We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #43 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality Service”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was the cheapest accommodation I could find in the central city, and I wasn't expecting much for the price I paid. I was stoked when we arrived and saw it was such a nice place, very clean and modern, and such great service provided. The rooms aren't big, but it was all we needed, I only needed it for sleeping in as I was out all day each day. The people who worked there were so helpful, they drew us maps and showed us all the great places to go, and provided us with free discounted wifi. The location is also really great, right next to the casino which we ended up going to a lot, and there is a tram stop right outside. I'll definitely be staying here again if I go back to Melbourne for a quick trip!

Room Tip: The original double room was perfect for us as a couple. A double bed, tv and a bathroom was all we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hello Natalia!

Thank you so much for posting a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne!

I am so pleased that you found our team friendly and helpful. We certainly pride ourselves on this.

Both myself and the team very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    915
    304
    84
    40
See reviews for
244
702
426
467
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cabarita Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal for those attending a game at Etihad stadium.From leaving the airport on skybus to southern cross station everything is in walking distance,casino included.The room we booked had 3 single beds which is perfect for a football weekend away.Allthough we didnt require room service the hotel cafe was great for brekky after a late night at the casino.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Tracey B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne!

It is always great to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time with us and took advantage of our central city location! We are dangerously close to the casino aren't we?

It was also great to read you enjoyed our Cafe! We do have some delicious brekky options!

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We love to look after our regular guests!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I thought the hotel, was very good. Bedding was just perfect although the room was very small, the hotel was quiet and clean. All of the staff were so helpful, and very professional Recommend this to all

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Lyn S,

Thank you so much for your review!

Its always so great to read that our guests have enjoyed their time with us and found our team helpful!

Some of our rooms are certainly on the cosy side however we also offer some spacious superior rooms that I would love to offer you on your next stay!

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you are travelling to Melbourne in the future. We would be delighted to look after you!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed at the Pensione Hotel twice now and both visits far exceeded my expectations for such a well-priced hotel. Visiting from sydney for weekend visits you want a place that is central and accessible to the Skybus. The staff are friendly and rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jo R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I am so pleased that you have chosen to stay with us on 2 occasion and that each time has been enjoyable! I passed your review onto both our housekeeping and front office teams and both were thrilled!

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly! We love to look after regular guests!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed here twice in the past few months. The first time was a very last minute affair and I stayed in a very reasonably priced and tiny little room which was perfectly comfortable, though windowless. The second time was in a small courtyard room - and what a delightful surprise this room was! The room itself was compact but very comfortable, but the surprise was the beautiful private courtyard providing your own inner city oasis. It was lovely.

Both times I found the staff to be professional and friendly, and the coffee in the cafe to be quite good. The location near Southern Cross Station is convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotthumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Scotthumphries,

Thank you for taking the time to review Pensione Hotel Melbourne. I am so pleased that on both occasions you have enjoyed your time with us and found our staff friendly and professional. Both myself and the team really pride ourselves on this!

The Courtyard Room is my personal favourite and it is so great to hear that you enjoyed it too!

After reading your feedback with regards to the Petite Double room you stayed in previously, I have now placed a note on your guest profile to ensure we always allocate you a room with a window!

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate me directly! I would love to be able to personally ensure your next stay is just if not more enjoyable! Similarly, if you would seeking accommodation throughout Australia or abroad and would like me to make some enquiries at our sister properties on your behalf, I would be more than happy to do so!


Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Travel through on 28.3.13 and had dinner. Service exelence in the pub and kichen. Food fresh and tasty. Service was quick and professional, all staff friendly and willing. We will make sure we stay over to repeat the experience....keep it up and thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Neels B,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience!

It is so fantastic to see a review on our café alone! Thank you so much for taking the time to review it! The team were delighted to read of your experience and thank you for your kind words in relation to the service and standard of food.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you ever be coming to Melbourne as we would be delighted to show you the rest of our facilities and welcome you to the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

Warm Regards,

Calisha and the Pensione Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a good close spot to Rod Laver Arena as well as Etihad Stadium and it could not have been easier to get from A to B from here. There is a tram stop right outside and Flinders Station is a short stroll away. Not only that, the service was super helpful and friendly, the room was clean and offered the basics that you need - comfy beds, a good spacious shower and a nice little view of the city outside.
Really impressed and will stay again the next time I go to Melbourne.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a little street noise (very faint) then stay in a room with a view, it's t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellida83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Ellida83,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and found our location handy. We are blessed to be situated so close to the stadiums!

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We all love to look after our return guests!

Warm Regards,
Calisha and the Pensione Hotel Melbourne team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,517 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#57 of 158 in Melbourne
3,324 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing