We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Unfriendly, Dirty and hidden charges” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #107 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfriendly, Dirty and hidden charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I will never stay here again and highly recommend that you look elsewhere for the same money if you are considering staying here. The staff were rude and unhelpful. The building and rooms lacked basic maintenance. The walls in my room and bathroom were dirty. I have stayed in better hostels than this establishment. The title "Executive Apartment" is a joke and false advertising at its best. Avoid Avoid Avoid !!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    313
    203
    84
    61
See reviews for
286
167
53
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have stayed here before but as we hadn't stayed back there for a few years, we thought we'd give it another go. The last time we had stayed there the place was tired & we decided to give it a miss for a while.

Well, time has lapsed & nothing has been done to it since our last visit. It's in a brilliant location. Reception is in a weird place - catch the lift to a room & there it is, basically. The hotel itself is tired. Could do with a lick of paint & some maintenance, within our unit, at least. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment/room & were told we were upgraded upon arriving. Not sure how it was an upgrade but there you go.

Cleanliness in a hotel is big to me. This place wasn't the cleanest of places at all. Quite dusty in areas. But tidy enough. The hallways smelt quite off. Thankfully our room wasn't that bad. We had to call for more coffee as there was 2 sachets there, from memory. The unit had a couple of cupboard doors hanging loosely but nothing a bit of maintenance couldn't fix.

We only spent one night & as we were flying out at midnight to go overseas we were VERY grateful not just to leave our luggage after check out until in the night but to use the bathroom adjacent to the luggage room, also. It had a shower & after being out all day before heading to the airport, had I realised it was there I would have used it (had a lock on it). But the bathroom was a God-send as it allowed us to freshen up ready for a 10 hour flight.

The staff were friendly & nice enough. Especially on the day of check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here last September for one week, we had a wedding to attend to that's within walking distance. The place is central enough to most places and that's the only positive point.

After 20hrs of flight, we badly needed sleep but the apartment (we booked 2 bdrm apt and it was on 10th fl) wasn't insulated at all. We could hear the garbage truck coming early in the morning, the singing drunkards during the weekend and all traffic noises throughout the days & nights. The window shade didn't offer any insulation towards sunlight i.e. Get ready to be woken up at first sign of light. The beds have sunken so much that they gave us backaches. And when the wind blows, the patio door curves inwards with the wind. So sitting at the sofa watching tv required proper attire as if you were outdoor. And lets not talk about the cleaning service. Beside changing the towels and tidying the beds, I couldn't tell if anything else was done to the room. The crumbs on the dining table remained there, fingerprints & smudges on the mirror remained there.

It also took 5 mins to get warm water.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pons-fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wasnt expecting much as i had read reviews BUT WAS NICELY SURPRISED...it was a late booking for Grandfinal 2013 and on my own. Location was awesome...only 1 block from Federation Square. Kitchen was neat and tidy and had everything you need.
Bedroom was tidy and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was compact but all you need and the shower had HOT water and pressure was amazing!!!!
If you want to relax and have a view....go somewhere else BUT if you go to Melbourne to party hard this is the perfect place and i would stay there again in a heart beat....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaGrandfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Would never stay here again or would never recommend it. Booked a 2 bedroom. After getting there for check in (well after the time they told us) and being our told our room had not yet been cleaned. Mucked us around and finally have us a different room. Room wasn't the cleanest. Fold out bed was old and sunken. Just not worth the money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLeigh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was close to everything I needed to go to, cheap midweek rate, reasonable room with adequate amenities. Bit of a pain having reception on 8th floor as I seemed to spend a lot of time in and out of lifts but other than that, the staff were pleasant, a little bit of street noise even from 11th floor but for a quick one night stay, it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve1960Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

2nd time i have stayed here. Everything you need without the huge expense. Tram stop right outside door, safe location. Basic but has all you need. Short walk to Flinders St Station, and Degraves Lane and Port Phillip arcade , for all sorts of food. Very safe and clean. My only issue is no free wifi, which is something i consider a must these days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 11th floor studio appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank danmaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#93 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#118 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,809 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Property: BreakFree on Collins
Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing