We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #107 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed June 5, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,239)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Welcome Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 4,239 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Our room stank of mould!! Management moved us to another room that stank of mould and air freshener. Then the management moved us to a much nicer room on the other side of the hotel and we were assured there would be no extra cost after the inconvenience. However 4 weeks later the Mecure Welcome Melbourne took it upon themselves to steal $480 out of my bank account for the "room upgrade". VERY sneaky and RUDE!! Can not believe the excuses that i had thrown about on the several occasions i called for an explanation. At the end of the day the manager made a promise he was obviously not entitled to make. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and all the people i know who have stayed there in the past agree on the matter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Justine,

Thank you for feedback.
I am disappointed to read your feedback & also surprised that it took you nearly 6 months after your departure on the 12th of December 2013 to raise this matter through Tripadvisor.

We are currently investigating this matter & will respond to your email address provided during your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 31 May - 4 Jun. Love the fact that it's situated very conveniently within the district where lotsa of iconic places are around; and is accessible to plenty of other places too! Quite a 'happening' street to be at even in the night.
Stayed in a triple room with space for us to move about that comes with a sink and microwave oven. Basic amenities are sufficient (though the same for all other western countries i presume - bring along your own in-room slippers).
Renovation works may be ongoing (till mid July) but rarely disturbs us throughout our stay.
Friendly staff with good breakfast meal provided (though generally the same food is served pretty much every morning - ask for the poached egg!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Felicia L,

Thanks for the great review. As a Senior Contributor we appreciate your honest feedback.
I'm pleased we met your expectations and your stay was enjoyable.
In regards to the in-room slippers, even though we do not have them in room, they are certainly available upon request through our Housekeeping Department.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Excellent location,The Mercure Welcome is extremely well located. It is just off Swanston street in Little Bourke Street near Chinatown. short walk to the shops, tram stops,only complaint is the place is going through a refurbishment and we where woken at 7am.with what sounded like a drilling noise coming through the ceiling,not a nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Nora S,

Thank you for your feedback!
I am glad to read that you enjoyed our convenient location.
Please accept our most sincere apology for the inconvenience caused with the early contsruction work. They're not supposed to commence the work until 9am.
Rest assured that we have been in contact with the contractor to ensure the incident remains isolated.

On your next stay with us, please kindly make contact with me via email on H3028-GM02@accor.com and I will be sure to offer you the best available rate & all your requirements are met.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
I'm glad your stay with us was satisfactory. The breakfast buffet is fantastic, offering a wide variety of healthy and indulgent goodies. I'm sorry you found the bed too soft. Our dream beds usually generate very positive reviews.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Matthewpl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Excellent central location right next door to myer and david jones, and tram stop out the front. We got the king size room with kitchenette, and the room was very spacious. Although there was a vending machine out the front of our room we found the room to be quiet and didn't notice our neighbours or the vending machine. Great value for a fantastic location. Your aren't paying $$$ so don't expect 5 stars. But it is clean and the best location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poolandlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Poolandlocation,

It's great to see such positive comments from a Top Contributor.
We're pleased your stay with us was fantastic.
The location of the hotel would have been one of the greatest advantages of your stay. As you mentioned you are in the centre of the city with all tourist attractions and shopping at your doorstep.
We hope you come back to see us when you next return to Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#94 of 160 in Melbourne
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing