We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well priced and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #108 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Well priced and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our stay at the Mercure Welcome was lovely and we enjoyed ourselves. The only thing wrong with the trip is that the hallway leading to our room (1028) smelt quite bad - like stale vomit or cheese and wasn't very pleasant when walking to or from our room.

Other than this it was a pleasurable experience and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sophie17189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    1,504
    1,163
    372
    196
See reviews for
630
1,371
521
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is truly excellent and the staff are very helpful for any question you ask them. The rooms are clean and well finished, the only slight drawback to my stay was across the street from my room was a huge building construction site which was at times a quite noisy other then that i would happily recommend this hotel to others i dont think they will be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent location, room was small. Rubbish (cups and food bags) were left under the bed from the previous occupant. Great service from the staff who worked there, they were very helpful and made our stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MitchPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location is great being right on Swanston & Little Burke. Staff were very friendly and helpful. While breakfast cereals were great I thought the cooked breakfast in regard to bacon left a little to be desired with several rashes stuck together, which meant they were cooked that way.
I really appreciated the staff finding me a soft pillow as I have a neck problem, which is exacerbated by hard inflexible pillows, so thanks to that gesture I had great sleeps and no sore neck issues. Laundry was also excellent with items returned as advised the next day. I would stay there again.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 61AmMick61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked a standard room on a special deal and although the room was quite small it was enough for the two of us and it was a pretty good deal. Given the hotel's location there is plenty of incentive to not hang around in the hotel room anyway. During this 5 night visit we found the room servicing staff did an excellent job with the room looking consistently good when we returned in the afternoon. The reception and concierge staff were also very helpful. All in all a good experience to go with the location smack bang in downtown Melbourne with all transport - trams, trains, river ferries - in easy reach. With Melbourne being a very walkable city this central location was fantastic.
I would also like to mention the quality of the Cocoon Bar, just upstairs from the lobby. The bar staff were great and the atmosphere quite cosy. A nice place to relax after a long day following my wife through the shops!

Room Tip: Not too much road noise given this location so anywhere well away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peka_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

All staff members I encountered during my stay (including front reception, checkin, concierge, cleaning staff) were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The reception area is large and comfortable, and the processing time was efficient and well organised. As previous guests have stated, the rooms here are a little 'tired', as are the hallways and carpet, but this did not detract from my stay. My room overlooked a building site but there was no noise from my 5th floor viewpoint. The bathroom tiles have had a 'blue' pen grouting touchup, which I found quite charming. Staff were quick to offer a large bed by joining the two singles, and this task was completed very quickly and without any inconvience to me. The location was central and safe, and close to a convenience store and plenty of other shops. I walked here from Southern Cross station, after catching the skybus from the airport, and the walk took me 15 mins. The skybus can drop you at the front door if you care to wait for the next free hotel drop off bus, but I found the walk quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small sink, which they call a kitchenette (very dated, but useful).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had booked a privilige room, but wasnt told upon checkin that someone was in it and had requested a late check out, instead I was put in an inferior room with no explaination. I rang reception when I realised it wasnt the room I had paid for, was then informed of the other room being occupied until 4pm. I wasnt given much of an apology, just told to go do some shopping and come back at 4pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mareead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#104 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing