We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst sleep & stay experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here last September for one week, we had a wedding to attend to that's within walking distance. The place is central enough to most places and that's the only positive point.

After 20hrs of flight, we badly needed sleep but the apartment (we booked 2 bdrm apt and it was on 10th fl) wasn't insulated at all. We could hear the garbage truck coming early in the morning, the singing drunkards during the weekend and all traffic noises throughout the days & nights. The window shade didn't offer any insulation towards sunlight i.e. Get ready to be woken up at first sign of light. The beds have sunken so much that they gave us backaches. And when the wind blows, the patio door curves inwards with the wind. So sitting at the sofa watching tv required proper attire as if you were outdoor. And lets not talk about the cleaning service. Beside changing the towels and tidying the beds, I couldn't tell if anything else was done to the room. The crumbs on the dining table remained there, fingerprints & smudges on the mirror remained there.

It also took 5 mins to get warm water.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pons-fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,724 - 1,730 of 1,989 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wasnt expecting much as i had read reviews BUT WAS NICELY SURPRISED...it was a late booking for Grandfinal 2013 and on my own. Location was awesome...only 1 block from Federation Square. Kitchen was neat and tidy and had everything you need.
Bedroom was tidy and bed was comfortable. Bathroom was compact but all you need and the shower had HOT water and pressure was amazing!!!!
If you want to relax and have a view....go somewhere else BUT if you go to Melbourne to party hard this is the perfect place and i would stay there again in a heart beat....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaGrandfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Would never stay here again or would never recommend it. Booked a 2 bedroom. After getting there for check in (well after the time they told us) and being our told our room had not yet been cleaned. Mucked us around and finally have us a different room. Room wasn't the cleanest. Fold out bed was old and sunken. Just not worth the money

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLeigh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was close to everything I needed to go to, cheap midweek rate, reasonable room with adequate amenities. Bit of a pain having reception on 8th floor as I seemed to spend a lot of time in and out of lifts but other than that, the staff were pleasant, a little bit of street noise even from 11th floor but for a quick one night stay, it was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1960Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

2nd time i have stayed here. Everything you need without the huge expense. Tram stop right outside door, safe location. Basic but has all you need. Short walk to Flinders St Station, and Degraves Lane and Port Phillip arcade , for all sorts of food. Very safe and clean. My only issue is no free wifi, which is something i consider a must these days.

Room Tip: Upgrade to 11th floor studio appartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank danmaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This apartment was booked in desperation as there wasn't much left in Melbourne. It is in a great location and that's it. The Afro lady was very rude upon check in. They just don't care. This place is dirty small and badly maintained. The attitude is we couldn't care less! I would never stay again. We had a two bedroom. The flooring was dodgy in the tiny lounge area the lamp was broken it was not clean the bathroom was not detailed to a good standard. There was a party on our floor Saturday night so be prepared for noise and dirt. Horrible disgusting place.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Carolyn7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Definitely agree with other reviews - wish I 'd read them prior to staying here. Really is great location, walking distance to shopping, Southbank, Flinders St station, sporting facilities & tram right out front door. Stayed in 2b/room apartment - good size living & b/room areas. Our apartment did come in clean & tidy, apart from the half hanging curtains & the massive stain across the curtain (couldn't work out if coffee or red wine). Reception area (8th floor) unwelcoming & lacks professional touches - be prepared to move your own baggage around. Better places to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
3,573 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $90 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing