We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #108 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We have just stayed in a two bedroom apratment. Darling Towers is in a great location in the heart of the city with a tram stop at the front door. Also a short walk to MCG, Federation Square and Flinders Street station. The reception desk on the 8th floor is a little strange and unfriendly. Our room was clean until we used the dishwasher. On opening the dishwasher to unpack it after use we found it was alive with cockroaches, from then on every morning we found them running over the sink. We contacted housekeeping and a lady came and sprayed but this was not very effective. A second lady attended after we mentioned it the next day with an almost empty can of fly spray. We requested a late check out but were only offered a 2 hour extension and nobody bothered to ask how our stay was or enquire about the cockraoch problem. We would consider staying again as location and security is good and hope the rooms are fumigated.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cockroaches
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    588
    390
    156
    109
See reviews for
590
301
88
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin NT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

If you are looking for a central location, spacious, comfortable accommodation without the attitude of a fancy hotel, then consider Darling Towers on Collins. We had a two bedroom apartment. Although some fittings were a little tired, it was well fitted out with all you would need, and a few thoughtful extras like laundry powder, extra toilet rolls and tissues. We booked an extra night so that we could check in early, and were allowed a late check out as we had a late flight home. Staff were friendly and the place seems well organised. We were very happy with the overall stay, and they were quick to attend to the minor issues we had with the dryer, and without the surly attitude you often get at 4 and 5 star hotels. Highly reccommended and we will stay here again on our return to Melbourne.

  • Liked — Great apartment for the location and price
  • Disliked — More TV channels would be good.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ZacGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

What a welcome to Australia:
The 'Darling Towers' apartment company has 20 different buildings. The pictures shown on their website do not look like most of their apartment buildings, and when I asked which buildings look like this, I got no answer.
I "over"paid Australian dollars 160 for a "four star property" which turned out to be a shabby apartment in a rundown building. (The four stars are probably due to the fact that there is a bathtub and shower both). Over the obvious dirt, a thin layer of granite has been added in the kitchen and bath. The floor had not been cleaned before I came in, especially in the kitchen. The hallways were dirty, the grounds full of rubbish, the walls not painted in a long while; no central AC and it was 92 degrees Fahrenheit outside, no elevator and I had a heavy suitcase. There is a dysfunctional safe on the upper shelf of the bedroom closet, and no mention of safekeeping valuables in the 'guest service' book. No information at all when checking in - i.e., not following the simplest rules of the hospitality industry. How can they receive awards for this?
What irks me most is the fact that despite asking over the top prices, they don't feel an obligation to keep the place clean. I perceive this as a profound lack of respect for me as the customer.

Helpful?
1 Thank flying_about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

After travelling all over the world I thought I'd come across every scheme that hotel operators use to separate guests from their cash. Darling Towers, though, came up with a new one. One of the reasons we picked the place was that it had internet access. It was advertised at $5 a day, which was not cheap (lots of places have free internet nowdays) but we figured it wasn't too bad. We also assumed that the $5 was an all-you-can-eat price.

When we checked it, we found out that the daily charge only covered -access to the internet, NOT using it! Usage attracted additional charges for (a) signing onto the web and (b) downloading each megabyte of data.

As a result, we kept your internet usage as low as we could. We still ended up having to pay over $50 for 5 days use, on top of the daily 'connection' charge.

Internet aside, the apartment was OK and the location very good. Maintenance was so-so: we reported a blown light bulb a couple of times but it was never fixed. There was also blood on the floor inside and outside the lifts for several days. However, this was over the Christmas period so we could probably cut them some slack.

I'd probably recommend and/or use this place again if it wasn't for the internet rip-off. I don't like this kind of fiddle, though!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Internet rip-off
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_mica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarlingTowers, Reception Supervisor at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review, January 15, 2008
We are aware of the option for internet services. However internet is not a free option in Australia. The cost of the installation and running costs do not allow for free usage.

To provide an option for people who do not use the internet, we allow people to choose an internet connection room or a non internet connection room. This means that everyone is not paying for the cost of providing the service, just the people who require it. If you require the service the cost is $5.00 per night extra on the room rate.

The down load charge of $0.50 per megabyte is designed so that people who want to check email and do limited surfing, only pay for what they use. They can be online all day but only pay for the down loads.

Hotels can charge up to $28 per day to connect to a fast service, just to receive your email. Where with us you can receive your email and only pay $0.50.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I phoned directly to make my reservation and found the receptionist (Jenny) friendly and helpful. This phone conversation was the deciding factor to try the Darling Towers on Collins! Being in the Motel industry I find myself very critical of other accommodation providers. I could not fault my room or the service I received. My room was very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The balcony did not have a great view but it was great to be able to sit outside. I was very happy with my accommodation and have already booked for November. But this time I will be more prepared for the unusual reception area...........on the 8th floor in a room that looked like a staff kitchen. Perhaps they are renovating? Beverley

  • Liked — Balcony and clean and comfortable accommodation
  • Disliked — Checking in at the unusual reception area.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aramac6166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Upon arrival I was upgraded to a two bedroom suite! This place has the best location right in the heart of the city. Tram right outside, quick walk to southbank and flinders station.

Having a full size kitchen was great with coles just around the corner we had breaky in the apartment but you could easily cook your own meals if you wanted (why would you, you're in melbourne for goodness sake!).

Cannot fault this place whatsoever, cheap, clean, new and location location location.

  • Liked — cost and location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarlingTowers, Reception Supervisor at BreakFree on Collins, responded to this review, September 19, 2007
We appreciate your comments in regards to your recent stay with us at Darling Towers on Collins. I am always excited to hear the thoughts and experiences of our guests. I hope that we will see you again on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

We were there from 7th to 17th of June this month. On our checking-in day, we were automatically upgraded to the superior apartment and we were very surprised how well equipped it was! It had a dishwasher, oven, gas stove, even a washing machine, central heating etc! We even had a nice balcony (with a small table & chairs) that overlooked Collins Street!

Location wise it was the best! The tram-stop was right at our door-step, supermarket & shopping district were just around the corner. Very very convenient indeed. The area outside the apartment building was pretty safe too and coming back late in the night was not a problem. As it is also directly opposite Novotel Hotel, hailing a taxi anytime of the day was not a problem at all!

We had a very enjoyable 10-days' stay in Melbourne city! Cheers!

  • Liked — The apartment was very well equipped and location was very very good!
  • Disliked — The lifts - need to change lifts to get to your floor
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leezardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,143 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Property: BreakFree on Collins
Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay a lot more, but these self-contained apartments are an absolute steal. BreakFree on Collins Apartments (formerly Darling Towers) are fully equipped with absolutely everything you need from a dishwasher to stove and oven to broadband internet access. The reverse cycle air-conditioning keeps you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern, stylish and comfortable. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram right on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and famous department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch one of many exciting games at Docklands Stadium. You won't want to miss the Melbourne Cup and the rest of the Spring Racing Carnival or perhaps you just want to head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places of interest. Choose from One or Two Bedroom Apartments and Deluxe Apartments or take in the views across the city and go right to the top in a BreakFree on Collins Apartment with Balcony. No matter what your budget or how many of you are travelling, we have an apartment to suit. You'll have 24 hour access to reception, tour desk, secure parking nearby and everything in the usual BreakFree friendly style. Your room includes broadband internet access, fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, hairdryer, all amenities as well as tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing