We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location, Spacious room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #112 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal location, Spacious room”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've been staying here for all our 4 Melbourne trips and will definitely stay here again. A very centralised location near Federation Square, Flinders train station, shops and food. You do not have to walk very far to join the day tours as the pickup is near Federation Square. There's even a Coles supermarket nearby. What more can we ask for. If you were to take the Skybus from the airport, they will stop you just across Darling towers so it is convenient even with kids. If you'd like a spacious apartment, choose the 2-bedroom one. Lots of eateries and fast food around the area such as Mcdonalds, Hungry Jacks, KFC, Krispy Kreme, Nandos,etc. For halal food, we found a halal kebab takeaway just behind the apartment.

Room Tip: We love the spaciousness of the 2-bedroom apartment for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanazNazeeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    647
    415
    172
    113
See reviews for
640
328
96
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time here & love the location. I was disappointed with the unit, the furniture is dated, walls dirty, carpet stained, mould in shower & even the sheets had staines on them. Having four people in 2 bedroom unit is cramped only because their is a 2 seater sofa & 1 chair other person either sits on floor or at dining table. Neighbouring backpackers are very loud to 2am & people returning to their units can be heard. Fantastic location but I dont think i will be back due to noise & rooms in need of renovation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalblue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I doubt you can get a better CBD location than this- rooms are fine- 2 bedrooms (2nd a bit small) but adequate for a weekend where you are not spending a heap of time in your room. will consider again when returning to Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maroon25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed here as I was on a business trip and needed 2 nights accomodation. On arrival I was surprised at the location, it was right in the middle of the action with Flinders St station only a couple of minutes walk and trams at the door. Everything you could want is a short walk away. They upgraded me from 1 to 2 bedroom on check in which was good, even though I was alone the room was a little bigger. I was very impressed with the location, price and the bed was very comfortable. I was not so impressed with the cleanliness but could live with it for the short stay I had planned. There were stains on the benches, some type of strange gooey stuff in the bathroom vents and some sticky fingerprints on the tv remote which i tried not to think too much about while wiping down. All in all, very good for the price and I would recommend for short stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here last year and it was really good. We had trouble with the toilet clogging in our first room, but we rang reception and straight away we were upgraded to an even BIGGER apartment! So that was really good. Reception is weird, as it's just like a little hotel room. But apart from that, fine. Good service and really friendly people. Comfy beds too.

We got an apartment for a really good price considering everywhere else in Melbourne charges a ridiculous amount for apartments, but I guess it depends how lucky you get as I am going back to melbourne in a month, however didn't book this time as it was too expensive.

Would definitely recommend, the location is beyond more than enough reason to stay! Tram stop literally outside your front door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. We can't fault it at all. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Plenty of towels, extra pillows and blankets if you need them. Also a good supply of coffee, milk etc. Just step out the front door and you're right in the hub of Melbourne. Tram stop right at your doorstep, shops, Federation Square, South Bank restaurants ( a short stroll away ), just to name a few. Wonderful price too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TraceyandJohnGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our first stay at Darling Towers and we'll definitely be coming back. The service provided by the reception staff, particularly Lynette, was outstanding. The apartment was lovely and clean and had everything you'd need for a comfortable stay. The towels were nice and fluffy and the bed linen lovely and crisp. You couldn't get a more perfect location with tram stops right outside your door and everything you could possibly want in walking distance. All this at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanelleBelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
190 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#130 of 160 in Melbourne
347 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#114 of 160 in Melbourne
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Property: BreakFree on Collins
Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing