We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 1/2 star property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BreakFree on Collins
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at Darling Towers on Collins for a few days in March 2012 with my mother, a girls shopping trip.

We have stayed at the property a number of times before, the location is just fantastic. Trams are within close walking distance to get to all the major shopping districts around the city and inner suburbs, and the Flinders St train station is also close by.

The apartments are showing some signs of wear and tear since we first started staying here, but having said that, the prices are also incredibly cheap. When you're paying less than $100 a night for a one bedroom apartment in the heart of the city, you really can't complain.

We stayed in apartment 611, which was clean and comfortable (apart from the bed, which was hard as a rock!) The air conditioning worked well, the kitchen was well stocked with crockery and cooking appliances/utensils, and everything in the bathroom was up to scratch.

On the downside, one of the elevators was out of order throughout our stay, so the wait to get up and down to the apartment was sometimes a little annoying. I would also like to know the property's policy on offering upgrades? The couple checking in ahead of us (who I assume were husband and wife) were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, but we weren't upgraded - wouldn't a 2 bedroom place be of more benefit to a mother/daughter combo?

On the whole, this place is still worth a visit - it's cheap and cheerful and in a fabulous location, and we will probably return again for our next shopping expedition.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bazngiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for the last 3 nights during a small heatwave in Melbourne. the aircon in our room didn't work at all and when we advised reception they said they knew, and it wouldn't be getting fix anytime soon. This was not told to us at check in, or mentioned during booking! They then offered us 1 pedestal fan, which is ridiculous for a two bedroom apartment! We spent 3 nights sweating it out, it was terrible. This morning after another hot nights sleep I got up early to make an early flight. There was no hot water at all, so I was forced to take a completely cold shower, which after the hot night was somewhat refreshing but it was far from comfortable!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateOnHolsYay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at the Darling Towers on Collins in Feb 2012. There were a number of conflicting reviews so was not sure what to expect. The location is great you are close to everything. We had a queen and single apartment. The single was small but adequate. Queen size bedroom good size and good wardrobe facilities. Appreciated having a dishwasher and washer/dryer. Kitchen/living small but everything was there that we needed. Apartment was clean. Was a little noisy at times over the weekend (not from other apartments) but from street, but this is a city so I suppose expected. Price very reasonable and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I will keep this review short and sweet. This hotel or a better term for it would be "shack" "bungalo" was HORRIBLE... I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. The day i stayed there it was 34 degrees and the air con was not working. I didn't think paying $220 was justified at all. If i wanted to sleep/stay in a steam room, i would go to the gym... and thats not an exaggeration. The hallway smelt like the back streets of china town, seriously.

The only positive thing about this hotel is the prime location. Nothing else.

Dont make me start on the customer service..... one word "POOR"

P.s Pictures on website are decieving.....

Room Tip: Owner - 3 R's , Renovate, Restructure and Realise the standards we expect as customers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CriticKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews, but very glad I decided to book this place as it kept the budget down. I asked for a room without a balcony as I'm not a fan of heights and we got a 2 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor (Swanson Street side of the hotel).

All the things you want are there - quality linen and towels, comfy beds, great working air conditioning, plenty of hot water, full kitchen/tv/lounge and our room was very quiet so we got a good rest. It was perfect location, we could easily walk to the MCG each day and bourke st mall and china town are just around the corner. So is flinders st station and we also walked to the crown casino. If you want to go further to the museum, markets or docklands for shopping - just take the free tram, easy and handy.

I don't recommend this hotel if you are traveling with small children because of the maintenance issues could be dangerous for those littlies who like to explore and touch things. In our bedroom there was a small corner of the carpet which exposed sharp rusty nails, most power-points were falling out of the walls, the hot and cold handles were on the wrong taps on the basin and the bathroom floor had clumps of hair on it (not ours). Other than the hair on the floor, these weren't major issues for our group, so I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atsbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in early November and overall was an average stay. Our first impression wasn't too good, the receiption staff member was very unfriendly, there was only one lift in use (due to repairs) which was not worked on the whole 5 days we we're staying there.

The room was nice and clean, opening the back door was a view of dumpsters and other buildings, which was often quite noisy, our key got stuck in the door almost everyday, we we're without hot water for half of a day. However the staff we're really helpful (not the same staff member when we first arrived)

The location is great, great little cafes around, right outside a tram spot and close to Flinders Street.

I would recomend this place to people who are on a budget, dont expect anything to fancy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

It is 40 degree today in Mel and this stupid hotel provide NO AIR CONDITION!
All facility is old and it is definitely not a 4 star apartment in my opinion. Living room is small, mattress is bad and it cause my back pain. Not enough water pressure when showering. For $100 per night stay is just not worth it!
Staff is not helpful at all because everything has go through so called management and nothing is happening but only wait.
The reception is in a very small room and 1 lift is always broken and I will never ever coming here again!
No swimming pool and no spa.

Room Tip: $ = room standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 162 in Melbourne
847 reviews
Central Business District
Flinders Landing Apartments
Flinders Landing Apartments
#108 of 162 in Melbourne
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,188 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BreakFree on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree on Collins

Address: 233 Collins St | Level 6, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $93 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree on Collins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're staying in the heart of Collins Street you'd expect to pay more, but these self-contained apartments are a steal, fully equipped with everything you need from a dishwasher, stove and oven, broadband internet access and reverse cycle air-conditioning keeping you comfortable no matter what the Melbourne weather is dishing out. BreakFree on Collins features One or Two Bedroom Apartments that are modern and stylish. You'll love the location with free CBD City Circle tram on your doorstep, designer outlets, heritage buildings and department stores nearby. Go all hip in the intriguing little lanes that Melbourne is famous for or catch a bit of culture at the many art centres and museums. Of course there's sport, the Rod Laver Arena hosts the Australian Open, the AFL Grand Final is held at the MCG or you can catch a game at Docklands Stadium, then head on over to Fitzroy and Acland Streets St Kilda to get amongst the funky and colourful mix of restaurants, people and places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your BreakFree on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing