We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #113 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Four of us stayed here over the weekend in June. We arrived early but were allowed to leave our luggage at reception and come back once the room was ready.

We were on a high floor but the last room which was on the side of the building with a courtyard below. The noise from the people in the courtyard was so loud! All night, every night. If you are a light sleeper like myself then you will not get any sleep at all.

It was a two bedroom apartment with full kitchen. Although the living space was small, we were there to explore the city so it didn't matter. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was nice.

Very close to Flinders Street train station and a nice stroll to the casino.

If I was to stay there again, would definately not be in the same room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the side of the building.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,754)
There are newer reviews for BreakFree on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 nights in August. We had room 701, situated on Collins Street side. I'm a light sleeper but because the bedrooms are away from the street I had a great sleep each night. We could hear street noise in the lounge/kitchen area. I would ask for this room again.
Although the rooms aren't new they were clean & half the price of new apartment hotels. Location is fantastic as we come to Melbourne to shop, go to AFL games, horse races & the Casino. All accessible by foot or trams only meters away.
Staff were all helpful & friendly.
I would recommend this hotel to family & friends who aren't snobs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Easy access from the airport by taxi or only one block from Flinders St Station.
A few buildings away from busy Swanston St with the trams.
Plenty of food outlets day and night. Harder to find before 9am on weekend mornings.
Safe location in walking distance of several major iconic attractions.
Large bedroom, older style bathroom, small sitting/TV room, new & modern kitchen with EVERYTHING you could need plus washing, drying and ironing facilities.
Not too many channels on TV.
Air conditioning.
Room safe.
Very clean.
Management located in the rear but friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want a view of the clock tower and Collins St.
Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank GabBaz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel was at a convenient location, easy to walk to shops and restaurants. Great service. We arrived 2 or 3 hours earlier, they weren't ready for us but we were allowed to leave our luggage in a separate room so we could go around the city without having to carry the luggage with us. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with full kitchen facilities. We had a really tiny balcony, didn't get much view, but we didnt mind that much. The place was really neat and tidy. The place was really cheap and us, students could afford it. If i go back to Melbourne, i would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

very average for the price we paid per night - accommodation more like 2 1/2 stars not 4 as mentioned - no plugs anywhere in the apartment makes it very hard to bath a child or wash a few dishes! stains all over carpet & up curtains, place very noisy & bit suss, didnt feel that safe really with my family - no way of calling reception as phone in room not connected! was glad to leave after two nights - good location was the best part

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

All points here for location. This is Central with a Capital C. All the shows and theatres are just outside the door, along with shopping galore.
The Reception is up on some obscure floor in an airless, dowdy office style space that looks like it's straight out of the early 1980s. The Reception staff were ridiculously cold and serious, and the security man does not return or acknowledge well-intended smiles. We actually felt that we were presenting our ID to gaol wardens, and could possibly be frisked at any moment. It was bad! Maybe they do see some rough trade up there, but I don't think weekend tourists should all be tarred with the same brush. Speaking of brushes, the hallways are filthy and desperately need a new coat of paint.
The apartment itself was dowdy and basic - It's a crash pad - That's all it is. The bed was clean, but the pillows were so thin and useless, I developed a neck ache by half way through the night. It's a bit noisy too, but that's absolutely understandable. This is a one night only place where you should spend as little time as possible. Check-out was a crazy joke - They had only one elevator going, and it really seemed like everyone in the building was trying to squeeze in and out of the place at the same time, and as we had to go up the elevator to check-out and then down again to get out, with all our luggage on us, as did everyone else, it was like a cattle yard. I do not believe I'll ever stay here again, though maybe if I was under 30 none of this would matter. The location is simply superb for entertainment purposes. And as there are a lot of colourful guests that you have no choice rubbing up against in every hallway, it's a bit of a hoot overall. Bring a big sense of humour with you if you stay here, and you'll be fine. You're there for a good time, not a long time.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a good room in this joint!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissDebonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The hotel was in a fantastic location, on Collins Street, in the heart of Melbourne. This made it increadibly easy to walk to the shops and restaurants close by,

Some things were a little dated and the reception area needs a refurb but the room was spacious and clean and had everything you would need, inculding a kitchen.

The room however faced to an alley way and on Monday morning at 7am there were loud crashes with tradies throwing things and making extremely loud noises. Luckily we were up early anyway, however a sleep in would not be on the cards!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
812 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#134 of 160 in Melbourne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $93 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing