We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Eden Melbourne
Ranked #115 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 23, 2007

I stayed at the Eden on the Park in December for Christmas and it was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The food is divine and the location is perfect, a 10 minute tram ride into central Melbourne. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more helpful, especially the concierge. We had a lovely room overlooking the park, it was a nice size and was very clean. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alison29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 640 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2006

Having read some of the recent reviews for this hotel, we were a little concerned - but we needn't have been. Our room on the 5th floor was decent sized, clean with tea/coffee making facilities and a safe. We also had the free WiFi and it worked well. Breakfast was great - the hot food is cooked to order except at weekends (when its a buffet). Lovely big swimming pool and gym as well. Live music in the lobby bar at weekends. Hotel is opposite Albert Park and a 3 min walk to the nearest tram stop on St Kilda Rd. Staff were friendly and helpful and we got vouchers for a free drink each in the bar. EOTP exceeded our expectations and we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2006

Given its location, this hotel is usually visited by business travellers. Wireless Internet is free, but coverage within the hotel is patchy. Some floors don't work at all, others will let you connect but offer very poor performance.

There are no accessible powerpoints near most beds (I've stayed here several times), so make sure you bring a long power cord if working from bed (a better option than the desk area). The rooms are generally incredibly dark.

Room service is below average - try the Grill House a 2 minute walk for a great meal at a similar price.

Breakfast is average, and often included (although they won't always tell you!) in the stay.

Overall ok, but don't expect to depend on the Internet access.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2006

After staying in 10 different hotels in Melbourne, my company sent me to Eden on the Park for 3 nights. The hotel does not have broadband connection and i requested a king bed but was given 2 x Double Beds. Breakfast looked average, i ended up walking to a nearby cafe. For the price these guys were asking for you can easily get much better rooms elsewhere in Melbourne. Its very clear to me that this hotel was a great place in 1992 but its 2006 and time has really caught up to this hotel. :)

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank POLARBEAR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2005

I had a wonderful stay at this small, elegant hotel. The staff was excellent, the rooms well-appointed, the pool and exercise facilities good for a hotel of this size. Free wireless internet access in the rooms! Not the most central location, but it's near a very nice lake with trails for running and walking and has easy access by car to the CBD, St. Kilda, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aussie_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2004

It has been four years since we stayed at this fine hotel and the superb staff's kindnesses are still recalled. My husband arrived at the Eden with a bad back. Staff immediately found us a reasonable and skilled massage therapist who made all the difference in our time visiting Melbourne. Our room was attractive, quiet and comfortable - the bed was as good as any Westin's! The location was really handy, too. And of course the price was terrific.

8  Thank joelmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2004

We have recently returned from Melbourne and had the pleasure of staying at "Eden in the Park". Right from checking in early due to an early flight nothing was a bother, for the highly professional staff. The room was clean and had some nice extra's ie slippers, robes, in room safe . It has a nice indoor pool , gym and spa/sauna on the top floor.It is about a 2 min walk to the tram stop then another 8 -10 mins on the tram which will take you right into the heart of Melbourne The breakfasts were first class which set us up for the day. There is aMacdonalds and subway and a couple of cafes near the tram stop or head into town for lots more variety . We would recommend staying at the Eden

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nimaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
608 reviews
Bayview On The Park
#135 of 161 in Melbourne
920 reviews
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#113 of 161 in Melbourne
664 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Eden Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Eden Melbourne

Address: 6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#97 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bayview Eden Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Eden Melbourne is conveniently located on Queens Road overlooking the picturesque Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. It is located in the heart of the St Kilda Road business district and is only a short tram ride away from Melbourne's Central Business District and Crown Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Eden Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Eden Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing