We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very central and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very central and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Mercure Welcome Melbourne is in the heart of Melbourne and perfect if you want to be central to everything. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The room could use a bit of TLC but you don't spend all your time in a hotel room. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sydel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear SusiDee,

It is always very pleasing to read a positive review from a Senior Reviewer.

I am glad that you're enjoying our fantastic location and found our team member to be excellent and always happy to assist. I am not sure which room did you stay, but we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms & are currently being done in stages.

We are very appreciative of your recommendation of this hotel & we look foward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    1,512
    1,183
    376
    202
See reviews for
635
1,392
524
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

excellent location! just behind MYER shopping centre. quite near China town. Clean and tidy. Nice place for staying. first time stayed this hotel, but quite good memory. I will recommend it to families and friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Xuanqian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Xuanqian W,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction.

Thank you also for recommending our hotel to your family & friends.

We look forward to welcoming you back in teh near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Second visit to mercure welcome and equally satisfied. Room was small but very clean and comfortable bed. A/cond worked well in heat wave also. Bathroom is small but very functional with excellent shower. Check in and out professional and easy.

Only complaint is that housekeeping are pretty noisy early ish, including knocking on our door at 8:30 am on a Saturday despite so not disturb sign left out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Trish2418,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your recent stay with us.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our Executive Housekeeper for his perusal.

Once again, thank you for your continuous patronage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Right in the center of town, so close to everything. Walk up to China Town, next to David Jones and Myers - great coffee and food hall. Catch the free city link tram. Hotel room was a good size. Staff were lovely and helpful. Did not eat there so cannot comment on the food in the hotel. Had a problem with the air conditioner, service technician was there within 10 minutes to fix and went out of his way to ensure that all was fine and there would be no further problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank portlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Portlocal,

Thank you for your great review. The hotel location is ideal for overseas and interstate visitors wanting to explore Melbourne in a short amount of time, with walking distance to major shopping destinations, tourist atractions and transports at your doorstep.

I am glad that our team made quite a good impression on you.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#100 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#102 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing