We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Little Bourke
Ranked #24 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at the Mantra. First room we checked into smelled like urine. When we complained they told us they could put in an airfreshener. The couch had a huge stain (from what I am not sure). The front desk then moved our room. We were on the 4th floor in a room tucked away next to the Plant Room, Communication Room, Laundry Room. There was a constant buzz that made it feel like you were staying on another planet. The shower had mold, towels were not replaced, the curtains were old and musty, beds were lumpy and not comfortable. Their was only one working elevator during our stay and the hallway on the 4th floor had huge stains down the hallway.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre W, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Kristen B,
Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction with the cleanliness of the rooms. This is certainly not up to our normal high standards, and I can assure you that steps have been taken to rectify these issues.
In regards to the corridor carpets, we are pleased to advise we are in the process of re-carpeting all of the hotels corridors, with our top floors having been already completed and more scheduled over the coming months. Our elevators are also gradually being replaced and I understand that one of the four has been taken out of service for that reason.
Kristen B, I apologise that your stay did not meet expectations and if you would like to discuss your stay with me further please contact me at anytime.
Warm Regards,
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,921 - 1,927 of 2,235 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just had a one night stay in Room 115. If you like enclosed spaces, but not small spaces, this room is for you. Check-in was seamless, having booked via Wotif. I had stayed for about ten days at this hotel a few years ago but had not experienced Room 115. It's on the first floor, with neighbouring rooms being service rooms for the hotel. There are no other accommodation rooms nearby so you don't have to worry about noisy neighbours. The room features and fittings are quite satisfactory however the room itself looks like an add-on. There are three windows, two from the large bathroom overlook a side lane, and one, from some sort of elevated, but inaccessible "mezzanine" area, overlooks who knows what. It is an interesting room. Unfortunately the AC was noisy with no obvious on/off control. Other rooms at this hotel have been very good and I would stay again, owing to its proximity to a client, but I would probably like a room with a bit of natural light

Room Tip: try Room 115 for an experience, or not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a terrible stay at the Mantra when in Melbourne for a work trip. Unfortunately Melbourne had a week of 40 degree weather and the hotel aircon just did... not... work.

I had the worst sleep of my life on the first night of what was meant to be a 3 night stay. The hotel staff really tried their best to fix the situation, but the aircon couldn't be fixed in my 10th floor room. I slept about 2 hours that night, the rest was spent tossing and turning and sweating. Of course there are no windows to open to at least get some airflow.

We had to move property the following day as another night of that was unimaginable. Like I mentioned, the staff were fantastic but this was just out of their control. This property is in a good location and close to my work, but not sure if I would be willing to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haydensydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre W, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear haydensydney
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in January at Mantra on Little Bourke.
I was pleased to hear your comments regarding the service you received from our staff during what was a difficult time. I apologise for the lack of sleep you received and the air conditioning issues that were experienced during what was the hottest week in Melbourne in the last century.
I can assure you that our air conditioning is now running as per normal and hope that you will give us the opportunity to make amends for this unfortunate experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Little Bourke in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Mantra on Little Bourke, for three nights last weekend. I was initially quite concerned at many negative reviews I read on Tripadvisor about cleanliness and poor air conditioning. I wrote directly to the hotel voicing my concerns and received two phone calls from their Front Office, reassuring me about my worries. And the hotel delivered.

We used a Queen/Queen studio room, ample space for three adults, a nice sitting area with separate TV, kitchenette facilities include fridge, microwave, kettle, etc. Some of the furniture is a bit tired and stained, but the actual beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom too, was fine.
Very close to restaurants, shopping, in the CBD. Taxis outside the door or a call away.

I believe if you have a problem or concerns, give the hotel a chance to fix it, usually they will do their best to help. Much better than going there with worries and feeling you did not get a good deal. I realise not everyone can check ahead of time to see they have a good room, nor should one have to. But in our case, it worked well, I got the room and the cleanliness I wanted, no complaints at all.

Staff were helpful and polite at all times.

This was a HOT weekend in Melbourne, I asked for a fan to supplement the aircon, worked fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here in the first weekend in February 2014. Great location, great service. Only thing I didn't like about the room was the bed. It was rock hard, and 2 king-single beds pushed together, which on isn't uncommon, but usually I've found that there is a thick mattress protector or similar so it wasn't noticeable, no here though. My wife and I might as well has slept in separate beds. The room was large, with a full bathroom including bath, which my 21 month old daughter appreciated, good sized shower and vanity. The kitchenette was small, but functional, but missing an Oven, and the fridge was a normal Hotel minibar one. The room was quiet, no external noise at all. We used the Valet service, and it was always prompt. The staff were helpful and professional, although checking out was a bit of a pain due to the lack of staff and the 10am rush.

Overall, it was great hotel, good location, and a good price. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5tumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My partner and I were pretty happy with pretty much everything here except the pricing- very overpriced. Also, the dining table in our room was broken, and there were some pretty bad stains on our doona (looked like blood).

The staff were all very accommodating and friendly, the room was very spacious and clean, and the spa bath we had in our room was awesome.

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in my time, and found this to be very average for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noosag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Amazing hotel. Great location in the Melbourne CBD, walking distance to the centre of the city, shopping and china town. The room was massive, with great features and was clean. Good service including holding our bags after checkout.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
832 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Address: 471 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#42 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#72 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $127 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from studios to two bedroom apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Please note Mantra on Little Bourke has limited suites available with washing machines & dryers. Requests can be made at time of reservation, but cannot be guaranteed. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in Mantra on Little Bourke and offers exceptional food and service. Valet parking service is offered for AUD$34 per night (in/out privileges). Please park your vehicle directly at the front of the hotel and proceed to reception to organise. Reservations are not required for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing