We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on Little Bourke
Ranked #30 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed four nights at the Mantra on Little Bourke. Great location - close to plenty of shopping and restaurants. Good sized rooms and comfortable beds. Expensive wi-fi. Would be happy to stay there again - good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    626
    159
    42
    19
See reviews for
343
394
65
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I would have stayed at The Adelphi Hotel as it is my favorite, but it was all booked up. I went with Mantra on Little Bourke for it's location. The staff at the reception were always smiling and being helpful, the rooms are REALLY BIG, not what I expected.. It's like having your own little apartment, you have big bathroom with tub and shower, you have a kitchen with everything you need to eat in, a dining room, a living room, and then a separate bed with the closet in it's own quarters with TV. I specially liked the location as it was walking distance to everywhere I needed to go, I also enjoyed their downstairs restaurant, good food and good value. Also if you walk a bit to the left you'll find movida and other great restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

2 out of 2 times we've stayed here whole building fire alarms have gone off in the middle of the night only to be false alarms. Don't know if that's a regular occurrence or just unlucky for us. Otherwise decent location and close to the CBD. Parking and breakfast good also.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Was very pleased with the Mantra with the exception of some heating and cooling issues in the room. The temperate controls seemed to do nothing. Too cold for the first couple days so I contacted the front desk. Took a day to get it sorted but then it became too warm. Not unbearable but not always comfortable. The staff was great and the location was perfect with easy access to the office downtown and local transport. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is in a good location with easy access to central Melbourne City. In walking distance to shopping, restaurants and casino.
Room décor is a little tired, but are well equipped with kitchenette, comfortable beds etc...Also a generous size floor area which makes it liveable if you are staying long term.
Service was quite good apart from the restaurant when a busy morning at breakfast, a bit slow.
Food is quite good at dinner, but there are too many quality cafes & restaurants in Melbourne to stay in. Melbourne's price point for dining out leaves Sydney for dead!
They don't cater as a buffet which I prefer. So if you need to be somewhere allow extra time.
The staff and valet service overall is good, so nothing to really complain about here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LillyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were cheerful, friendly and polite in the extreme. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. However, the lighting was poor and badly dispersed- for example the bedroom was well lit whereas the living area was very dim. The kitchenette was very bright whereas the living area where we spent most of our time and where we wanted to read our books was very dim. The televisions were not working on pay TV. We had to get assistance which helped with the living area TV but the bedroom one was available to us in spite of a second remote control being provided.
Finally, the shower alcove had plenty of black mouldy sections in the grout.
Our stay was affected by the first two issues but we were disappointed with the standard of the shower alcove. We are seasoned international travellers and have come to expect a slightly higher standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Just spent 4 nights here in a 2 bedroom adjoining apartment. Very comfortable beds, great breakfast and heaps of room. The reception staff didn't have great local knowledge, (thank goodness for smart phones and Google!) but we managed. Also, the restaurant staff, although very pleasant and eager to help kept getting our breakfast drinks orders wrong. It wasn't a biggy but probably eats into the hotels profits a bit!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WifeyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Property: Mantra on Little Bourke
Address: 471 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD it allows guests quick, easy access to premium local attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a host of cultural experiences including the Melbourne Art gallery, Melbourne Museum and the landmark Federation Square. Offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from studio suites to two bedroom apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Please note Mantra on Little Bourke has limited suites available with washing machines & dryers. Requests can be made at time of reservation, but cannot be guaranteed. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance, valet service, undercover parking and more. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in Mantra on Little Bourke and offers exceptional food and service. Open seven days for breakfast and dinner and for lunch Monday to Friday. Corporate travellers will find Mantra on Little Bourke a comfortable and convenient base from which to conduct business. Universally famous for multicultural dining, vibrant night-life, boutique shopping and a thriving art culture, Melbourne is a popular destination, appealing to both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing