We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A1 location, a real home away from home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BreakFree on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #104 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Queensland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A1 location, a real home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2009

My mum and I were looking for a self-contained, modern, spacious, two bedroom unit in Melbourne's CBD and Darling Towers certainly delivered.

We were greeted warmly by staff upon our arrival and had everything (security, room features) fully explained to us.

Our room was clean and spacious, with very comfy beds.

And, location, location! Right near Swanston Street trams, Flinders Street Station, Little Bourke Street restaurants, Federation Square and the central shopping area.

Yet, our room was very quiet.

We weren't after frills and extra hotel stuff like a gym, pool or concierge. We didn't need a hotel restaurant, bar or coffee shop (it's MELBOURNE for gosh sakes ... food, wonderful food on every corner ... in every laneway).

We just wanted a hotel that felt like an apartment and a hotel that felt like home.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKrislovesLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    537
    358
    134
    96
See reviews for
534
278
80
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

The location was awesome!! Right in the heart of the city and only metres from Flinders St Station and the free city tram. The apartment was an excellent size and with a washer and dryer, hair dryer, everything you could want was right there. Really happy with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaJJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

My fiance and I chose this location in Melbourne after reading the positive reviews on this site. While the basic descriptions of the apartments were true, we were horrified by the infestation of cockroaches primarily in the kitchen and bath. The kitchen was unusable (one of the features that caused us to chose Darling Towers) and we had to keep our toiletries bags in the refrigerator after I found a roach on my toothbrush (fortunately I had another one in my handbag). When we informed the staff, they responded with indifference and said they would have the room sprayed after we left.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

My mother, sister and i booked the Darling Towers apartment on collins initially for four nights and were so impressed with the apartment we stayed another three nights. The apartment is clean, roomy and very well located near the corner of Swanson and Collins street. The tram stop is at your door step and you are spoilt for choice for local eateries and coffee shops close by. We will never stay anywhere else in the city when visiting melbourne and talk about value for money. We had a clean, roomy apartment with a full kitchen, balcony and laundry at our disposal - it really was a home away from home. It is only one block from Federation Square and the Flinders Street Railway Station. There is no need to look any further for your accommodation and no we are not related to the owners. lol

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandygc03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Apartment is close to the city, modern, clean and very roomy for a family. It was extremely well priced and had great secure parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaydarVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at Darling Towers on Collins Street in Melbourne when we visited for two nights to see a concert. The apartment was neat, clean and spacious with comfortable beds and good amenities.
It's a great location with a tram stop outside the doors and eateries and shops within walking distance.
Security was good, having resident activated elevator and closed circuit tv.
Would certainly stay there again and recommend it to others for short or long stays.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller7Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

What a great location! We spent our week exploring the city and its numerous arcades during the day and attending the theatre and going out for dinner in the evenings. Such a convenient location in Collins Street - walking distance to almost everything and with the tram right outside the front door going to both Fitzroy and St Kilda what more could we ask for! The staff and service were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed it so much that as soon as we got home we rebooked another holiday in Melbourne staying in the same place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mclennans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#105 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Property: BreakFree on Collins
Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing