We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Shopping in MelbourneIn Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

4,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    1,674
    1,266
    409
    219
See reviews for
719
1,525
566
666
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Location is everything, and that is certainly the case here. It is tired, but undergoing restoration I understand. One problem was the shower temp wildly oscillates, from cold to burning, which is fine for an adult, but not kids. Having said that - it was actually a proper shower, not one over the bath!

Got a high floor which we were happy with and even though there was construction work, we could barely hear a thing.

The one thing that REALLY annoyed me was that there was no recognition of status when checking in, nor at any other time during our three day stay, mind you sadly that's across the board as I'm beginning to realise lately. I'm sorry, but as a top tier member, I would expect a few things considering what it costs to get there etc.

Other than that I would say value for money, with friendly staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thegurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Thegurio,

Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to both our Maintenance Manager & Front Office Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a cheap and modest hotel. Don't expect too much. Carpets are tired and entire room could do with a make over. It is still a sufficiently comfortable. If you wanted something better, there are pricier options within the vacinity.

Noise insulation is also modest, so don't stay next to the lift well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GOHKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear GOHKY,

Thanks for your review, as a Senior Contributor we appreciate your honest feedback.

I am pleased we met your expectations. Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

The hotel is close to good restaurants, shops, the Museum, the Comedy Theatre and Regent Theatre, which were the places that we were going to on our visit to Melbourne.The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful, even explaining how to get the Myki card for public transport and which train station to get on to avoid the peak hour crush.
The only downside was that free wiFi was not available.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the alley where the bins are emptied should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulheatheras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Paulheatheras,

Thank you for your great review. Our location is indeed the perfect base for a Melbourne vacation. Good to see that our staff were their-super-friendly-selves. WiFi is available at cost, though we shall review it in the future.

WE look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing