We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview On The Park
Ranked #139 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I were in Melbourne recently for 4 days. We booked this hotel for a special deal where we got 1 night free. The website and the 4 star rating (which we found out under closer inspection was self rated), as well as the excellent saving, convinced us we would be getting a value for money deal. We could not have been more wrong.

While the staff were always courteous and friendly, the facilities leave much to be desired. The first room we checked into (standard) had mould in the floor of the bathroom, as well as an old analogue television, when the website says every room has a flat screen. Towels were tattered at the edges and the noise from the corridor and the cleaner's store room next door, was annoying. We complained and were moved only to find the new room had more mould than the previous in the bathroom. Thankfully we had a flat screen but the noise was just the same.

In the corridor, we found the cleaner's store room entrance, had been battered by the trolleys which does not leave a good impression with chipped paint on the floor. We also paid for a full buffet breakfast our first morning. The scrambled eggs were dry, as was the sausages and the bacon had more fat than it did meat. There was not much choice for $22.

We are very disappointed with our experience and will not be booking with any Bayview hotel in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. All responses from our guest experiences are taken under serious consideration to ensure future satisfaction and improvements within the hotel. In regards to your specific concerns over our housekeeping store room, I can assure you these are a typical issues occurring rather infrequently. Nevertheless I apologise for their impressionable impact upon your stay with us. We hope to see you in the hotel once again soon, where we will endeavour to leave you with a 10/10 experience.

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Bayview On The Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 903 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Bought a 2 night deal online for a standard room in this hotel. As it's suppose to be 4star we thought the room would be ok as we would not be in there a lot .WRONG .The only positive was the bed was comfortable..TV was analog,you could hear every thing going on in the corridor ,shower over the bath and it was difficult to step out of as it was very high, very old and tired looking room and 1st floor in need of repair not sure what the other floors are like,.had to pay for our parking which was not mentioned any where till we got there we looked out our window at the A/C units that are also noisy ..We will not be staying there again..

Room Tip: do not go standard room ..do not stay on 1st floor as the A/C units are on the roof right outside yo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Managment at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. All responses from our guest experiences are taken under serious consideration to ensure future satisfaction and improvements within the hotel. In regards to your specific concerns over our rooms and I can assure you these are a typical issues occurring rather infrequently. Nevertheless I apologise for their impressionable impact upon your stay with us. We hope to see you in the hotel once again soon, where we will endeavour to leave you with a 10/10 experience.

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Many times we have stayed at the Bayview, from our point of view it is what we prefer to more expensive hotels which when all said and done offer the same facilities.
This time we stayed in an executive room overlooking the golf course, it was great, but if you were a light sleeper the motor notice could be a distraction from busy Queen's Road, this did not bother us, housekeeping staff are excellent, our room was always tidy and replenished with what ever we required, reception staff are always courteous, breakfast was adequate as we do not like large buffet spreads.
We do look forward to staying at the Bayview many times more
Thanking you Rohan for looking after us
Glennis & Brian Paterson

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were delighted to read your five star review and to see your comments in regards to our staff . Our guest feedback means the world to us and I’ve shared your comments with all staff members. We hope to see you again at Bayview On the Park soon!

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Although the staff are friendly this did not make up for the sleepless nights we had. If you want a good nights rest this is NOT the place to stay. You can hear every tap turning and movement carried outside the cordial. Also, the shower is HORRIBLE, as the temperature has a mind of its own and will switch from warm to burning hot or freezing cold leaving a burning sensation on your body.

Location - ok. 10 min from the city with easy access to the tram line or a $15 cab ride.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziasandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Bayview On the Park and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I’m very disappointed and surprised to hear about the shower temperature. I can assure you that this is an isolated issue and we have addressed this matter with the entire team. If you return, (which I sincerely hope that you do), please contact us when setting up your reservation and I’ll do my best to ensure you have a flawless stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at Bayview On The Park

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I often stay in this hotel as I have work in St Kilda road. It is great value for money. Clean and nice and get a premier room for a little bit more and it is worth it. Ample parking on premise or in the adjacent step streets. If you park in the streets be aware of the parking inspectors as they are quite ruthless. There is a restaurant and bar with good prices.

Room Tip: Book through wotif or similar online booking engine and you can get a good price. Otherwise call the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanaka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are constantly seeking means of improvement and our guests’ feedback is very important to us. So we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the room and found our location to be convenient. Thank you again for your encouraging comments and we look forward to your next visit at Bayview On The Park

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is an updated review of a previous one we did. The staff as always were very courteous.
In the past we have always had a premium room with views of Albert Park. Although we booked a premium room this time, it faced the car park but was advertised to overlook the pool (which you could see by going right up to the window) The room was substantially smaller and whilst the fittings and finishes were good, the bed comfortable the carpet was threadbare and stained.
The shower (shower over bath) head had been downgraded to a low flow shower which was awful, the water temperature varied constantly and there was hair from a previous guest in the bath. Overall not too impressed this time and they are now charging for car parking. We would probably go back as the location and pricing is good, it's just a bit old and down but OK

Room Tip: If paying for a premium room ask for views of Albert Park
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel management at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Bayview On the Park and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I’m very disappointed and surprised to hear that housekeeping didn't check the room upto scratch. I can assure you that this is an isolated issue and we have addressed this matter with the entire team. If you return, (which I sincerely hope that you do), please contact us when setting up your reservation and I’ll do my best to ensure you have a flawless stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at Bayview On The Park

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arriving at the Bayview we discovered our room had been cancelled by our "travel agent" despite us booking online and needed to be rebooked. They were also not going to honor the complimentary breakfast that had been promised on booking. Walking into the room it was easy to tell that the room had not been cleaned properly as there were toenails on the floor as well as paper and strings. The hairdryer was poor at best. We would not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee89261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Hotel Management at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Bayview On the Park and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I’m very disappointed and surprised to hear that housekeeping didn't check the room upto scratch. I can assure you that this is an isolated issue and we have addressed this matter with the entire team. If you return, (which I sincerely hope that you do), please contact us when setting up your reservation and I’ll do my best to ensure you have a flawless stay with us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again at Bayview On The Park

Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#119 of 160 in Melbourne
599 reviews
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#112 of 160 in Melbourne
650 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#109 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayview Eden
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
629 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#65 of 160 in Melbourne
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview On The Park

Address: 52 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $68 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview On The Park 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Melbourne's CBD and St Kilda Beach, Bayview On The Park provides the perfect location to explore all Melbourne has to offer. Melbourne Aquarium, South Yarra shopping district and St Kilda Esplanade are all only a short tram ride away, with the added convenience of onsite car parking (fees apply). Bayview On The Park is just 25.5km from Melbourne International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing