We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location in the heart of Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #113 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at Darling Towers from the 23rd - 27th Sept 2012 with my Daughter and her two teenage Daughters. The two bedroom apartment was clean and comfortable, we had a nice view of part of the city from the balcony. The bedrooms were partitioned off with opaque glass sliding doors,but that was ok. only a two seater lounge in the family room for watching tv and we had to catch two lifts, one to 10th floor the next to 12th floor. The beds were very firm but we didn't mind that. The staff were very nice and there is a Tram Stop right outside the door. We would stay there again but would like to see Wi-Fi available and instructions on fire evacuation plan. We loved Melbourne, the shopping, food, and transport were very good and we felt safe walking the streets at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,540 - 1,546 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed five nights here during the September School holidays, the two bedroom apartment was very basic but good for the price and seeming you don't spend much time in your room it was perfect. The location was in the heart of Melbourne City and we couldn't have asked for a better spot to stay. When we arrived we were upgraded to one of the higher floors & better rooms and the only drawback is you have to go in two different elevators to get to the room. The rooms were clean, no free wifi, but air-conditioned, staff were lovely and helpful. This is a great place to stay if you want excellent location at minimal cost but the rooms as I said are pretty basic. We would stay here again. :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a nicer city view as we had a view of a concrete wall!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentFlyer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I don't think this complex really deserves a 4 star rating. The location is the main attraction and the price is very reasonable and we did get an upgrade to a 1 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor. The room looked recently renovated and was clean . The apartment was cleaned on the 4th day but for some reason the cleaning staff left clean towels but did not remove the used ones.Overall, if you can get a good rate then stay here but i will try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upgrade.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimbaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Position position position , FANTASTIC Position in CBD , but that is where it ends .
On entry the first thing you notice is the lack of cleaning of the passageway carpets and walls.
On reaching our 2 bedroom unit , we notice that the door looked as though it had been broken into at some stage and rough repairs had been carried out .
On entering we where confronted with shabby worn , dirty stained carpets , kitchen timber floor uncleaned and very worn . Kitchen showed signs of not being cleaned possibly between guests .
Bathroom very tired with a large crack in the toilet bowl being repaired with a wipe of silicone sealer .
Balcony sliding door latch also having being damaged by possibly another break in and rendered unable to being locked or even latched .
DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND PAY A LITTLE EXTRA AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel, and having had no problems last time, I was more than happy to stay there again. I'm glad to report that both elevators are now operational and so there was no extended wait :)

We had 2 rooms booked, 2 people in each, both we're booked as 1brm apartments with a roll away in one of them. We were kindly upgraded to 2bdr apartments which gave just that little extra space which was appreciated.

It's important to remember when booking with this property that they are serviced apartments, not a hotel/resort. As such, the facilities are commensurate with that. The rooms were clean, there was everything provided that we both needed and expected.

I'd happily stay here a 3rd (and subsequent) time with no qualms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FishInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the towers for 2 nights during Melbourne cup. We shared a 2 bedroom apartment between 4 adults comfortably. Price was exceptional ($335 for 2 nights total, shared between 4 people). Location is brilliant, 5 minute walk to flinders street station, 15 minute walk to crown casino, 10 minute walk to Chinatown. Great restaurants and shops surrounding the area. Rooms are fairly modern but nothing over the top extravagant. Has its own kitchen and laundry which is a plus. Would stay here again based on the cleanliness, location and fantastic rates!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unique14u2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed here back in 2005 when were were upgraded from studio to two bedroom executive. I knew they were pretty good, so we gave it another go this time.
Check in nice and smooth. Happy chappy on the desk and we were done in 5 minutes flat.
3 adults from a Wednesday to Thursday in two bedroom executive Room 1108 on 11th floor.
Hubby and I in master and big bro in the single room. Now big bro is a big bloke and I was a bit worried how he would go on a single bed. But he said he had the best nights sleep in ages. and this continued for the 4 nights we were there. Little bit of noise from apartment above, but nothing to complain about.
Yes the units are a bit tired, but ours was spotlessly clean. Lick of paint and some new carpet would do the trick.
Plenty of room to move about, we never felt crowded at all.
This place is a stunner for location. Tram stop at door, next to major bank, 3 choc shops with slobbering distance and so many incredible laneways, shops, eateries. aaaaaargh to be back there now.
Will be back again next year...and will be back to Darling Towers on Collins in a flash. For the price u pay and the location its in - no complaints from me.

Room Tip: The executives are really good value with that bit of extra space and no street noise. Its the loca...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hippeeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
811 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#107 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#133 of 160 in Melbourne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $92 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing