We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercury Welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    1,663
    1,260
    405
    218
See reviews for
712
1,515
563
660
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
noosa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights. I wanted somewhere central, value for money & secure as I was travelling alone. This was perfect. Yes the room was small but abslutely adequate. Reception staff were great and hotel lobby very comfortable. I had a coffee & a drink at Soul Cafe on different occasions. Very good. I had the $18 breakfast at Loudron. Excellent value. I'll be back to Mecure next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itskn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear itskn,

Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
HoWe look forward to your future visits.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, OIperational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed her for four nights in February. The hotel is an old style of hotel with narrow passageways and a quirky lift that opens on the opposite side when you are above the ground floor. It was very clean but we saw no evidence of any major renovation so perhaps only the rooms had been painted but the old polished wood furniture remains.

We booked on the web and asked for a quiet room. However the first thing we noticed when we opened the door to the room was the construction site outside the window in Little Bourke Street. We returned to the reception area and they managed to find us a quiet room but just be aware that special requests don't seem to be recorded.

We had breakfast and one evening meal at the Lowden restaurant. The breakfast is good value when compared to other hotels in Melbourne. Our evening meal was also quite OK. We enjoyed the Cocoon Bar for its atmosphere and the ability to order food from the Soul Café below.

As with most Accor Hotels in Australia, wifi is NOT free but we were able to access free wifi on our IPad in the Cocoon Basr from the Commonwealth Bank's wifi which is immediately under the Cocoon Bar (don't tell anyone).

We would probably stay here again if we needed a hotel room in Central Melbourne.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell reception if you have made any special requests as they don't seem to record...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Ozitravel,

Thank you for your recent patronage and your time to provide such a detailed review.

WE look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

it is as always a pleasure to stay at this hotel although it needs a face lift the beds are comfortable bathroom old but clean room quiet.
Access to food, drink, shopping, trams and the theaters is superb this time I stayed at the Welcome and previously I have stay at the Swanston which has larger rooms and more updated facilities serviced by the same check-in
counter.
as always all of the staff were a pleasure to deal with and I will definitely stay there next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Lorraine M,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed our convenience location to what Melbourne has to offer and for highlighting the friendliness of our team member. In the future, We are very lucky to count you amongst our loyal regular's and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

this hotel is great for the price. rooms were small but big enough for what we needed. were out all day just needed somewhere to sleep. great location close to lots of shops and restaurants and cafes. myer right downstairs. pokies bar and café downstairs aswell and awesome chocolate shop. would definitely stay there when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Emily W,

Thank you for taking the time to write post such a positive review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed all the services & facilities provisded.
I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back for a future visit.

Kind regards,
Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing