We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a complete mess of a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview On The Park
Ranked #139 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I had read good reviews so thought I'd give it a go on my next work trip. What a big mistake!! I honestly have nothing positive to say besides the location being very convenient. The car park is the worst I've ever experienced. One way in and out, incredibly narrow, not enough room. The amount of time I needed to reversed back up the driveway because someone else was coming up is ridiculous. The room smelt of smoke, the iron didn't work and ironing board was buckled. The TV is an CRT that looks as bad as it sounds - my remote didn't work. Overall this was a complete mess of a hotel and I will NEVER stay there again. Even though work pay for my accommodation, I've advised them to never send any of our staff there moving forward. I've never written a review before but felt compelled to get on here and share my experience. Absolutely awful!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel. Plenty of options on Queen's road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete81k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 911 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for the Formula 1, was literally across the street from Albert Park, Gate 8, only a 1 minute stroll if that to get in. That is the only positive thing I can say really. Our non-smoking room stank of cigarette smoke, the mini-bar contained beer a year past its use by date, drinks exploded in the faulty fridge overnight, zero water pressure in the shower and when it rained the bathroom roof leaked (it poured actually) to the point we had to change to a twin single. The staff were unfriendly and unapologetic, and seemed annoyed when we asked for a different room. The foyer and bar were obviously renovated and well presented but the rooms and hallways were run down and out dated. Definitely not worth the price we paid, would not stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just booked a trip for our daughter who is travelling alone.
Wanted to make her birthday special so booked her in here. Francessca on reception was very friendly and extremely helpful. Even though we are in the UK she put us completely at ease.
I'm sure our daughter will love it

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview On The ... M, Front Office Manager at Bayview On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your time to review the hotel and giving us valuable feedback regarding the staff, it was an honour having you as a guest at our hotel, we are very pleased to have heard kind feedback from you, and are glad that your stay here was to your expectations. Receiving feedback from guests helps us to improve the hotel experience and resolve any issues you may encounter. Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mathew D' Rozario
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

When Checking in, found the reception staff incredibly bored, unhelpful and bordering on rude. THe check out in the morning the staff were much better, so perhaps just a bad night. The accomodation was cheap compared to others in the area (but not what i would consider a bargain). The room was ok, but the towels actually had holes in them thats how thin and worn out they were. Come on guys, we paid over $150 for the room surely you could fork out for some new towels for everyone?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Low rise hotel with an outdoor pool in the middle of Melbourne! Unheard of you say? Well you would be wrong as the Bayview On the Park is just such a hotel. Across the road from Albert Park (famous for the Grand Prix), close to tram lines and galleries, the sth melbourne precinct well known for good eateries, entertainging night life and the compact and charming Sth Melb market. The hotel has a nice vibe and after the initial slightly stiff but adaptable check-in (we were 3 hrs early!) we experienced extremely friendly and helpful staff.
The outdoor pool was a must for us. Pool itself is well laid out but needs maintenance with missing tiles; Missed not having an outdoor rinsing shower, change rooms or toilets; only access to pool was through the foyer area which was slightly uncomfortable; Pool gates although beautiful are a nuisance with a latch postioned way too high even for a tallish adult and they gave a loud clang if not held while shutting.
Room was great. Initially I had been going to book the basic twin room but after reading the hotel description decided on the superior Twin which was a great size with a nice window overlooking the park (also the busy road but you can barely hear the traffic).
Family friendly, $10 undercover parking, average breakfast.
If brekky isn't included treat yourself at the Sth Melb market to a delectable coffee at PADRE Hand crafted coffee house and heavenly bakery smells
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Read the hotel reviews as they proved accurate. You get what you pay for so if it seems cheap - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hotel in an excellent location. Comfortable but could do with some modernising.
Pool gates very difficult to open if you are short, but pool and spa were great. Restaurant not quite as good as the last time we stayed although the service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1kiwi1pom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first room at 9.30pm the air conditioner started to leak so badly it was pouring out through a down light onto a bench containing a plugged in kettle. A electricution or fire risk. Just lucky my ipad didnt get fried. The evident black plaster above the room suggested it leaks all the time but it just took time to build up to over flow. We were moved from that room to another smaller room with a fold away bed which looked at least 30 years old. My lighty built 9 year old refused to sleep on it as it wobbled to much. I ended up removing the mattress from the bent out of shape frame and slept on floor to get some peace.

Positives. The staff in particular the night manager was lovely. The pool was popular with my kids and spotlessly clean. Overall the hotel is showing its age and is in a need of a refit. It also appeared to be short staffed as bar waiting times were long. The package we got was well priced and suited its age and quality. Maintenance just seems to be a problem as also the foyer toilets were also out of action which meant the going to the loo in your room if you were at the bar or having a swim.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul1973Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#124 of 162 in Melbourne
603 reviews
Mercure Melbourne Albert Park
#111 of 162 in Melbourne
658 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#110 of 162 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bayview Eden
#116 of 162 in Melbourne
637 reviews
Mantra St Kilda Road
#68 of 162 in Melbourne
1,797 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 162 in Melbourne
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview On The Park

Address: 52 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview On The Park 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Melbourne's CBD and St Kilda Beach, Bayview On The Park provides the perfect location to explore all Melbourne has to offer. Melbourne Aquarium, South Yarra shopping district and St Kilda Esplanade are all only a short tram ride away, with the added convenience of onsite car parking (fees apply). Bayview On The Park is just 25.5km from Melbourne International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing