We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Budget but even so, expected better” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget but even so, expected better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked in to Darling Towers on Collins after reading several reasonable reviews and seeing that it was supposedly 4 star budget accommodation. Booking process was fine but when I got there I was very disappointed. I was given a 2 bedroom apartment that was extremely dark even with the lights on. Went to have a glass of water and had to wash the glasses prior to using them as they had a weird yellow, foul smelling (not wee not detergent) liquid in them. Main bedroom had hardly any window or light. Depressing really. Went to reception and was upgraded to the "VIP" room on level 11. Whilst this was a nice gesture and a much better room with late windows and a balcony, the "VIP" room didn't have a working smoke detector or clock, the dishwasher had the prior people's dishes still in there (although clean) and the Venetian blinds were bent and broken. Substandard accommodation. I checked out that night and went elsewhere. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay else where unless you aren't fussy about cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerenadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    306
    199
    84
    59
See reviews for
282
161
53
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, although small it was adequate. The location is really good, close to shops, eating places, sporting events and the tram stop is right outside the door. There is no service but for a short stay that really doesn't matter.There is a small kitchen with all utensils. even a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank broddles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed there for 11 days - from day 1 we let reception know that our dryer/washing machine wasn’t working. Day 5 they still hadn’t come so I went down there and complained. Got told the maintenance guy said he ordered a part and would be back tomorrow morning. I said to them they should have probably let us know or given us a key to a different room so we could wash all of our stuff..... He then didn’t show the following day so I called in the afternoon and let reception know, she said 'well then all I can do is give you a key to the 'pent house' and you can use the washing machine there.' We on the 6th floor had to go to the 12th floor and keep on walking back and forth washing all our stuff.

Didn’t get an apology or a where sorry he didn’t let you know what was happening with the machine.

We also got told the "cleaners" would come by every 3 days to give towels/new sheets if needed/take away the roller bed - the cleaners didnt come at all so on days 6 we phoned reception and in the end we ended up having to go down there and collect towels. Rubbish all stayed there until the day we left.

Room Tip: Standard room is exactly the same as the "pent house". No difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Darling Towers on Collins for 4 nights. The book-in processes was seamless and all went well without a hitch.
We had a 2 bedroom Apartment for us and our daughter. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was adequate with a good hairdryer, and excellent heating, so important in chilly Melbourne.
The kitchenette was well equipped with crockery, cutlery, wine glasses, fridge and dishwasher.
Our room was overlooking Collins Street with its peak hour rush and the iconic trams adding to our Melbourne experience. Close to the free Tour Bus which stops every 30 minutes and also the free City Circle Tram, which covers just about all the major attractions such as the National Gallery Old Melbourne Gaol, Docklands area and the various Museums, not to mention the shops. We enjoyed the evening Walks and the surprising talent spotted around in the way of street performances.
Our contact with staff found them friendly and polite.
One suggestion I would make is that house keeping be tailored to guests stay rather than strictly each 3 nights, as we stayed 4 it would have been ideal for cleaning to have been done mid stay.
Overall pleasant experience, good value and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been staying here for a few days most years for about 10 years. But I no longer have the same loyalty to this hotel. Initially, I planned to stay for 3 nights. The website offered a deal for the first 2 nights and the third was listed as 'contact the hotel'. So I emailed - no response. 2 days later I phone and was disappointed with the poor customer service skills of the booking clerk. She knew I was staying for 2 nights but insisted the 3rd night was at the full $180 rate. Now, I didn't expect the special deal be offered for the 3rd night but she didn't even offer me the 10% returning customer discount. Her inflexibility and her lack of awareness of preserving the good custom of a long standing client was poor.

Corridors are run down - not only in need of coats of paint but rubbish daily littered the floor. Rooms are well equipped and although furniture looks somewhat tired, I'm not in Melbourne to stay in the hotel room. So a comfie chair to sit in at night and watch TV and kitchen facilities keep me happy. Room was clean but a towel from previous occupant still hung behind the bathroom door. Unfortunately, I slept badly due to a very soft, old mattress. I was in pain from @4am and got little sleep from then on. If anything needs to be replaced first, it is the mattresses!

Access to the city is right outside your door. Tram stop outside, Shops and cafes also within easy walking distance. Good security means a solo traveller can feel safe.

So, location means this hotel can be recommended but don't expect anything fancy - it is adequate but not outstanding. Also, don't hope to be made to feel like a valued customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Location to Darling Towers was excellent, Close to all the shops ,Shopping Centres , and all the public transport we needed. The room was rather tired and needed some makeover to slightly more modern furniture. Some grout missing in between tiles in the shower/bath will cause them some water problems in the future and didn't look all that inviting. we were recommended to stay here and upon opening the door found it quite disappointing to what we expected. Sadly would not really like to recommend this place to people if they are looking for 4 stars

Room Tip: "Ask for upgrade when booking if you can"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here, yes it is dated but it's in a Great Location. Right in the Heart of the CDB Close to Train, trams and all other public transport. Supermarket just down the road. Great place to stay for weekly stays in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelstar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#92 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,805 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Property: BreakFree on Collins
Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing