We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Well placed for Retail Therapy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Kapiti, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well placed for Retail Therapy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked a standard room on a special deal and although the room was quite small it was enough for the two of us and it was a pretty good deal. Given the hotel's location there is plenty of incentive to not hang around in the hotel room anyway. During this 5 night visit we found the room servicing staff did an excellent job with the room looking consistently good when we returned in the afternoon. The reception and concierge staff were also very helpful. All in all a good experience to go with the location smack bang in downtown Melbourne with all transport - trams, trains, river ferries - in easy reach. With Melbourne being a very walkable city this central location was fantastic.
I would also like to mention the quality of the Cocoon Bar, just upstairs from the lobby. The bar staff were great and the atmosphere quite cosy. A nice place to relax after a long day following my wife through the shops!

Room Tip: Not too much road noise given this location so anywhere well away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peka_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    1,501
    1,160
    372
    196
See reviews for
628
1,369
520
604
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

All staff members I encountered during my stay (including front reception, checkin, concierge, cleaning staff) were extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The reception area is large and comfortable, and the processing time was efficient and well organised. As previous guests have stated, the rooms here are a little 'tired', as are the hallways and carpet, but this did not detract from my stay. My room overlooked a building site but there was no noise from my 5th floor viewpoint. The bathroom tiles have had a 'blue' pen grouting touchup, which I found quite charming. Staff were quick to offer a large bed by joining the two singles, and this task was completed very quickly and without any inconvience to me. The location was central and safe, and close to a convenience store and plenty of other shops. I walked here from Southern Cross station, after catching the skybus from the airport, and the walk took me 15 mins. The skybus can drop you at the front door if you care to wait for the next free hotel drop off bus, but I found the walk quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a small sink, which they call a kitchenette (very dated, but useful).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had booked a privilige room, but wasnt told upon checkin that someone was in it and had requested a late check out, instead I was put in an inferior room with no explaination. I rang reception when I realised it wasnt the room I had paid for, was then informed of the other room being occupied until 4pm. I wasnt given much of an apology, just told to go do some shopping and come back at 4pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mareead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I first stayed here a number of years ago and have been back three times since then. It's central location in Melbourne makes it the perfect place to access everything that the city and inner suburbs have to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RestlessTraveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Fantastic place to stay,have stayed at this hotel many times and have never been dissapointed, service is fantastic and a great location in the heart of Melbourne.
Staying in one of the privelige rooms is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank benjiPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Mercure Welcome has a great location in the centre of Melbourne and shares the facilities of the Grand Mercure in Swanston Street. However, the bedroom that we had, although clean was a little 'tired' and the furniture needed updating. Although the bedroom currently looks out over a building site, the disription due to noise was minimal, our early morning call being provided by the visit of the rubbish trucks emptying the bins in Little Bourke Street. A weekend break deal was good value including breakfast, $50 voucher for the restaurant and late deoarture to 2:00 p.m.
On the whole a good value hotel for the centre of Melbourne if you are not looking for a modern decor room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank richardthebrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Service at receiption and room service was average to poor. Food in restaurant pretty good. Hotel Building was modern, but needs renovating.

Hotel was very central and that was a real bonus. Car park was a bit of a walk.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. While the central location is very good, there would be better value Hotels in central Melbourne I suspect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dave486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#104 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing