We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Never Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Ranked #78 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We recently stayed at the Sebel Park Melbourne, in room 7501. We were very disappointed with our stay. We are not usually people who complain, however we were put in a room RIGHT next door to the elevators. In a normal hotel this would not have been an issue, however the elevators (which continue to run 24 hours) were extremely noisy.

Both my partner and I got less than an hour or two of sleep, as we would just drift off, and the LOUD SCRAPING elevator would continue to wake us up. I could not imagine one person who would stay in this room, and be satisfied with this service.
We also found the staff to be less than friendly, and also they did not give us information on checkout, breakfast or any other hotel services.

I had to ask where we should park the car, and the male told me a car park up the road which when we actually got there at 11.30pm was actually closed, meaning we had to park the block behind the hotel in a loading zone, and walk to the hotel with all our bags at 11.30pm.

Not the service I would expect from such a reputable hotel.
We would never return to the Sebel Albert and would not reccommend ny of our friends of family stay there.

Very Disappointed, and not what anyone would expect from a 4.5 star motel.... save your money and stay somewhere else.

Alicia & Matt

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missleesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2008

My other half and I decided to stay at the Citigate on Albert Park to be closer to an important event. We expected to be able to sleep later and be more refreshed for the challenging event. Special Parking arrangements that had been requested over the net were honoured upon our arrival. The restaurant and room service were very convenient and saved us from having to venture out after a long day. The bed was so comfortable we actually purchased a new mattress for home.
Unfortunately the "echo chamber" layout of the hotel amplifies any noise in the hotel....the large plasma TV in the foyer was turned on at 6 am sharp and I could almost count how many cups of coffee were placed on their saucers as they were being served! Throughout the night we heard people in the foyer chatting. The strange eerie noise in our room turned out to be the airconditioner (we turned that off). I had been told about the refurbishment - but that doesn't seem to include the bathrooms which struck me as shabby.
Convenient location but not at all restfull.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We stayed four nights at the Sebel Albert Park (also known to many as Citigate--reflecting an adjacent property which has been merged and connected.) Our choice was guided by a conference held on site. Having read earlier reviews, I confess I did not expect much, but in fact found the staff to be extraordinarily friendly and responsive, and our room--one on the 'elite' floor lookng over Albert Park--to be absolutely great. Comfortable bed, furniture, good bathroom, some space in the minibar for our own purchases. The broadband connection was on a daily charge which seemed a bit dear, but functioned well for me while we were there. Breakfast is not included in the rates and my sense was that the big advantage in dining in was that it was a fair walk to other options--but never really explored those.

The location is away from the centre of the city, but a walk one block east puts you at the St. Kilda Road where maybe 6 different tramlines will take you to Swanston Street in the City. (tip--the less expensive prepurchased tickets are sold only before boarding and I never found a vendor in the vicinity of the hotek--bought a set of tickets at the Metlink office on the ground floor of the Melbourne Town Hall on Swanston Street.)

The restaurant has been temporarily relocated into part of the lobby--adjacent to the bar. We had one very nice dinner there with good wine and fairly good service. When the new restaurant is completed, life will be smoother at Sebel Albert Park! Also, because of the renovation, the shortest access to the hotel from the tram line was through the Waldorf Ball Room Entry Lobby, but once inside one had to go up into the Ball Room area and walk through to the First Floor of the main hotel, then go back down to the Ground floor. The hotel staff--clearly not wanting that traffic pattern directed folks out to walk down Queens Road and around the corner--not so nice on a "beautiful" Melbourne winter day!

All in all, we had a very satisfactory stay here and I think that it would be a better option once renovations are completed. I did not see any of the remodeled Citygate rooms, but heard no complaints from other conference attendees.

For what it's worth, the hotel did an amazing job in catering the conference banquet--grilled salmon to perhaps 400 people in a timely fashion and the fish was still hot and moist!!

Tip: For picking up on shopping--including light food, snacks etc., I'd suggest taking the tram down to St. Kilda Beach and exploring Acland St. It's a nice neighborhood with some nice dining options. And there is the great traditional amusement park there--more of a summertime attraction, of course.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shri420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Booked the stay at 16.00 on wotif as a secret hotel and arrived an hour later-the choice to stay somewhere was spontaneous and was a great decision.
The room was pretty standard but the bathroom was huge!
After arriving late we decided to stay in and ordered a seafood platter to the room-it was huge and way too much for the 2 of us and all for $70. It really was the best seafood platter we've had surprisingly.
The only complaint was that when we called for room service to find out what dessert they had available we were told they would call us back in 10mins (?) when no one called back I called again 20mins later and they said they would call us back again as they were too busy. When they called back 20mins after that they said they had nothing as all the staff had gone home sick, but they "found" half a lemon slice. No thanks!

Didn't go downstairs for breakfast so can't comment.
The staff were friendly at reception.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

After its recent facelift and rooms refurbishment, the Citigate wing is touted as the 3.5 star brand from Mirvac. Previously a hideous motel wing, the new version is totally revamped, fresh and definitely very white with neat black carpet and matching bland modern furnishings.

Whilst the rooms are fair sized and bathrooms neat (not totally refurbished), one stands the risk of road noise with Queens Road's multi-laned traffic ripping past all day and night for the rooms overlooking Albert Park lake. Ironic, isn't it?

It definitely caters to business travellers and there were heaps of overseas tourists on bus tours staying during my visit. Apologies were proffered regarding the main restaurant renovation, but the breakfast service in the foyer was extremely average. For $26 for full breakfast, the food was uninspired but at least it was warm.

The restaurant had busloads of tourists in a hurry, businessmen trying to get to appointments and insufficient wait staff. Eight blokes were standing around tragically empty urns of hot water/coffee at 0715, looking quizzically at wait staff who were all trying to pretend it wasn't their problem, which was made more amusing by the suggestion from a staff member that it might be quicker to buy a proper espresso from the adjacent foyer bar. I did, but $4 buys better coffees elsewhere.

If you score a good tariff, these rooms are more than adequate; the staff are friendly, the concierge are helpful and the hotel's odd location convenient, if you work around there. Taxis were no problems - they hang around the front most of the time. It is neither St Kilda nor CBD, so if you're an independent tourist, not the most convenient. For those hoping for a touch of luxury and peace and that authentic "Melbourne" experience, you're browsing through the wrong reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Rooms noisy, unclean and a comedy of errors when asked to correct these things.

They know there is a noise problem in rooms adjoining function areas - partitions moved in the middle of the night - and actually have earplugs to counteract this. Perhaps they would do best to stock these in affected rooms rather than waiting for a flood of angry phone calls to the duty manager..

Aircon varies wildly between floors and is not (despite a thermostat in your room) adjustable.

One of our party resorted to turning off the bar frdge, which was unusually loud in most rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usuallynotgrumpy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Stayed the weekend for a mentoring conference in the same Hotel. Avoid the restuarant, overpriced, bad service, food average, a big group of us ate mainly at the rosco's@chevron just a short walk 14/519 st kilda road, which was absolutely fantastic.

I don't stay at hotels much, so is it me or do they try and charge you for everything? Broadband was exorbitant, even dialup using the phone line was a rip. I was real careful to ask first before i did anything just in case i was charged.

Always check your bill at the end too, they tried to charge me for a breakfast that I never had !

Overall pretty crap, I will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank disappointed-Sebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#109 of 161 in Melbourne
670 reviews
Royce Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 161 in Melbourne
1,904 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,176 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Address: 65 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Sebel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $133 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Melbourne Albert Park 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 379 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Sebel And Citigate Albert Park Melbourne
Sebel Albert Park Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing