We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Ranked #77 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 13, 2011

After reading the many reviews on Tripadvisor we were a little reluctant to book this hotel. My partner and I had a great stay.
We booked a Sebel Room which was on a high floor and fab views of the lake and ocean, the room was generous in size and had every thing we expected of a 4.5 star hotel, whilst the room is not brand new it was clean and in good order.

We found the concierge on arrival very friendly and provided us with parking options and assisted us with our bags,we were impressed. The check in was quick and informative and we were sold the buffet breakfast at check in at a discount, we recommend taking this option as it saved us $10, and the breakfast buffet had everything you could imagine even an asian selection.

We chose to eat in the hotel on the Friday night in Windows restaurant at the Seafood Buffet, great quality fresh seafood and so many salads and hot dishes, we could not resist the dessert selection in particular the chocolate fountain and ice cream bar.....yum.

We would choose this hotel again, great location for us as we wanted to do some shopping in the city and we chose to take the tram which was located at the back of the hotel and concierge sold us the tram tickets and we could charge to our room plus we had made arrangements to meet friends for dinner at St Kildare and again took the tram that was a 5mins.

The staff were very friendly and efficient and we found the hotel to be good value for money, we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

Dear Lucyonthemove,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to note that all aspects of your stay met with your satisfaction and we will look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Guest reviews are very much appreciated as they assist us in reviewing and improving levels of guest service where ever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

Obliging staff, made me feel like a valued customer. Quiet room as requested.Lovely views and ideal position for going to St Kilda,Prahran or City. Would definately stay again.
Only issue was breakfast in room was only warm when it arrived.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George6181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Dear George 6181,

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor; we were delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and are addressing the comment you made concerning the temperature of your breakfast when it arrived in your room.

We apologise for any inconvience this may have caused, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you make to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel was sold to me as 4* and as my husband & I were spending 10nights we expected 4* accommodation (it was not cheap). On the advice of my travel agent I checked on internet to see pictures of hotel before deciding and it looked really nice (our room did not look like any rooms pictured). The entrance is very grand and we were allocated a room in one of the towers (on our voucher room was described as a Lakeview suite). Yes, it was roomy and clean with a view of the lake but very much in need of an upgrade. The bathroom was especially dowdy - it had a shower curtain on the bath which looked shabby, white tiles on b'room walls were chipped,grout was grubby, there was a piece of steel covering something on the wall? and there was 1 cream tile randomly placed in the middle of the white tiles. Not what you would expect in a 4* hotel. Also the airconditioning in our bedroom was extremely noisy (difficulty sleeping) - we did complain and someone did look at it but it was no better so we decided not to bother again. We travelled from the UK and stayed in 4 different hotels en route which were all 4*. The others were great but this hotel at best should be rated 2-3*. I will also draw all of the above to our travel agent who booked this hotel as 4*.On a positive note the location is perfect and the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancesCoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2011

Dear FrancesCoArmagh
Many thanks for your recent response posted to Trip Advisor concerning your stay at our hotel. Whilst we were delighted you found our staff helpful and polite and that the hotel location suited your requirements, it was a concern that you felt aspects of your guestroom accommodation could have been improved by way of the bathroom and air conditioning. These are being reviewed within any refurbishment plans to be undertaken and we hope that on your next visit, you will notice some marked improvements. We appreciated that you took the time to record your observations on Trip Advisor as guest observations are an exceelent benchmark to assist in improving our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I have tried to think for at least one thing positive to say about this place, but besides the location this hotel was a complete waste of my money!

It is beyond my understanding why this hotel is rated 3 or 4 star, this place deserves maximum 1 or 2 star as the hotel is a complete and utter mess in terms of service and product! Our room was dirty with scratched furniture and a funny smelling carpet, and when we asked to change the room the staff couldn’t care less to assist.

Their “Windows” restaurant is another disaster, unfortunately we only found out after we have joined their highly advertised seafood buffet – big mistake! The 60$ per person is a rip off as the seafood is not fresh, with a very limited selection available and the taste was very average. Nevertheless, we tried to make the best out of it and just went along. Not surprisingly we both fell ill the same night, with bad diarrhea and violent vomiting. Yet again, the management obviously couldn’t care less despite the fact that we have reported this incident twice, hoping we would just get an explanation!

My advice: avoid this place at any cost and go somewhere else, there are much nicer places for the same price or even cheaper!

This hotel is clearly lacking of a good manager or a general manager infact who

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2011

Dear Lavaria
Thank you for your Trip Advisor entry concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We were extremely disappointed to note your comments concerning our seafood buffet as it is such a popular weekly event here at the hotel and we only seem to receive great comments. We do apologise for any discomfort you experienced. Your comments relating to your room will be reviewed and discussed in order to attend to any shortcomings. It is vital that we are provided with constructive feedback and appreciated the time taken on your behalf to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We booked for one night at Citigate but room check-in was unsuccessful twice due to incorrect bedding and housekeeping information being shown on their computer. Subsequently we were upgraded to the Sebel which is on the same location and under the same management. Our Sebel room was large, comfortable and very quiet. Although it’s outside the Melbourne CBD there is an endless stream of trams passing along St Kilda Road giving access to the city in 10 minutes. We appreciated the excellent personalised service from Taylor who checked us in. We’d certainly be happy to stay at the Sebel on another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear dadndoc

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. We have reviewed your feedback with our reservations and front office team and our bedding configurations have been revised accordingly. Your great comments relating to one of our staff have been forwarded to Taylor's manager and acknowledged in our staff recognition programme. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Only had a short stay at the Sebel but was very happy with the cleanliness and upkeep of the property. The room size is good - enough to comfortable fit in a baby cot, bathrooms while a little small are fine. New flat screen TV and broadband that works fine. I did not try the F&B. Great value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadwarrior1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Dear Roadwarrior1109
Thank you for your excellent comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. They have been shared with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I got one of their Summer Specials, that is why I stayed there. Nice hotel and good room.

However just to advise that if you give your credit card details for a security deposit, they will take $100 from your bank account which then will take forever to get back. I asked for it to be put back into my bank account immediately which to date I still haven't received it. I don't mind giving them my details but am not happy having $100 charged on my card upfront. Consumer Affairs have advised it is at the discretion of the hotel to do this but they must refund your money immediately on request.

Kind of ruined for me what should have been a good experience.

There are other hotels which are local but don't do this. And they give free parking. The Sebel charged $27 per 24 hours to park at the hotel in the valet parking. You can use the other parking but it costs $16 at day. Which means if you have to go out you can pay a fortune. There are other hotels in the area which have free parking for guests.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kwillyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2011

Dear kwillyau

Thank for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Following your comments we are reviewing our internal processes with the banks to minimise the impact of the pre authorisation for anticipated expenses against the final amount charged. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#109 of 161 in Melbourne
695 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#40 of 161 in Melbourne
1,298 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
3,146 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 161 in Melbourne
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Address: 65 Queens Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Sebel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#31 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#70 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $142 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Melbourne Albert Park 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 379 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel And Citigate Albert Park Melbourne
The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Sebel Albert Park Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing