We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 3, 2009

You couldn't ask for a better location than this - tram stop right outside the door in Collins Street. About a minute's walk takes you Swanston Street, where you can access more trams, a few minutes more down the road and you are at Flinders St Station and Federation Square. The 2brm Apartment we were in was located on the 9th Floor, and was very spacious considering there was 5 adults. The noise of the trams and peoples voices seemed to carry especially at night, so pack your ear plugs.
Staff were very helpful and checking in/out was a hassle free experience.
Cost wise - very economical for the lcoation and facilities. Will definately be staying here again

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pirate71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,847 - 1,853 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2009

I booked the Darling Towers for its central location and really the location can't be beat. It's right on Collins St in the middle of the CBD, with shops, offices and restaurants all nearby.

The room itself was clean and moderately sized. The kitchenette had everything needed for light meals. Service at the reception was courteous. Since I stayed several nights I managed to get a rate of only A$110 per night, which I thought was excellent value.

I was concerned if it would be noisy (being located smack in the CBD) but my room, which faced a side lane, was quiet. I would definitely book this place again for future trips to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We have stayed here many times and have had the backpacker experience from the roof next door (the so-called upgrade!). This year it was so much better. We had a 1 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor in a quiet north-east corner. It was spotless and well-maintained. Reception were friendly and helpful and its location in the heart of the city cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helsaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We booked the top of the range 2 bedroom apartment and were amused to "receive an upgrade" when we arrived!
The location is brilliant and there are supermarkets, restaurants and shops everywhere, as well as easy access to public transport. The check - in system is quirky, and having to get 2 separate lifts to the upper floors is a pain if you have lots of luggage. We were on the southern side of the 11th floor and there was a constant "rotten" smell in the apartment. We searched for its source and can only assume that it was from air-conditioning, or from garbage out on the rooftop below the apartment.
The worst thing about our apartment, however, was the noise from the rooftop below .... drunks partying until all hours every night. When we left at 9 am on Sunday morning they were still at it!! I suspect it may be a back-packer hostel, but am not sure. I know that this is not the fault of the Darling Towers people, but it was off-putting!
I would be prepared to give them another go, as the location and kitchen/washing facilities were so good.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

'Luxury' has to be about the most overused - and abused - word in the travel world. These apartments are clean and well located but not luxurious by any stretch. Our apartment was quite cramped and not well lit.

I heard complaints from other guests about the rudeness of the reception staff, but they were quite pleasant to me.

Darling Towers is decent enough, but don't trust the star rating!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_beach_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

As a family of 4, when we first arrived at the apartment, we all thought it a little small. However, the location is perfect for exploring Melbourne. For the shops, you are right there, and for the outlying areas, transport is right at the door. So, we didn't spend much time indoors. The apartment was clean and the appliances fine. The staff were all polite and helpful at check-in, check-out and for all enquiries in between. The outdoor balcony overlooked an alley-way, adding an urban quirkiness to the apartment. We would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank CondaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We recently stayed at Darling Towers on Collins for 6 nights and would happily recommend it to others. We were in a 1 bedroom apartment which had everything we needed - full cooking facilities, dishwasher, washing machine etc.

The location is fantastic - right on Collins St and a short walk to all the major attractions and public transport. The building is rather old, but our unit was modern, clean and comfortable.

There were only a couple of minor things I would change - there is nowhere for soap etc in the shower (which is over the bath, so not easy to get in and out of!) and only 1 towel rack - there is also a hook behind the door which isn't really adequate. We dried our towels in the lounge room during the day!

The only other problem we had was that our room was next to the lift well, which is quite noisy - more background noise though than actually intrusive. If I stayed there again, I think I'd ask for a different room.

We found it was cheaper to book our accommodation directly with the hotel - so, if you find a good deal on one of the accommodation websites, I suggest you contact the hotel and see if they can do better.

There are a few Darling Towers properties in Melbourne, so make sure you are dealing with the Collins St one if you want to be right in the CBD. I noticed some of the links on the TripAdvisor website were to other properties (and several of the unfavourable comments apply to their other properties, not the Collins St one)

All in all - I would highly recommend this property! We ended up paying less than $120 per night which I think is great value for a 1 bedroom unit in the CBD.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaygirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 161 in Melbourne
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
196 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $88 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing