We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good: Can't go past the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #105 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Melb
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always Good: Can't go past the price!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

For a mid-city hotel, this place is a gem. It's great value for money, has a nice bar where you can enjoy a drink before dins and its right in the centre of everything. The staff are very friendly and professional also. We've stayed here about 3 times before and we'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franklin3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    1,643
    1,256
    404
    218
See reviews for
708
1,498
558
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Creswick Vic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on a Sunday night when we were in Melbourne for the Keith Urban concert. I had booked a room on the net and was under the impression I had booked a room with two single beds. Upon arrival, we found Marcus at reception to be very welcoming and friendly. When we got to our room, we found it had one queen bed (probably my fault) We notified reception and spoke to Nick, who was most obliging and arranged a twin room, which was also a lot bigger.He came to meet us and directed us to our new room and was very friendly. The room was very comfortable and quiet and in a fantastic city location!!! We were very impressed with the friendly and attentive staff and would happily return when next visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January. The hotel is in a central location and it is only a very short walk to Federation Square, The river, China Town, Shopping district, tram stops to anywhere in the city and surrounds and the interesting Lanes area.
The hotel itself appears to be two hotels sharing a reception and communal rooms. On our arrival - as we had been travelling overnight the staff were able to give us a room before the normal check in time so we were very grateful. However the room was very small and the bathroom quite noisy as the extraction seemed to be on permanently. Also the fridge was noisy but we switched it off during the night.
We put up with this until our third night when at 3am we were wakened by a high pitch continuous sound which we thought was air in the pipes. We turned on taps, flushed the loo but nothing stopped it. Eventually at about 3.15am we called reception. To the hotels credit they sent someone up immediately who seemed to know what the noise was and went next door (roused the guests!) and went into their bathroom to do what we had done in ours. The noise did not stop. He said he would get us keys to another room which he did. This room on the 7th floor was spacious and the bathroom very modern with a walk-in shower. When I asked the duty manager the next morning why this room was so much better I was told it was a more expensive (king size room ). The management apologised for the disruption with a card and chocolates and allowed us to stay in the new room for the remaining two nights. If I had to recommend anything to another guest I would say pay the extra in this case it is really worth it.
The breakfast was excellent however the breakfast room gets very busy and often we had to share a table with other people.
The bar is most souless depressing bar we have witnessed. On our first night we got two drinks (they did not serve spirits only beer, cocktails and wine!!) and then the waitress asked if we wanted another drink as the bar was closing - at 10pm! This may be the norm in Australian hotels as this happened to us in Cairns a few years ago but I thought that a city centre bar may stay open a bit longer.
Generally speaking this hotel needs a bit of a upgrade but the location is convenient.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgrade to a king size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twojays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Central location close to facilities and tram stops. Art precinct only 4 stops on tram.
Easy access to Federation square and city circle trams.
Room small but very clean and bathroom spotless. Great breakfast with very attentive staff. Nice 2 night stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 158 in Melbourne
593 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#89 of 158 in Melbourne
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing