We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel should be razed. My room (537) was filthy and smelled like the worst kind of ashtray ever. The carpet should have been replaced 10 years ago. After waking with a stuffed up nose, stuffed up head, sore throat, and the inability to breathe I realized that this room almost killed me.

The hotel did give us a different room for night 2, but it was also dirty although it did not stink as much. Moving out of the first room almost killed me, reentering that room made me understand how vile it really was.

The breakfast in the coffee shop was terrible, had to be powdered eggs.

All in all, this hotel should not be occupied by humans.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kseggert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,241)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Welcome Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,924 - 3,930 of 4,241 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

Well located hotel in CBD Melbourne. Great value for money. Very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

I have just stayed at Mecure Welcome, Melbourne. We booked this online & we were NOT disappointed - being on the corner of Swanston St and Little Bourke Street, it was perfectly located to restaurants, theatres, China Town, city centre, & walking distance to the Victorian Markets/ flinders St station ... and also the trams at your door!
Upon checking in, the staff were prompt & obliging, the room was quite small (but we only slept there - we were too busy sightseeing during the day to stay indoors).
The beds (& pillows) were verrrry comfortable!! We slept like babies - yes u could hear a little hallway noise, but most hotels are the same.
The rooms were very adequate with aircon., small fridge, microwave & great hot showers with fantastic water pressure!
Whenever we had a query or request the staff we very helpful & polite.
The Hotel has internet facilities in the Lobby and Baggage storage - ANOTHER great plus to this Hotel is the 11am checkout ! (that extra hour is perfect!)
I would definately stay here again & have already told family and friends how convenient and well-priced it was. Though next time I might ask for a street view room.
Melbourne is a fantastic city to visit and from Mecure Welcome we walked all over town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeapinLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We booked the room on 25/02/2010 to 28/02/2010. The hotel is the best location in Melbourne. On the left of the hotel, you can find many chinese,Japanese, Vitnamese restuarants. On the right side of the building, many fast food outlets. Opposite the road, that is the China Town. Many places of interest is just a walking distance,like the Federel Square is about 250 meters away and National museum is near by.I loved this location. Every morning we walk about 250 meter to catch the free tourist bus and trams to tour the city. The room is a bit small but clean and comfortable.Breakfast is OK. We strong ly recommend this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

This has to be one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. The standard rooms are so small they feel claustrophobic and the beds are old. My bed creaked no matter what side I sat on so I had to request a different room only to find that both beds were only slightly better and the bathroom had mold around the shower tiles. Also, the hallways to the rooms are painted dark gray and have no windows so you feel like you're in a dungeon. We also experienced a very dubious exchange rate practice at this hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel, nor will I ever stay at another Mercure hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

i must say after reading previous reviews after booking i was thinking oh well never mind , but i thought the hotel was great starbucks out the front myer and david jones next door,chinatown across the road it was fab the cheapest 3 star room was small but all i do is sleep shower watch a bit of tele so it was great the shower pressure was very strong concidering melbourne face near drought and there was a fridge that i could get loads into and good channels on the box. three entances and exits downstairs great lounge bar haighs choc shop in front !! yum yum very modern but quirky. the three star rooms are small and packed in each floor but hence the cost being so cheap i heard my neighbour go in there room at night but that is it not even worth mentioning all walls are plasterboard in australia and modern buildings so get used to it.so if you want a cheap clean tidy room that has everything on your doorstep i highly recommend this one we saw a few others in this price range when walking around and we were like oh thank god we did not choose that one !! so we are pleased as punch we walked from southern cross station to the hotel took about 20 mins, tram trains and everything stop at bourke street its a very easy place to walk around.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We booked the room through Qantas and had asked to have a room on the street side.When we arrived late Saturday we were pleasantly welcomed and were offered an upgrade free of charge with a room overlooking the city. The room was well appointed and roomy. It was kept spotlesly clean during our 7 day stay and the staff were very obliging to give us information on Melbourne and provided us with a map of the city which was invaluable. The location is excellent in the centre of the city with public transport virtually on the doorstep and next to China Town with its abundance of restaurants...very convenient after a tiring day of sightseeing. I can well recommend the hotel and will stay there again should we come to Melbourne again.
Wim & Mela Hultink (oldies of around 80)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mazdakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing