We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #103 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

3,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    1,537
    1,197
    380
    202
See reviews for
651
1,407
528
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Got an internet deal for the Mecure Welcome Melbourne on a very busy weekend in Melbs (Beyoncé and Cox Plate) at a reasonable price ($199) for Standard room. Only booked for one night (Sat) When we arrived, we were told by the clerk at check in that our room had been upgraded. Well the only difference was the upgraded room included a microwave and kitchen sink. The downfall???? The upgrade had us positioned 2 rooms from the elevators on the 8th floor. So we heard everyone coming and going at all hours. :-( The toilet seat lid was loose and when I hung my toiletry bag on the towel rack it fell off. Bathroom was very pokey with shower and no bath. And no shower gel (only tiny cakes of soap) and no moisturiser cream either (which you think is pretty standard in most hotels in small tubes). Good for a short stay - it served its purpose but unfortunately we were next to the lifts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear K A,

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and for any inconvenience caused. I have passed on your feedback to both our Executive Housekeeper & Maintenance Manager. I would recommend you to request one one of our refurbished bathrooms should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst travelling on business (preferred supplier). Whilst the location is ok, the rooms are old and tired and in need of renovation. Rooms are noisy especially if you have a room near the lift which 'pings' all night. Has the feel of a cheap nasty motel room!
Staff are very friendly and helpful however, pity the hotel does not live up to their standard!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Warrens_of_Conder,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the hotel did not meet up to your expectations.
If you wish to try us again next time, please ask for a quiet room away from the lifts & also room with refurbished bathroom.

Once again, thank you & regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location - close to trams, city central, shops, china town. The room is small with basic facilities. But I think it needs some renovations.
I tried to ask receptionist to book a taxi. In the end. I was told that due to peak time (8:30pm on Saturday footy games), they couldn't find one and suggested me to call taxi service by myself, which was really unpleasant. The hotel should enhance customer service quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyLife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Happylife4,

Thank you for your reviews.
Rest assured that I shall discuss your experience with our Front Office Manager regarding the lack of assistance extended in obtaining taxi to ensure the incident remains isolated.
WE hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Mecure Welcome about 3 times now because the location is excellent - right next to Bourke St mall and close to public transport and restaurants. The rooms themselves are small and very average. The main issue is that the walls are very thin. Everytime a neighbouring room opens their door or talks or turns on the tv you can hear everything! The shower is good with decent pressure but there may be an issue with the plumbing/tiling as puddles of water pooled randomly on the bathroom floor. Staff are really friendly and rooms are reasonably clean. There are two elevators and one always seems to not be working which is a bit annoying. Overall, an affordable option right in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sljr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your response & for your continuous patronage.
I have passed on your feedback to our Maintenance Manager to have a look at the bathroom.
Once again thank you for your feedback & we look forward to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived in Melbourne and I had read previous reviews of the hotel. Expected the room to be small it was. It was clean and comfortable and other than not having free wifi it was great. The location is so close to every thing. Then after having an amazing ocean drive road tour we came back find our suitcases had been rifled through. Now we are not silly enough to leave anything of value in there but the principle of the matter is someone went through them. We told the hotel staff and did not expect anything to be done. But just be warned it happened. Otherwise we had a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very concerned to read your comment & I am aware that you've spoken with our Duty Manager regarding this. Your room was serviced by one of our long-standing employee with impeccable records & rest assured that we have conducted a thorough investigation process internally & the staff in-questioned stood firm that he did not go through your suitcases. Please feel free to contact myself if you wish to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#96 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing