We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“melb july stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    1,663
    1,260
    405
    218
See reviews for
712
1,515
563
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I booked the Mercure with one of the on-line booking agencies.
The hotel is situated in Little Collins Street, right at the entrance to Melbourne's China Town, where some of Melbourne's best and well known Asian eating places exist.
We stayed one night as we were attending a matinee of Les Mis. The hotel is central to all of the Melbourne Theater district and department stores. Very quiet, clean rooms, and excellent staff, from check in to the house staff.
The hotel has a cafe attached to it with great food and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room, the aircon unit on the roof was a little noisy from time to time, but not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear TimCazza,

Thanks for the reveiw.
Our location is the perfect base for a Melbourne getaway with Chinatown just a stone-throw away, as well as only a short stroll to many theatres.
I'm glad you experienced the Soul Cafe and found the food to be great with a reasonable price!
Fantastic to hear our staff were being their super friendly selves.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is located right in the heart of Melbourne, with trams to everywhere. Walking in the CBD is effortless from this hotel. Reception staff very courteous. Hotel is quite old, but the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank oziwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Oziwarren,

It's great to see positive comments from a Senior Contributor.
We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping and public transport at your doorstep.
We hope you come back to see us when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Fantastic location incredibly central-if we had paid less I would have thought it was cheap and cheerful and good value for the location but over $150 a night dissapointing. The rooms however felt like you were in a converted office block-really pokey and depressing with exposed plumbing and fittings that looked like they were put together from ikea. Bed not very comfortable (was 2 singles zipped in the middle the ridge at the zip hurt my back). really overpriced should be rated as a 3.5 star. Staff were slow and didn't cope well with the queue for he long weekend. was under renovation and took forever to get up in the one working lift to our room. We also constantly had to go back to reception to get our room keys to work making it even more frustrating. One of the staff members was very helpful and sent up a bottle of wine as an apology however and upgraded us to a higher room-would hate to think what the original room was though the view from the higher room was just of an office block opposite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear KDingle,

Thank you for your feedback. It seems that we did not meet your expectations on your previous visit.

The Mercure Welcome Melbourne is a 3.5 star hotel which offers excellent value for money given it’s location in the very heart of Melbourne. As you may be aware our rates, like airfares, are dynamic and change depending on day of the week, special events and seasonality. On the nights which you stayed with us, it was during the Queen's Birthday long weekend, hence demand for hotels in the city was extremely high. Whilst I understand your concerns that your room did not represent value for money, I can assure you that other hotels with a similar star rating and location in Melbourne’s CBD were charging comparable or higher rates then the Mercure Welcome on those nights.

In regards to your comments regarding the bedding, it is quite standard practice for hotels to utilise what are referred to as King-Zipper Beds. These are 2 mattresses which are zipped together to make a full size King Bed, or which can be separated to be used as 2 Single Beds. I can assure you this was not an attempt to use 2 single beds as a King Bed.

WE were certainly in the process of refurbishing 2 floors of bathrooms during your stay and truly apologize for the inconvenience caused with the lift being slower than usual, etc.

We have taken your constructive feedbacks on board, and our most sincere apologies again for the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing