We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd times the charm!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Ranked #40 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“3rd times the charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

3rd time ive stayed in this hotel and its still my favourtie hotel
Great Service,were always happy to assisit in looking for a good bar,reasturant,and shops staff here are great helpful and friendly,
Arrived at 11am and room was ready for check in and i got upgraded to a larger room very pleased with this. one thing i was happier with was the cleaners were better this time bed made every day clean towels everyday and vaccumed rooms
over all excellent hotel,reasonble price friendly helpful staff,clean and close to shops,trams,and the sky bus,
i do have a hint though always ask for a room at the back off the hotel and say you like quite this is what i ask for and staff are quite happy to assist to make sure they can get you a room
i recommend this hotel to anyone :)

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road or a quiter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megang32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Megan g,

Thank you for your inspiring review!

It is fantastic to hear that you really enjoyed your time with us and that the team had accommodated you in the most comfortable fashion possible. Both the team and I are always delighted to receive our return guests and are glad to see that our personal approach to service has resulted in you staying with us 3 times. Thank you!

I am also so thrilled that you noticed an improvement in housekeeping. I have been working extremely closely with our housekeeping staff to ensure we can offer the best service possible.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future. We all love to see familiar faces and would be sure to allocate you a room at the back of the property that is nice and quiet.

Warm Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    896
    297
    82
    38
See reviews for
238
686
417
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

location great , close to the Southern Cross Station , very short walk to the free and pay trams .as for the hotel we had no complaints . we stayed in the king size room (they bumped us up from the double for no extra charge,we didnt ask for they offered , so we took it up ) the room was good yes the bathroom is on the small size but you do not live in the bathroom so it works just fine ,, The bed was ohhhhhhhhh so comfortable , (wanted to take it home ) the room was clean and quiet and you can open a window (bonus). the cafe is good , friendly staff
Yes we will stay there again well done Pensione

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear bev b,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.
The team and I are so pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and that you found our new micro cloud bedding comfortable!

It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your upgrade; we do try to offer upgrades whenever available in an effort to ensure that your stay with us is as enjoyable as possible.

Should you be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly. We would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

You will struggle to find anywhere better for the cost in melbourne.

Comfortable, clean. Location great, short walk from southern cross or 2 mins on tram from flinders.

Parking available - suggest you pre-book it - park in commercial run car park but hotel give you exit card for far cheaper than anywhere else you'll get parked in melbourne.

Brilliant.

And have been upgraded twice now free of charge, including once to their suite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear DrJonny,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely feedback on your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

We are delighted to have you stay with us and thrilled that we have been able to offer you a complimentary upgrade. We are absolutely overjoyed that you have rated our hotel as “brilliant” and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Fourth time at this hotel, fourth time in a petite double room. Yes they are small (and this is clearly stated when you make a booking) but you're in Melbourne, it's only a secure bed and shower for me.

The hotel represents excellent value, particularly with their lowest price guarantee on their website. Saves trawling all the usual suspect sites for cheap rates.

There are tram stops immediately outside of the hotel which will take you into the heart of the city and directly to St Kilda. The free City Circle tram also rattles past. I would recommend investing in a Myki card for public transport if you are staying more than a few days. The hotel is an easy walk from Crown and Etihad Stadium, but I particularly like it for late night arrivals as it is a five minute stroll from the Skybus terminal which services the airport.

I didn't eat at the cafe this time around, but the dinner menu looked particularly tempting. The roof is a nice place for some fresh air and sun. And the staff were very funky.

The bathroom's a tough one to keep dry when having a shower and you will need to be a good aim in the sink after brushing your teeth, but it's good to see the management taking note of the feedback and trialling some different arrangements.

I'll be back that's for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irdonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear irdonn,

Thank you for your glowing review of Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

We are absolutely delighted to have accommodated you and to read that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

The team at the Pensione pride themselves on providing elegant and affordable accommodation as well as a personalized form of service which lies at the heart of every 8 Hotels property. It is fantastic to see that this has not gone unnoticed and that our best rates guarantee was useful!

I must say that I am so thrilled with your comments with regards to the bathrooms as it is certainly at the top of my priorities. We will be doing soft renovations over the next few months.

Please be sure to contact us directly should you be travelling to Melbourne in the future. We love to look after our regular guests!

Warmest Regards,
Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here the first timefor Oz Open in triple room. This time my sister & I stayed in petite room for Trade Fair earlier this month. Yes it was petite & maybe 6' + man may have a problem in the bathroom. Yes you have to aim when you need to spit when teeth brushing, but if its a room to sleep in after a hard day shopping, sight-seeing,or for business it fits the bill.And once I found the room quiet enough to get a good night sleep in, regarding proximity to tram line & noise from other guests.Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear TheWilk0s,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great night’s sleep and that you made such great use of our location within the city! With so many attractions located within the area as well as the convention centre right around the corner, The Pensione Melbourne is an ideal spot for either work or play.

We would love to have you stay again, please let us know when you are returning to Melbourne as we would like the opportunity to introduce some of our more spacious rooms to you.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is centrally located and very handy if you wish to visit Southbank or the casino and walking distance from Southern Cross station. Also has a tram stop pretty much right out the front. My only critism with this hotel is that the bathrooms are rather small and for guys who are often tall there isn't much room to swing a cat. There is also no door or shower curtain for the shower which then means that the whole bathroom floor gets extremely wet. However in saying this I would stay here again just for the location, the rooms themselves are nice and clean and the staff are friendly. There is also not much of a noise issue considering what else is located in the same area.

Room Tip: I would recommend booking one of the newer rooms and not just the standard rooms. There is nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you or taking the time to write to us in relation to your recent stay at Pensione Hotel Melbourne.

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed our central city location and that you found our team friendly!

My apologies for any discomfort you experienced with regards to our bathrooms. The maintenance team and myself are currently in the process of removing parts of the ledges and vanity units in the bathrooms to create space. We are also trialing a shower door as we understand that the overflow of water is not ideal.

Should be travelling to Melbourne again in the future, please feel free to contact us directly. We love to look after return guests and I would love to hear what you think of the changes we are making to the bathrooms!

Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here with very short notice and the rooms are very small but well appointed. The bathroom was like a closet and unfortunately our window looked onto a very strange man in his underwear always lying on his bed so we could never open the curtains. So..basically its very basic but you pay for what you get. Not very much

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calisha_Allsworth_HM, Manager at Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Rose T,
Thank you for taking the time to review Pensione Hotel Melbourne!

Firstly, I would like to apologise for any discomfort you may have experienced with regards to the guests you saw through the inner atrium of the hotel. This is certainly the first time any of our guest have reported this and I am confident that had the front office team been made aware of the situation, they would have eradicated the issue immediately.

In regards to your room size, we certainly do offer compact rooms styles as we aim to accommodate guests with varying travel needs. Perhaps one of our spacious Double Rooms would have better suited you.

I am so pleased that you found our property good value for money.

Should you be travelling to Melbourne in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I would love to personally ensure your second stay is comfortable and enjoyable.

Warmest Regards,

Calisha Allsworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
#55 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels

Property: Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Address: 16 Spencer St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#45 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modelled on the original European pensione hotels, the Pensione Hotel Melbourne combines original turn of the century building features with modern design and soft tones, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere.Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money.Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - By 8 Melbourne
Pensione Boutique Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing