We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #45 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August and whilst the bed was very comfortable and staff very friendly it is in need of being maintained. As reported in earlier posts the bathrooms are extremely small, I mean really small, only one person can fit in at any time. In room 333 (superior room) some bathroom tiles are missing and a very poor patch up of a repair was completed. The down side of this hotel is they don't have a safe and at reception they only have very small safety boxes which don't fit an ipad or kindle so had to carry these around for 3 days. The other down side is they charge for wifi, I just cannot understand why this is the case. We stayed another 3 nights at a close by hotel which had safes and wifi included. Overall rating was average.

Room Tip: If you elect to stay here choose a superior double at the very least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear tenby50,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Firstly please allow us to say how glad we are that you enjoyed our bedding and that our friendly team were able to make such a great impression on you! The team certainly do pride themselves on looking after all our guests like family and our daily interactions are the best part of our jobs.
I’m sorry to hear however of any difficulties you faced in regards to our bathrooms. Unfortunately due to the heritage listing of the building we are unable to make any structural changes to the rooms however we are currently undergoing light renovations in order to maximize as much space as possible.
In regards to our WIFI charges the Pensione has many options available when booking which often include the WIFI for free or a discounted price. Should you wish to stay with us again please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who will certainly look after you with a great deal!
We hope to once again have the opportunity to accommodate you at the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the hotel. The room is small and at ground floor. Looking out of the windows, it is just brick wall and no street view. I tried their breakfast, but would rather had it outside the hotel. The location of the hotel is walking distance to the airport shuttle bus terminal, which is perfect if you are taking the shuttle bus. The room is clean, but I spotted some ants near the door. Overall, it is still a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzales28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Gonzales28,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found our location handy to the shuttle. My sincerest apologies for the ants that you encountered near the door of you room. This is certainly something we have never heard of before! Having read your feedback, I have the housekeeping team on the lookout. Should we find anything we will most definitely action immediately! I was pleased to read however that you found your room clean. Should you ever wish to stay with us again or indeed any 8 Hotels property within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly team who will certainly ensure you are well looked after.
We hope to see you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

In a city with massively overpriced accomodation, Pensione is a good value choice. Traveled with a friend and we had a twin room with two single beds. beds were very comfortable, our room overlooked the street but apart from the odd train hurtling past it was fairly quiet. The rooms were basic but tidy- the bathrooms are the smallest I have ever seen! Breakfast was fairly average, the berries and yogurt were nice but it would have been nice to have hot food included in buffet breakfast. We had a lot of issues with our room card not working but we were assured they were working on fixing the problem. The location is great, near the river, aquarium and casino and a tram right out front or just around the corner, to take you almost anywhere. Rooftop nice place to take a pizza from the terrific little pizza bar up the street. Staff were helpful- especially when our airport transfer NEVER ARRIVED!! DO NOT BOOK STARBUS!! Starbus do not know what they are doing and will out and out lie to you! I don't know whether it's because they are mostly new australians or just badly trained, but I would not recommend taking starbus to get anywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pathwinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear pathwinder,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our central location. We are so fortunate to be right in the mix of some of Melbourne’s best tourist attractions making Pensione an ideal place to explore our amazing city!
Thank you also for the feedback in regards to our breakfast. Whilst the continental buffet breakfast has a great selection of options we can certainly understand that nothing beats a hearty breakky before setting out for the day. May I suggest you try our a la carte menu for your next stay which has lots of fantastic options to choose from.
We are also sorry to hear that you had such a terrible experience with Starbus! Please feel free to contact our friendly team here at the Pensione for your next stay who can certainly assist you with other options to bring you to and from Melbourne Airport.
We hope to be able to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Got a great deal with late check out and breakfast.

Hotel is very cute, staff are really helpful and friendly.

We got upgraded to a triple room which was very spacious.

Only gripe with the room was the bathroom was rather small - tiny sink which resulted in a bit of splashing, not a deal breaker though.

Hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to Southern Cross Station and most points of interest in the CDB.

For the price and location, A+ from me!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy_kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear kathy_kangaroo,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay!
We are thrilled to hear that you made such great use of our location and thank you for the kind words in relation to our team! Please accept our apologies however if you had found our bathroom facilities difficult to use, we are currently undergoing light maintenance in all our bathrooms in order to help improve comfort and use.
Should you ever be returning to Melbourne or wish to stay in any of our other 8Hotels properties within Australia or abroad, please feel free to contact our friendly reservations team who would be delighted to look after you for your next stay.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We got a great deal on this boutique hotel and were very impressed. The room was small but not much smaller than other places we've stayed in. It had a lovely feel to it, and the bed was comfy and great linen. It's a short walk to Crown where we we attending a function. Staff were very helpful, offering an umbrella for us to walk across the road in the terrible rain. Breakfast in the cafe was sensational, we would dine here even if not at the hotel in future. Feedback is really picky - nowhere to hang a long gown, and we needed extra towels as the bathroom floor flooded (one of my pet hates) but these were easily rectified. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Yvonne S,

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

We are thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us and you had found our team to be so helpful! The Pensione prides itself on providing clean and comfy accommodation with a strong guest orientated philosophy and it’s great to hear you found it so.
In regards to our bathrooms you may be interested to know we are currently in the process of installing shower screens in all our rooms, therefore for your next stay please feel free to give us a call and we will certainly allocate you in one of these rooms and ensure you are well looked after.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Room was, as others have suggested, very small. Mine also had a window which gave onto the lift lobby, meaning that there was some leakage of light through the curtains. The challenge in using the miniature ironing board provided was to identify a flat surface, other than the floor, on which to use it! Staff were professional and courteous. Location good but not great. Just OK.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask not to get the room that has a window onto the lobby on floor 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear MickB53,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are dissapointed to hear that you had found your room to be less than satisfactory and for any difficulties you had faced with using you iron and ironing board! The Pensione Hotel aims to provide clean and comfortable accommodation for guests from all walks of life and as such have many different room types to choose from. Should you ever wish to return to Melbourne we would be delighted to accommodate you in one of our more spacious Superior Double rooms, please feel free to give our friendly team a call and they will certainly ensure that you are well looked after.
Thank you also for the lovely feedback in regards to our team – we certainly do value our guest interactions and are fortunate to work in such a rewarding industry.
We hope to welcome you again sometime in the future!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here with my mum for a weekend away and we got upgraded from a double to a triple room free of charge which was really nice. The bathroom was small but in good condition and clean which is all you need for a few days away.
It's in a great location and easy walking distance to everything including federation square, major train stations and great breakfast locations just across the river.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, General Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear SallyCF,
Thank you for your lovely feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time in Melbourne and that you made such good use of our location! We are so fortunate to be right in the heart of the CBD with so many fantastic tourist destinations sitting right at our doorstep.
Should you ever wish to come explore Melbourne again or visit any of our other 8Hotels properties, please feel free to give our friendly team a call who would be delighted to make enquiries on your behalf.
We hope to welcome you again soon!
Warm Regards
Calisha and the Pensione Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,573 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 161 in Melbourne
1,604 reviews
Central Business District
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#95 of 161 in Melbourne
1,934 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $79 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing