We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Mercure Welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
“Stay in Mercure Welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We found that the overall stay was quite good with the pony downside being noise emanating from adjacent rooms throughout the night. The rooms did not appear to be noise proof. We had children in one room tapping on the wall during the early hours of the morning and when we banged back the noise stopped. Then early departures where you hear the noise of toilet flushes and showers. The rooms did not appear to be soundproof. However considering the overall stay and the location etc, we would stay there again in the future and would be better prepared for the noise. The location was great and price was great and the facilities such as restaurants etc were great, we had all our meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay.
I am sorry to read about the inconveniences caused by the noise emanating from the adjacent rooms. I am delighted to read that you had all your meals at the hotel and found it to your satisfaction.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    1,627
    1,251
    398
    215
See reviews for
701
1,486
554
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Best spot if you want all the city has to offer..
It is a three star and that's what you get but rooms are neat and clean. No room service no stocked mini bar but onsite bar and restaurant.
The hotel is located literally next door to myer so if shopping is your thing... This is your hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabbys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Greggo60,

Thank you for your honest feedback.
Maybe in the future, you may wish to try the adjacent The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure as I am sure you will enjoy the added comfort and facilities which this hotel offers.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Beauty, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Mercure Welcome Hotel for 2 nights. We decided to book a Weekend Escape deal in a Privilege Room (available on the Accor Hotels website). Slightly dearer, but you get a King Room with a Nespresso machine, robes, Wifi and chocolates. The Weekend Escape deal included breakfast and $50 food & beverage credit. Well worth it.

Check in was great (we arrived a bit early but our room was ready by 12.30pm - thank you). We have stayed at this hotel a couple of nights per month over the last 6 months and upon check-in they verbally acknowledged this - which was nice.

Breakfast was good (the same usual fare). Every stay I always find myself wishing that they had cooked mushrooms on the menu - but that's just personal choice.

We grabbed a quick dinner in the restaurant one night. Nice & value for money meals. Happy hour at the Cocoon Bar is between 6pm & 7pm each night.

Our main purpose for this visit was to see The King and I. It was raining a little bit so we caught the tram up a few blocks to the Princess Theatre. Easy!!! As many people have previously noted - the location is brilliant. So central to everything and for things a little further afield, the tram stops are at your doorstep.

All in all a great stay so far. We are not checking out until tomorrow morning - but we anticipate that it will be a smooth check out.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MountainToCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear MountainToCoast,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review and for highlighting the achievement of my team to provide service that is consistently exceptional. We are very lucky to count you amongst our loyal regular's and we look forward to welcome you back for your next visit away from home. And I trust that your check-out tomorrow would be hassle free too.

I have passed on your feedback regarding cooked mushrooms to our Executive Housekeeper for his perusal and future consideration.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Location is what won me over.
This place is great if you just want to explore Melbourne all day.
The standard rooms with Queen bed are very very VERY small, so don't expect to stay here all day. Its cheap stay so we didn't expect much.

Its good for business people who are only here for a bed to sleep on and a shower to use.

The bed was nice and comfy with 4 pillows

There is Cable TV however limited channels.
Free WIFI with some rates which was also good..

Across the road is CHINA TOWN which is great, cheap ASIAN Restaurants.
On the other side of the hotel are your fancy shops such as David Jones, Hermes.. You name it!
We walked around the block and found TGIFridays where we had a late lunch in. For Dinner we then went to the Vietnamese restaurants for a LARGE BOWL of PHO for $10.. It was very busy, which meant it was a good place to eat at!

If you want to use the SKYBUS to get to the airport, best to book this on the day of check in. It is $18 per person.

Room Tip: Try to request a high room with a city view, or you will end up with a view of the next building, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJnAlex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear AJnAlexC,

Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide a review.
The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping and restaurants & bars at your doorstep.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We went to Melbourne for a short trip. Mercure welcome hotel's location is absolutely spot on, central CBD. Great location for enjoying the diverse food and shopping. Room was a bit small but staff there were very friendly, helpful and professional. They gave us many advices for getting to places and booking transportation for us. With that location, price and service, we couldn't ask more. And we definitely will go back there and stay next time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Juan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Juan Z,

It is always pleasing to read a positive review from a Senior Reviewer.

It's great to see we impressed you with our friendly and helpful team member.

The hotel location is ideal for local, interstate & overseas visitors wanting to see a lot in a short amount of time. .
With walking distance to major attractions and shopping on our doorstep, you can pack a lot into a short stay.
See you again when on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#91 of 160 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#102 of 160 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing