the tv on the wall, and having no where to put my suitcase. One or two nights solo it is fine, but longer and the tiny space gets annoying. TG I was on my own....

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that is not so squeezy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear elly25,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and are overjoyed at how the Pensione has become such a comfortable and familiar space for you – we love our regular guests! In regards to your room size the Pensione has many options available that may suit you for a longer stay, please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call for your next stay and they will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location was extremely convenient for the Entertainment Centre where I was attending a conference. However, the hotel standard was well below par compared to the 8Hotels in Brisbane and Sydney. The access to the shower was ridiculous - you had to turn sideways to get in, the door to the bathroom didn't shut properly and I had to draw the curtains whenever I was in the room as it was overlooked from all sides. The room "felt" dirty but this may be due to no light over the shower and the exhaust fan didn't work (a common complaint amongst my fellow guests). I did not feel safe in a room tucked away in a corner on the top floor and every night there was loud music nearby playing until after 1am. On the only other positive note, besides the location, the staff were extremely friendly however, the manager did not contact me regarding my safety concerns - it was left to the front desk who tried their best. As a single female business traveler, I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy312013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Judy312013,

Thank you for your recent review.

Firstly please allow us to apologise for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us. The Pensione Hotel prides itself on providing clean and comfortable accommodation for all our guests and it is disappointing to hear that you did not find it so.
Our apologies also for any noise disturbances you may have experienced whilst staying with being located in the us. Unfortunately heart of the CBD means that sometimes we have some noisy neighbours however please rest assured that any noise complaints we have are currently being recorded in the hopes of being followed up with any relevant parties. I believe our friendly reception team had offered to assist you with moving rooms but unfortunately we had not heard back from you in regards to this.

Thank you for your kind words in relation to our team. We certainly do pride ourselves on our guest interactions and delight in taking the time to share our knowledge and recommendations for Melbourne.

I would like to invite you to call or email me with any concerns you have in regards to your stay, please feel free to contact me at your leisure and we can certainly address and safety trepidations you have.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre so it was certainly conveniently located. My room was very small but this was fine as I was travelling alone. The layout and furniture in the room made it a bit difficult to work though. While there was a small "desk" there was no chair to sit on - just a small soft 'stool'. I also had one of the internal rooms which affected my mobile phone reception. My only other real complaint relates to the check-in process. I don't understand why it is necessary to ask guests to decide whether they will be having breakfast at the hotel when they first arrive in order to qualify for a special 'check-in breakfast rate'. I didn't elect for this but probably would have had breakfast in the hotel at least once but didn't want to pay a higher rate because I didn't make this decision when I was checking in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viking100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear viking100,
Thank you for recent review.
Firstly please allow us to apologize for any difficulties you may have faced in regards to your room layout. Whilst all rooms come with a small desk space and a stool we can certainly understand that space constraints can make things a bit of a challenge. We are confident that had reception been alerted to your distress they would have certainly shown you some of our other room types or indeed assisted you with a high backed chair from the café to ensure that you were all the more comfortable.
In regards to your check in whilst we only offer two exclusive breakfast deals upon check in we also have many other dining options available in the café. Our a la carte menu features meals from $8.00 and up which we believe is certainly a competitive price in Melbourne’s CBD. Should you ever wish to stay again we can certainly include these breakfast options as a part of your stay along with many other inclusions such as wireless internet access and late checkouts. Please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would love to have the opportunity to look after you in the future.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is just a short walk away from Souther Cross station, as well as tram station Flinder Street / Spencer Street. 7-11 is just around the corner to top up MyKi or resupply, and plenty of restaurants nearby.

The hotel itself is clean and quiet, staffs are friendly as well. Had no problems with the check-in and even helped me with some of the questions regarding going around and about Melbourne. Best surprise of the day is that I got upgraded to a bigger room.

Will definitely use this hotel again if I come to Melbourne next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear AndyBoey,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear of your experience and how friendly and helpful you found our team to be. We certainly delight in our daily interactions with all our guests and thoroughly enjoy sharing all our local knowledge.
Should you ever be travelling to Melbourne again please feel free to let our friendly reservations team know who will ensure that your next stay with us will be as equally enjoyable as the first.
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel is convenient to Southern Cross railway station. Front office staff are efficient.
The room is suitable for one person only, it is minute. Having said that it however it is well appointed with coffee making facilities, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel , hair dryer and flat screen tv with some Fox channels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear westoz,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are thrilled to hear of your experience with our front desk teams and are glad to hear you found our location so convenient! In regards to your room the Pensione Hotel has many different room types available with varying sizes, should you ever wish to return to us please feel free to give our friendly reservations team a call and they will certainly look after you and allocate you something a little larger.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
2,841 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
163 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#59 of 159 in Melbourne
3,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing