We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #108 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 4, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,934)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,649 - 1,655 of 1,935 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment on Level 10, it is compact in the lounge kitchen are but beds were comfortable and everything is supplied. Location in Collins street is great so close to shops and a tram outside the door that took me down to South Melbourne. Handy for the trendy lane-ways around the corner.You can miss the entrance if you are not careful.I know there are bigger apartments on the higher levels,but mine was fine for the price and location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamboking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location.
Although reception is weird (8th floor, pretty much a converted apartment room) friendly enough staff.

Room excellent air con, damaged(coat hanger coming out of wall) and worn but it was clean.

Would stay here again if for quick visit.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My sister and I spent eight nights here and were impressed with the place. It is in a great location, a short walk to the laneways, shopping, restaurants and cafes, and we were right beside tram stops which took us everywhere we wanted to visit. The apartment itself (a one-bedroom on the 6th floor) was clean and tidy, and had a great kitchen which allowed us to cook meals and prepare breakfast some mornings. It was very quiet at night and we were thoroughly impressed - particularly because it tends to get negative reviews on here. I don't know what they were complaining about; I'd recommend this place, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s0phie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

stayed here for a night with my husband and two children, booked a two bedroom apartment with queen size bed and 2 singles. Location is absolutely fantastic. Reception is on the 8th floor and was in what looked like what could have been a hotel room, seemed a bit dodgy, but reception staff were ok, nothing flash but ok. We were told we were upgraded to an executive suite, which was on the 11th floor, had to take a lift to 10th floor and then change to another lift to get to 11th floor, security was great though we had to use a scan tag to operate lift which was great. The hallways could use a little TLC, but once we got to our apartment we couldn't have been happier. Bedrooms are a good size and beds were really comfy. Good size bathroom. Living area was small with only a couch and arm chair so 4 people couldn't sit comfortably for long, but suited us as we didn't spend too much time inapartment.Exceptionally clean and would highly recommend, we are staying again next weekend so hopefully will be just as happy. We only paid $150 for the night so we were happy, wouldn't want to pay a lot more than that though.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Doodi1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have never written a review before but I felt it important that others were warned of what to expect. Staff were incredibly rude to us at check in when there was a misunderstanding. They were very unhelpful and disinterested. We were told to check in later (it was already past 4pm) and told us to leave our bags. They simply pointed to a disorganised room with bags strewn everywhere and told us to put our bags in without tags or security. It was a disappointing start to our stay in such a beautiful city and unfortunately I would never recommend this accommodation.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank Jazinthetropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#111 of 161 in Melbourne
198 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#98 of 161 in Melbourne
920 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#77 of 161 in Melbourne
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $84 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing