We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Rooms and Location, very average service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra on Little Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra on Little Bourke
Ranked #38 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Rooms and Location, very average service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked several family suite rooms travelling as a group of 7. Theses rooms are amazingly spacious and very well appointed perfect for sharing with friends. The location of this hotel is very central and walking distance to most things. The staff however are less then friendly and not helpful. We were chastised for asking for additional bedding even though this was allowed for and charged for on booking. We asked for advise on weather and received turse unhelpful replies. In asking for assistance with booking taxis and shuttles we were made to feel a nuisance and some room service we ordered didn't arrive and we were told they 'forgot our order' that said we all agreed that this poor service was consistent with our interactions outside the hotel was disappointing as Melb used to get this right.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babysass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    507
    147
    38
    18
See reviews for
261
274
49
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Once again I had a week long stay in Melbourne for work and again we chose Mantra on Little Bourke. They have great conference facilities and the staff is always friendly and helpful. It is great to have an appartment so that you can choose to cook if you wish. Having a laundry available is also a bonus. I just love their lemongrass toiletries, they smell delish. Thanks again and we will see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nttravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in an excellent location near the legal district. Great service and my room was spotless. Little things like decent toiletries which you expect at this price, but always good to have expectations met. Great little kitchenette and I found the room and bathroom a good size. Comfy bed, my room was quiet, all that.

Generally, all expectations from a hotel met for me, and if I needed accommodation in Melbourne again I would return.

Only thing I really didn't like was the lack of a guest book. Inconvenient when you want to know more about the area, room service times, things about the tv, etc. This is a pretty basic expectation in a hotel that I would hope is addressed ASAP.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel following an early flight from NZ and were fortunate enough to be able to check in ahead of the normal 2pm time. The deluxe room that we were given was very spacious, the bedroom had a selection of different types of pillow and our room looked out on to a lane off Little Bourke Street which itself was very quiet. The room itself was very clean and serviced daily and had a mini-bar and small kitchen. There was a flat screen TV in the main room as well as another in the bedroom. The wireless connection/ethernet was good and cost $15 for 2 hours. A selection of tea and coffee was provided. In the lobby there is a restaurant and bar together with room service.

We would stay again although the lack of a swimming pool is a minor drawback, however there is a gym. Late check-out was made available to us at no extra cost. We did think the hallway carpet needed some attention with a vacuum cleaner and the lifts needed a clean and the lift doors were quite clunky. The hotel is only one block away from the Bourke Street Mall and although there is an uphill trek back to the hotel, the incline is not that arduous. Outside the Mantra, there is an amazing section of restaurants and cafés in nearby Queen St and Hardware Lane and also next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Street is very quiet but try to get one overlooking the lane just before you arrive at the hotel fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherglen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this very comfortable, well equiped and in an excellent location for a 4 night break. The staff were friendly and helpfull. I would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for escellent value and great location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a great two night stay here. The apartment was very spacious and clean. It was great having a kitchen and although we only used it for making breakfast, if we had stayed more nights we could easily have cooked dinners in it as well. We slept really well there as although it is very close to everything, the location is quiet and the room had dark curtains which didn't let in any light. There was a decent sized desk and dining table in the living room, and TVs in both the bedroom and living room. We got a very good deal in a sale and i would definitley recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJM193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Was in town on business for a couple of days and decided to stay at Mantra on Little Bourke Street. The hotel is in a great location close to some great restaurants and bars, a short walk to Bourke Street Mall and a short walk to the trams to take you down to the convention centre or wherever you need to go.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#86 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#33 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Property: Mantra on Little Bourke
Address: 471 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#71 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD it allows guests quick, easy access to premium local attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a host of cultural experiences including the Melbourne Art gallery, Melbourne Museum and the landmark Federation Square. Offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from studio suites to two bedroom apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Please note Mantra on Little Bourke has limited suites available with washing machines & dryers. Requests can be made at time of reservation, but cannot be guaranteed. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance, valet service, undercover parking and more. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in Mantra on Little Bourke and offers exceptional food and service. Open seven days for breakfast and dinner and for lunch Monday to Friday. Corporate travellers will find Mantra on Little Bourke a comfortable and convenient base from which to conduct business. Universally famous for multicultural dining, vibrant night-life, boutique shopping and a thriving art culture, Melbourne is a popular destination, appealing to both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing