We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Xmas activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Ranked #73 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great location for Xmas activities”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just spent 5 days leading up to Xmas at the Sebel.Found the staff great,the location ideal and the family room great value for money in this clean hotel.The pool/gym and restraunt facilities made it a great family stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimbo350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    505
    214
    82
    65
See reviews for
191
451
80
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bettystown, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from our stay at this hotel. We had booked for 3 nights and ended up extending our stay to include New Years Eve. We enjoyed it from start to finish. The staff could not do enough for you and were friendly, polite and helpful. The hotel was clean and modern. The breakfasts were fabulous and the views from the lakeside rooms magic. We spent New Years Eve in our room watching the fireworks over Melbourne. Beautiful. We would not hesitate to book this hotel again. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Room Tip: Lakeside room on floor 9. We had room 9611. Lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tired of drab motels which promise value? Our stay the at the Sebel & Citigate was fantastic. Easy parking, great location. We were extremely impressed when we walked in the main entrance. All the staff were lovely (especially the young lady at the bar). We were further impressed by the spacious room. We booked a standard room & was really pleased that there was room to move and it was more like a room than a shoebox with a bed.
The pool/spa/gym area was well set out and there were quite a few family's enjoying the area.
The staff explained to us that the restaurant was being renovated, so we were seated in a different area but treated like restaurant patrons. We look forward to coming back to see the restaurant when it opens. Oh! and who'd have thought - we booked boxing day for the following day & got a great last minute deal :-). Thanks Sebel & Citigate - we'll be recommending you to family, friends & colleagues & visiting again soon.

Room Tip: If you needing economical, the standard rooms are great :-). Bet the higher priced rooms are lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel; you will have to try our seafood buffet next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Every member if staff we encountered from our stay went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Especially the check in staff and restaurant staff who were exceptionally helpful with my gluten free dietary needs.
We had booked an executive 9th floor room after reading other reviews and the room view was stunning! Expansive views of Albert Park Lake and the Bay. We enjoyed watching the ships and yachts in the bay and the swans on the lake. The sunsets viewed from the room were stunning, surpassed only by the city lights view after dark.
The room furniture was dated, a little scratched and sparse, but quite serviceable. The bathroom , also in need of a update, had a bath spa and a comfortable separate shower. We enjoyed every moment of staying in this very large room with a king size bed. The small extra cost is worth every cent. Our favourite Melbourne hotel is the Sofitel, but this hotel equals them for service and at half the price, if don't mind a slightly dated look. Personally I think the trade off is well worth it.
Thank you Sebel Albert Park. We will be back.

Room Tip: Book an executive floor room, located on the 8th and 9th floors. Room 9607 is large with a stunning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and found the rooms modern and very clean with comfy beds and great room service. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, offering us a high chair for our room without us requesting it as they saw we were staying with a child. The room service menu was extensive and everything we had was tasty, especially the sebel burger! The buffet breakfast was pricey, but they offer a la carte versions so I recommend the scrambled eggs with toast, a huge serving! We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 5 the floor and had a beautiful view over Albert Park to the bay in the distance. The parkade was easily accessible from the hotel lifts and reasonable. All in all a great stay, and I'm a fussy traveller!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanetteBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Not only did I have a very bad experience in terms of customer service, but the incidence also makes me wonder how the Sebel treats their own employees... Find out more!

I stayed at this place for one night during an overnight business trip to Melbourne and unfortunately, forgot to pack my blouse, one of my favorites in my wardrobe. I wore it on the same night and then left it on the towel rack, which I unfortunately only noticed once at the airport. I thought a quick call to the hotel will do it, but that's when the nightmare started...

I was told that the relevant staff had already gone home for the day, but they would follow up tomorrow and ring me back. No sign the following day, so I rang back myself later in the day only to be told that the cleaning lady was off that day, but they would call me back tomorrow, and so on and so forth... Eventually, many days later, it turned out that my blouse got lost in the process.

I am faced with an astounding lack of customer attention & a great deal of sloppiness, but things got even worse worst. When I spoke to hotel the 10th time, I was eventually promised compensation. Well, I thought at last they are showing some form of attention and trying to make up for the loss. On that same day, I then got a text from the staff that I spoke to saying, he now would have to pay me out of his own pocket because management refuses to do so - is this a bad joke trying to discourage me to claim compensation or is this place actually a sweatshop that exploits its own employees?

Either way, I am totally disgusted by the hotel's behaviour and have strongly encouraged my company to take this place off the list.

Just getting the basics right is just not enough for a supposedly high-end place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
This guest has been contacted via private message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for a week and found the staff to be very obliging and friendly. My husband would usually stay here every second week as he had to commute from Brisbane so he was familiar with the hotel.
As we have moved interstate we had a lot of luggage and a roof box on top of a 4wd which they could park in the staff car park because of the height. We asked for a microwave to be put in our room which arrived within 5 mins of arrival.
The room was a great size and is in an L shape, there are two single beds a couch and chair the queen size bed is around the bend with a dressing room and good sized bathroom.
We were very comfortable but had issues with the air con which was set too low for us. I did ask for it to be changed which was done but it automatically dropped back down again the next day. There is extra blankets supplied but if you are living in the room I felt it was too cold.
There is a good sized pool and a basic gym in the same room so the chlorine fumes can be overpowering if you are working out. A few more fans would be good.
There is a plentiful supply of toiletries and a tea and coffee facility in the room. I would purchase a cappuccino from the cafe in the foyer which had a range of breakfast and lunch muffins and sandwiches too.
We had a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLoves2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#103 of 160 in Melbourne
640 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#79 of 160 in Melbourne
935 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#62 of 160 in Melbourne
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 160 in Melbourne
2,807 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Bayview On The Park
#142 of 160 in Melbourne
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Property: Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Address: 65 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Sebel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#47 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Melbourne Albert Park 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 379 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pullman Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Sebel And Citigate Albert Park Melbourne
Sebel Albert Park Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing