We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the right choice for our wedding night”
Review of Bayview Eden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Eden
Ranked #108 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the right choice for our wedding night”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

After staying at this hotel when we first started dating 10 years ago and enjoying our initial experience my husband and I decided to stay here on our wedding night. Although the room was nice, clean and spacious I was disappointed with the service we recieved.

Upon booking our hotel via the internet I had difficulty booking a room with a view out over Albert Park lake and beyond. I decided to send an email to the hotel explaining that it was our wedding night and if possible could we please request a room with a view. A couple if days later (I was impressed with their prompt response) I recieved a rude email back saying that it was not possible to put in any requests.

As an experienced traveller I never normally put in requests like this however as it was my wedding night I was hoping for some exception. This might be something the hotel might like to look at in the future as this is a once in a lifetime occasion and I didn't feel that the hotel did anything to help us make this part of our night special.

There was a lovely man on the desk when we checked in and we were also impressed with the girl who checked us out. Both very friendly and professional. The breakfast was yum with a bit to pick from though that said there are also some great cafes in town which will give you a better value breakfast.

The bed was very comfy and the room was quite large. The upstairs pool area is getting a little dated and I am sure there is something better they could do with this great view.

Overall it is a nice hotel but I think my husband and I will stay somewhere different if we are celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahandMarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    267
    154
    54
    29
See reviews for
106
228
48
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've stayed here for a conference, and most instantly for me the rooms are quiet, the bed is comfortable and I sleep well. The rooms are really clean, well looked after, huge bathrooms and there's free wi fi in the conference rooms (but not the bedrooms). It's a bit outside the CBD with limited dining options at night without hopping a tram, but this is easy to do.

The only reason I don't give this place an excellent rating is that they lost my luggage which I dropped off before the conference and then, although the counter staff were very polite, it was like they went into denial over this, resulting in me having to go back to my room twice to confirm that it wasn't there before they finally realised that maybe something was wrong and started to track it down (it had been sent to the wrong room). I'm sure this was a once off though and won't hold it against them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TassieRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Got a great internet special for this hotel. We were in a corner room which was a great size as we had an extra bed in the room. Room was clean, with modern bathroom. The included buffet breakfast had plenty of variety. Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I am pleased to read that you will staying again on your next visit to Melbourne.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in a Superior Queen Room in March, 2013. Had no issues whatsoever. Staff were very friendly and efficient- both Check-in and Check-out were very quick. The price of the rooms were also very reasonable for the location. The tram stop is less than 5 minutes walk away- making it easy to get to Melbourne CBD without having to drive. If driving, it's just down the road from the CBD, Crowne Casino, etc.
The only issue we had was someone had parked awkwardly behind our car in the underground carpark. Hotel staff had to help us to get our car out (took nearly 20 minutes of going back and forth). This wasn't a hotel problem (since a guest had parked incorrectly), and the hotel went out of their way to help us out. Really appreciate this service!

Room Tip: Give the reception a call in advance to ask them to reserve a space for carparking (if visiting duri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Bayview Eden Melbourne and I am glad we were able to assist you with maneuvering your vehicle.

I hope you choose to stay at the Bayview Eden again when you next require accommodation in Melbourne.

Kind Regards

Russell
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodalla, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staying here was a real pleasure. The staff were more than happy to help you. The breakfast was amazing. The building is Beautiful. The mattress could do with replacing but otherwise a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddessmmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I can confirm that we are in the process of changing our beds. If you can please contact myself directly to let me know which room you had stayed in. I will ensure that this bed is looked at and replaced next.

I am pleased to read that you had enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

Kind Regards

Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was lovely. It was great value for money. Check in was efficient and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful and particularly the concierge who clearly knows a lot about Melbourne..where to visit, where not to bother, which tram to get and also advised that we would need a Myki card for the trams which we could either purchase at the hotel or the 7-11 over the road. The billiard room was great, swimming pool, sauna and spa all clean with plenty of towels and open until late. The added bonus was it has underground parking at $10 per day but, be warned, the entrance and exit are very narrow and a tight squeeze. The bar staff in the hotel were very friendly, and we could buy take away coffees too. All in all it was a lovely stay, both the hotel and staff were great and I would recommend the Bayview Eden to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Hotel.

I am pleased to read that the staffs were very attentive and the services we offer met your needs. I have forwarded your review on to the Concierge and bar staff for their congratulations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Bayview Eden Melbourne.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night and I was impressed with what the hotel had to offer.
Upon arrival as the room was prepaid - we quickly checked into our room and the bathroom was large, stocked with a minibar and all - bed was OK.

In terms of comfort it was fine, it was only one night, although i was more impressed with the swimming pool as it was great to chill out after a day of back to back meetings and it was during a heat wave in Melbourne (5&6th March 2013).

The staff were very helpful and friendly - i ordered some room service, very impressed by the dessert menu - the raspberry cheesecake - and the steak with veggies was delicious! exactly what I needed after a full on day of meetings.

Check out was easy - for me it was a great location close to South Melbourne as all my business meetings were in South Melbourne.

I would definitely stay again (depending on rates!) when in Melbourne.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POLARBEAR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview Eden M, Front Office Manager at Bayview Eden, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

It was a pleasure to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have forwarded your review on to the relevant staff for their congratulations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Russell
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayview On THe Park
Bayview On THe Park
#142 of 159 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seasons Botanic Gardens
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#81 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra St Kilda Road
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Eden

Property: Bayview Eden
Address: 6 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Eden on the Park)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bayview Eden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Eden Melbourne is conveniently located on Queens Road overlooking the picturesque Albert Park Lake and Port Phillip Bay. It is located in the heart of the St Kilda Road business district and is only a short tram ride away from Melbourne's Central Business District and Crown Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bayview Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Eden Melbourne
Bayview Eden Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing