We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Melbourne CBD Accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Ranked #104 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Melbourne CBD Accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

To Quote from their website:
"Affordable Budget Accommodation, and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne"
We stayed at this Hotel for the very reasons stated above and found it to be great. The breakfast in the Louden Restaurant is very good and we ate in the Soul Cafe at night, which was also very good.
The rooms are small but compact and all you need for a nights sleep, whilst seeing what the city has to offer through the day.
I found it very easy walking to the Aquarium, South Wharf DFO and the Eureka Skydeck.
The staff were very efficient, friendly and the Concierge was most helpful.
I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YMSNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    1,627
    1,251
    398
    215
See reviews for
701
1,485
554
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
coolum beach
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We checked into the Mecure Hotel in Little Bourke Street Melbourne without being told that you cannot possible stay in the room until after 5pm from the jack hammering. On advising the reception this we were advised that we should go out for the afternoon so instead of having a sleep in the room we slept on the bank of the river outside the casino. VERY DISAPPOINTING

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. 3 for buisness 1 for pleasure (medical appointment). Checkin was ok. I can't say they were excited to receive us. Elevators are far from the reception & you have to use your room key card to use the elevators. Very inconvenient when you have your hands full. And the cards sometimes don't work...you have to insert them in & take them out a few times sometimes to get it to work. And first time you get surprised...the doors you enter in are not the doors you exit from...you exit from rear elevator doors. But you get used to it. First two nights we had room 1250...right behind the elevators...not good...you can hear the elevator motors all night long...and the elevator doors slamming close. Not nice. This coupled with small corridors & the endless slamming door rooms of co-adjoining room visitors visiting each other drove me mad. No sleep. We asked to move after two nights. I was asked WHY :(. After explanation I was told..yes I could & a room was available now & here's the key..go for it. Drop the old room keys back when you are finished. Not even a "Would you like some assistance sir to move your stuff?". We had two bookings for the 4 nights..one booking my work paid for & 1 I paid for. Their computer system couldn't handle it & we were told our room key would expire at 12 on the last day of the first booking & I would have to present to reception to get it redone. How inconvenient :(
The new room was ok. Except you could hear the flushing of the toilet in the room above each time it flushed....but it was quieter than the room behind the elevators.
Food...Glorious...Food. We discovered Loudens Kitchen & Grill on the 1st Floor. Well priced...Excellent food & terrific service.
I would stay at the hotel again...just for the food. We had breakfast & dinner at the hotel each day of our stay. Just loved the excellent service, wonderful tasting & well presented food.
Given the reasonable price of the hotel...I would rate it average overall. Big room for improvement though.

Room Tip: try & get a room at the end of the corridor and not anywhere near the lifts. Corridors are small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely stay.It would have been nice to have a room closer to our relatives.
We left an ipod in our room and the reception was very good in finding it.
By the way we still have not seen it in the mail. I assume it has been sent by now. It would be good to be advised.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights after business which was enough. The hotel is located right in the center of Melbourne, it's biggest asset, otherwise it is pretty average. The rooms are smallish and the decor is pretty tired but clean. Wireless internet in the rooms which you have to pay extra for is pretty hit and miss, dropping out in certain areas of the room. Thin walls means noise from the people in the corridor and other rooms was noticeable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Property: Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing