We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my needs perfectly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #102 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Met my needs perfectly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was in Melbourne for only one night and needed clean, comfortable, central and affordable accommodation. Mecure Welcome was perfect! The staff were extremely polite and helpful (young man on Concierge desk on morning of 6 Dec 09 handled my requests so efficiently, and his customer service skills were excellent).

Our room was large and the bed was so deliciously comfortable! Cleanliness was of an excellent standard.

The food I had whilst there was hot and tasty, and a hop-skip-jump down the road was Chinatown!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iberian_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    1,584
    1,220
    390
    209
See reviews for
674
1,440
540
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
gurgaon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

This was my first stay at this hotel & i must say i was pleasantly surprise by the general ambience.

I landed very late at Melbourne & was not sure if i will find anybody at the reception but staffs were not only very courteous but also very helpfull.

Room was absolutely cleaned & ready for my stay with good communication networking.

Mini bar was properly stocked & room service was very efficient.

Location of this hotel is perfect & most of the important destination around CBD is at walking distance.

All in all i will definately stay here again when i visit Melbourne next.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

Having read recent reviews with regards to this hotel I can't understand why the stale smell of the carpets has not been mentioned. Downstairs in the reception area and attached coffee house it smells very much like the carpets have become really wet recently and have not been dried out propery. (Flooded?)
Up on the floors the smell is no better. By the way if you suffer from claustrophobia avoid this hotel. The rooms are very small.
I have to say however, that the staff were very good and very helpful. Apart from, that is, a security guard in the attached coffee shop/cafe that had a go at my wife who, after a very long flight, happened to close her eyes, whilst sitting in the premises. She was approached and told that 'Sleeping was not allowed' !!!
The previous comments with regards the location are correct. Right in the middle of town. If the location is right for you it might warrant some further research on nearby hotels until they get the damp smell sorted out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chivers_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Chippenham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

The best about the hotel was its location, being near tram stops and within walking distance of other sights, such as Chinatown, Flinders street station etc.

Breakfast was very good offering a wide choice and quantity. I dined out at night so cannot comment on the restaurant service.

I found reception staff very helpful in every way, and they were pretty busy at the times I was there, so a big plus for them !!

The only very slight downside was that the corridors from the lift to the room is decorated in a dull grey colour, a bit depressing when you first encounter it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basari57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

The hotel is in a good location, close to Chinatown and Bourke Street Mall but that is the only thing going. Rooms are very tiny, very dated. I couldn't tell you when these rooms have been updated. Drinks expensive. We were there for a reunion and the functions were held at this hotel and the hot food at the cocktail party was cold. For the formal function on the Saturday night they have too many people packed into the room. This hotel needs to be totally rennovated.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

I stayed in the Mecure Welcome for two nights in October. As a frequent visitor of Accor’s Ibis chain, I was looking forward to experiencing the higher level Mecure hotel. What I will say is that this hotel and the Grand Mecure to which it is connect (but should not be confused with) are in an excellent location. You can easily walk throughout the CBD and there are a lot of restaurants in the area to choose from. However, we were really disappointed with the hotel.

The room was small and overlooked a “courtyard” where the HVAC equipment was located. The window also faced all of the other rooms and so you had to keep your blinds drawn for privacy from your neighbors. The room was tired. The TV was antiquated. There were hangers for clothes but no drawers. The refrigerator was so loud that I unplugged it at night so that I could sleep. Parking is available for $15 per day, but a block away and down in the basement of a mall. This means you have to walk a way to get to your car with your bags. The Welcome does not have a gym but you can PAY to use the Grand Mecure’s gym.

In summary, a great location, but a disappointing hotel. There are other hotels in the area by the Accor chain which could be better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Could not complain.

Great location and worth every cent (and not many of them!!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seals_and_Crofts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#85 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing