We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but not inferior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #109 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our recent stay was well located and reasonably priced. However, I want to comment most on the staff who without exception were polite and helpful. Our room was comfortable, in need of a TLC but more than adequate for our one night stay.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank Southborolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,238)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Welcome Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,179 - 2,185 of 4,238 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Have stayed previously and was enjoyable but rooms very small. Decided to stay as location close to my Melbourne business. Very disappointing. Room again very small and has connecting doors. Walls paper thin and both nights of my stay, had neighbours from hell. Talked loudly until midnight and bed head bumped often. Noise quietened and then started again at 5 am. Still going when I left for work. That night, no change. Thought they might have gone but was wrong. Same result except noise started at 4 am. Did not complain, what could Hotel do. My word against theirs and only staying 2 nights. Cleanliness and service was first class but location is in a very busy part of Melbourne, very narrow street for vehicle access and parking is a huge problem if you do not use Valet parking. I did and vehicle was well looked after. Service and availability when leaving was first rate. In terms of value for money, I guess I got what I paid for. Will think twice before staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located. The room was too small, however for the price range in the City, it was well priced. The breakfast was good. Close to transport and all eating places. Reception staff were helpful and were able to check me in at 10 am.

Room Tip: Ask reception to check in rooms with views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrim23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvourniotes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our stay at the Mercure Welcome was good. The room was a little small but it was good value for money, clean and is in a great location. The hotel is in the heart of the CBD which makes it a great location to get around the rest of melbourne with ease.
The room was ok, had a nice renovated bathroom and was perfect for the 2 of us. We had no view but in all was good value for money as most of the time we were out and about.
I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth_AustraliaLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rooms not the best or the worst - for the price range in the city I have to say its competitive. I generally stay here for the special rates and location.
You are in the middle of it all only 10-15 minutes walk from everything. Shops, eats, transport
Flinders Lane where the eats are plenty and the coffee fantastic.
Crown Casino and complex
St Kilda and outer suburbs only a tram ride away
All 4 Train Stations are 5-10 mins walk
China Town on your doorstep
This stay was to watch the Green Machine fight and it proved again the choice in regards to price and location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 160 in Melbourne
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $87 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing