We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview On THe Park
Ranked #142 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's a dump”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We decided to stay here for a night as we had a Wedding Function to attend in the Hotel, whilst the reception was fine the rest of the hotel just doesn't cut it in so many ways. rather than get writers cramp listing the issues I'll give you a few, the building at the entrance is falling apart, the concierge was unshaven his uniform looked like a badly made pair of Pj's, the walls are filthy, the hallways to the rooms stink, the noise from other rooms is quite loud, the rooms themselves whilst they have a great view over Albert Park are grotty, the walls are marked as is all the furniture,the padded head boards are filthy. The lifts creek and groan, we decided we didn't won't to stay and checked out at about 10pm to the Managers credit he offered a part refund. It 's such a shame the owners of this badly run down establish don't see how great this place could be if the Hotel was matched by its location an views. in the words of my 13 year old, we are never coming here again.

Room Tip: The are better hotels for the money we paid $179 plus $12 for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alwaysdreaming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On THe Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties with our staff in January. While this is unacceptable, we have put a concentrated effort into improving our team and customer relations . We are continually working with our team to improve so we can offer the best service possible.
Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    270
    279
    106
    117
See reviews for
124
292
74
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here on my arrival to Melbourne for 5 nights. After my previous experience at the Mint Hotel i was disappointed.

Although very clean and staff very helpful the whole building needs a major overhaul/refresh.
The long corridors to our room where quite eerie and brought to mind the film 'The Shinning" which made me feel uneasy moving around the hotel on my own. Didn't use the gym/pool or eat there so can't comment on those areas.

We had to change rooms, the first we were allocated had an interconnecting door (i guess for families) and we could hear every conversation being held within the adjoining room - not ideal! Staff very obliging and moved us rooms immediately although the second was a smaller version.

Not totally unpleasant experience although as i have said in need of a major refresh/update.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On THe Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for offering us your feedback. We appreciate receiving it from a regular Trip Advisor contributor. I will address your comments with my team; there are some things we can continue to work on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon


Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The girl at the desk couldnt find my booking after a long wait we where given a roomthe 1st room as we had to move in the middle of the night.the air conditioner was making such a loud noise, rooms clean and tidy

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On THe Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulties with your booking. While this is unacceptable, we have put a concentrated effort into improving our team and customer relations. We are continually working with our team to improve so we can offer the best service possible.

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Mornington, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

not a great stay especially on the 3rd floor, you cant sleep becouse of the drum of the water pipes all night! decore is dated, breakfast was ok, staff friendly enough, i would rate it a very low 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On THe Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to offer us some very detailed feedback. It really helps to know these things because it will assist to make us even better in the future. There is no doubt that we did let you down in terms of the of your room location. With regards to the water pipes, this was unfortunately an issue we experienced with building structure. No question, it was not good enough, however we were not able to fix this ourselves. I do apologise that these issues put a slight dampener on what should have been a 5 out of 5 experience with us. Please keep in touch and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Good service and clean rooms. Furnishings are old and need some upgrades. Lighting is what brings down the rating and can see some good improvements. Energy saving measures are not installed. Breakfast is good but can be improved. Overall comfortable, but expect more for a better experience.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ravi Shankar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On THe Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for offering us your feedback. We appreciate receiving it from a regular Trip Advisor contributor. I will address your comments with my team; there are some things we can continue to work on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon


Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three days during the last February.

Guestrooms are roomy and clean and the beds comfortable.

Breakfast is not sensational but overall is worth its price.

Its location is a good middle way between the CBD and St Kilda.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gn0lle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On THe Park, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for offering us your feedback. We appreciate receiving it from a regular Trip Advisor contributor. I will address your comments with my team; there are some things we can continue to work on. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The staff were helpful enough, though not exactly friendly. The room was comfortable and all expected amenities in place. However the furnishings and decor in general is in dire need of a refresh. Peeling paint, chipped furniture and electrical equipment from the 1980's do not a 4-star hotel make.

The internet was the biggest shocker, at $35 for five days limited to one device (in this day and age), I spent the first evening on the phone with tech support to try and get it working at a usable speed. By the second day it was improved, but still hardly worth the exorbitant price.

Location wise, the hotel is fairly well situated. There is a tram stop about 5 minutes walk from the hotel, and a few basic places to eat nearby. The city and beach are each a short tram ride away (in opposite directions), and for runners/joggers I highly recommend a morning run around the Albert Park lake (right near the hotel) or down to St Kilda beach (under an hour round trip).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Bayview Eden
#108 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#99 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#147 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview On THe Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview On THe Park

Property: Bayview On THe Park
Address: 52 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview On THe Park 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Melbourne's CBD and St Kilda Beach, Bayview On The Park provides the perfect location to explore all Melbourne has to offer. Melbourne Aquarium, South Yarra shopping district and St Kilda Esplanade are all only a short tram ride away, with the added convenience of onsite car parking (fees apply). Bayview On The Park is just 25.5km from Melbourne International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview On THe Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing