We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview On The Park
Ranked #141 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy with stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with my daughter - but had only booked a double room as there was a special on. when we arrived the chap on reception offered an upgrade to a twin room which still ended up a terrific rate for the 3 nights. the room was fantastic with views over Albert Park and out to the Bay. location was excellent - close to trams and easy to get around. I didn't notice anything wrong with the room or problems with cleanliness. Staff were really helpful. We didn't eat there so can't comment on the restaurant. i did book this hotel based on price and location and wasn't disappointed at all.

Room Tip: corner rooms have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    274
    281
    107
    117
See reviews for
124
293
74
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stay here every time we come over to Melbourne. Over the last two years the standards have slipped to the point where we are looking for alternative accommodation now. The Concierge did little but stand behind his desk and not help people with their luggage. Shower head leaked, sprayed as much water back onto the wall as came out the head. No plug for the hand basin and they could not find one to fit and the rooms really need a good clean and carpet shampoo. In room safes need to be installed for securing valuables.

The Bar closed when they felt like it, anywhere after 8:30.

Overall this was a disappointing experience for us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a weekend! After the first night we got moved to another room due to mould and our tv was the 80's! Only to find the next room had even more mould! But due to the hotel being fully booked we could not be moved anywhere else! We will never be staying at this hotel again! The breakfast is a rip off! The only upside was the friendly staff who have to work at the dump!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Onyasnapperhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Manager at Bayview On The Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. All responses from our guest experiences are taken under serious consideration to ensure future satisfaction and improvements within the hotel. In regards to your specific concerns of the mould , I can assure you these are a typical issues occurring rather infrequently. Nevertheless I apologise for their impressionable impact upon your stay with us. We hope to see you in the hotel once again soon, where we will endeavour to leave you with a 10/10 experience.


Regards
Gaurav Sharma
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After many years of spending NYE at house parties a group of us decided to go out for 2013. Leaving it until later in the year we weren't sure what we would find but when we come across this package we immediately booked it.
We didn't want to have to catch a cab home from the city so the room, car park, breakfast and late checkout was a bonus.
The meal was nice and entertainment great.
The fact we could arrive early afternoon, sit by the pool, have a few drinks, go for a walk around Albert Park lake was great. Then return to the room to get ready for the night.

Room Tip: There was only my partner and myself and we had a premier room I believe which consisted of 2 double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Manager at Bayview On The Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi I wish to thank you for your kind words on from your stay. Your lovely words and comments about your stay really made the teams day and we thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Gaurav Sharma
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our 3rd year staying at this hotel for 3 nights. We have been going to the Boxing Day cricket test (day 3) each year. We have found the hotel to be good value, with big rooms and it is conveniently located. We have walked from the MCG twice (although a long walk!). Easy walk to Prahan and a bit further to St Kilda. Trams are very close as well. Car parking is crucial coming from Canberra by car and costs $10.00 a night which we thought was very fair. This year we had a problem with our TV and it was fixed very promptly and used room service for the first time and it also was very prompt.
We will stay here again and would easily recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side of the hotel are a bit quieter than the Albert Park side, although noise is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thosegoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Manager at Bayview On The Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi I wish to thank you for your kind words on from your stay. Your lovely words and comments about your stay really made the teams day and we thank you for your feedback

regards
Gaurav Sharma
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Although a bit dated (particularly in the bathroom) I had a fairly pleasant stay. My room was very spacious and looked onto the Golf course.
The staff were very polite (especially in the Sails Brasserie where I had special requests).
The hours of the services such as the gym, pool and breakfast were convenient and the location good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Manager at Bayview On The Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi I wish to thank you for your kind words on from your stay. Your lovely words and comments about your stay really made the team's day and we thank you for your feedback


Regards
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

First of all, the way in which the rooms are named is very confusing. We booked a twin and a double, presuming a double in one and two twins in the other. Nope! The twin room was huge and had two doubles and a view. The double was small and had no view :(
While our double was adequate, it was definitely dated. Huge water stain on the ceiling. The TV. Was a tiny old glass tube thing!! We had to get maintenance in twice to get the tv turned on - very peculiar system, and to get the air conditioning on - also hit or miss!

Our biggest beefs were with the customer service however. One receptionist, a woman, Winnie, was consistently short and rude whenever we approached her with questions. We had friends call the hotel three times to talk to us and each time they were told that we were not staying there.
Our family staying in the other room were woken up three times around 7:30, by housekeeping, despite the fact that they had the do not disturb sign on. On one occasion, they yelled that they were in the room sleeping but housekeeping just walked in on them and then ran out. No apologies.
We had a longer stay planned but cut it short.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior twin. It's way bigger. And I would suggest requesting pool view NOT garage vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherKVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Manager at Bayview On The Park, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thankyou for providing your feedback for your stay this past week.

I have found your feedback and recommendations to be most helpful, and the details that were overlooked throughout your stay shouldn’t have occurred.

I do sincerely apologise we didn’t achieve the level of service we do strive for when it comes to the housekeeping issues you experienced during your stay. Certainly this is not the level of service we expect of ourselves and I do truly apologise

Again my apologies your stay did not live up to expectations and should you decide to ever return please feel free to contact me directly as I would love that chance to host you again and deliver the service I am proud of here at Bayview On the Park

Regards
Gaurav Sharma
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#114 of 159 in Melbourne
583 reviews
Bayview Eden
#110 of 159 in Melbourne
623 reviews
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#99 of 159 in Melbourne
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#66 of 159 in Melbourne
1,591 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview On The Park

Property: Bayview On The Park
Address: 52 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview On The Park 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Melbourne's CBD and St Kilda Beach, Bayview On The Park provides the perfect location to explore all Melbourne has to offer. Melbourne Aquarium, South Yarra shopping district and St Kilda Esplanade are all only a short tram ride away, with the added convenience of onsite car parking (fees apply). Bayview On The Park is just 25.5km from Melbourne International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing